Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Severn, MD
Students enrolled: 457
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Van Bokkelen Elementary School 4

Posted June 07, 2013
- a parent
A Great First Experience... My daughter attended here for preschool, full-time. I was hesitant at first because this is not her zoned school. Her teacher was always available and nice. She recently came from another county/school district, so she brought that with her to her current classroom. She challenged the children and understood that some times students have off days. I feel that she really cared about my child. She even encouraged us as parents to have our daughter tested for first grade. I really appreciate this experience and will hold every teacher now to the standard she has set.

Van Bokkelen Elementary School 2

Posted November 13, 2010
- a parent
military trash and the old leftovers of severn send their kids here. go to a private school if you love your children.


Van Bokkelen Elementary School 5

Posted April 26, 2010
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Van Bokkelen Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 22, 2009
- a parent
As the young kids say..OMG! I love Van Bokkelen! I have two kids that are now in middle and high school, who have attended.. And two who currently attend and one soon to be. The staff is very well trained and caring...Open door policy is very well in affect and their like family...too many activities to list for kids and adults who like to volunteer...fust call and see for yourself....

Van Bokkelen Elementary School 1

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Van Bokkelen Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 08, 2009
- a community member
The staff of Van Bokkelen School go to great lengths to ensure that all their students have a good, basic foundation in the primary subjects as well as the social skills necessary to survive. Additionally, they go overboard to help these kid's overcome their social, economic and family environment. For the most part, these students form a close bond with their teachers, and try very hard to make the teachers proud. The principle, Mr Massey, refers to his students as scholars, and they both love and respect him for it.

Van Bokkelen Elementary School 4

Posted July 23, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Van Bokkelen Elementary School 4

Posted December 17, 2007
- a parent
Van Bokklen is an excellent school thus far. My daughter is in Kindergarten and her teacher is very well qualified and equipped with the skills necessary to prepare our children for the 1st grade and outside of school socially and academically.


Van Bokkelen Elementary School 1

Posted June 01, 2007
- a parent
Parent involvment is low; there is nothing in place for the gifted and talented; if a child is bright at one subject there is nothing in place to foster that talent or interest; low tolerance for children with disabilities largely due to viewing a child from the rules and guidelines of a handbook rather than the individual; teachers are rigid in their learning styles. If you're lucky you'll get the teacher who will take the time and show the patience; if your child is simply average this school is perfect for you.

Van Bokkelen Elementary School 3

Posted July 08, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Van Bokkelen Elementary School
1140 Reece Rd, Severn, MD  21144
(410) 222-6535
Last modified Van Bokkelen Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Van Bokkelen Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top