Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Severn, MD
Students enrolled: 1,200

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Archbishop Spalding High School 5

Posted March 22, 2014
- a parent
My daughter transferred from a very good public school to attend Spalding at 10th grade. She didn't wanted to transfer in the first place but is very happy that she did. The kids there are lot nicer, very well behaved, etc. she said. Although according to my knowledge the teachers' quality are not even. She couldn't understand her Spanish teacher's English.

Archbishop Spalding High School 5

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
To the parent who made the comment "it is a public school except you have to wear a uniform", you are dead wrong. Obviously you have not spent any volunteer time at the school. As a parent who had two children graduate, I cannot say enough good things about this school. They are strict and I am glad. They do not put up with the nonsense that public schools are forced to deal with. I saw several kids get kicked out. The sports program is the best south of Baltimore. ASHS academics are excellent and my kids got accepted to top colleges and many students go to Ivy, military academies, etc.. The administrators hold the kids to high standards and stand by the motto "one in Christ". It is the best value south of Baltimore. So to the parent who wants to transfer to Severn, is it worth the extra $50K?


Archbishop Spalding High School 1

Posted December 03, 2013
- a community member
I do not enjoy this school at all. I am a senior now and the teachers cannot control their students at all. They threaten things but never follow through. There are a wide variety of sports and clubs which is good. I am not very thrilled overall the school is just average.

Archbishop Spalding High School 5

Posted March 02, 2013
- a parent
My son is a freshman at Spalding. He is one that never enjoyed going to school even though he has always done well academically. Now, his demeanor and attitude towards school has changed. He absolutely loves Spalding! Our mornings for the first time are great. The school holds the students to the highest standards when it comes to academics. Students are held accountable. The administration and staff communicate well with the parents and students. They also encourage their students to be involved with sports or the other many extra activities that are offered. The Catholic faith and beliefs are not only taught, but are incorporated in the daily structure of the school. There is much truth to the school motto, that they are all, "One in Christ." Thank you, Archbishop Spalding High School,

Archbishop Spalding High School 3

Posted December 14, 2011
- a student
In terms of academics, I think Spalding is lacking. They have a range of levels in classes, but I was only really academically challenged starting senior year. Since then, involvement in AP classes have increased the difficulty and volume of my workload. Teachers in general are average. Most of the AP teachers are good, though. The english, math, and history departments are the comparatively the strongest, while the science department is very weak. Foreign language is largely Spanish, with single teachers for french and latin. Sports are stressed, but the Music department is amazingly dedicated, with many talented students. Unfortunately, the administration doesn't seem to recognize this as the facilities and budget provided to the music department are embarrassingly poor, while the sports teams recently got a new football field, track, gym, and workout room. Unfortunately, the archdiocese seems to control quite a bit of Spalding's policies, although it doesn't contribute much to the school monetarily. This results in daily religion classes and school-wide masses - all without any clear moral improvement to the student body. Religion is definitely the school's biggest downside.


Archbishop Spalding High School 5

Posted August 07, 2011
- a student
Freshman year was my first year at Spalding and my first year in Maryland. I found friends very quickly even though I am on the quiet side. The big plus for me was that a Spalding has a wide range of kids that differ personality wise. You will not have any trouble finding your group that shares the same interests as you. There are also a ton of clubs here and sports to choose from. Plus, Spalding kids are very friendly and accepting of people. The only downside is the strictness of the administration here, and sometimes it can be a little annoying. If you are coming from a public school, this may take some getting used to. The other thing you should know is that there is no air conditioning here, so if it is 90+ degrees outside, they will close the school or let you out early...which is nice at times. The other thing is that Spalding is a very Catholic school and teaches conservative values in Religion class, but there is a good amount of liberals here too. Spalding kids also tend to be more from upper class families. But I guess the real reason that I like Spalding so much, is that I found it easy to make friends here.

Archbishop Spalding High School 0
no rating

Posted March 02, 2010
- a community member
Spalding has a great academic, athletic and religious life environment. The faculty and staff go out of their way to help the students in any way possible. The majority of the students are good hearted and well rounded. Great school!

Archbishop Spalding High School 5

Posted February 23, 2010
- a student
While Spalding is definitely a private school, there is high rate of diversity, more so than other private schools. Spalding's academics are very much suited to the class you are taking (e.g. all the kids in the class are on the same level.) Spalding has a wealth of clubs and sports programs, so there is something for everyone to get involved in. Some complain about the tuition and the rules, but Spalding is very much a laid back school and there are really not a lot of rules to abide by. Some public school transfers complain about the rules and the structure, but they say that is 'just because there aren't drug busts or fights.' I would recommend Spalding to any student that wants to be challenged athletically, academically, and has a desire for interaction with other students and a large group of friends.


Archbishop Spalding High School 5

Posted January 29, 2009
- a parent
We sent all three of our children to Spalding and have never regretted it. All three blossomed into well rounded, productive individuals who went on to fine universities with scholarships. Many of the other comments mention the athletic program as being great. It is but one area where Spalding excels. Their music program is TOP NOTCH and the 'unsung hero' of the school. Spalding may not be perfect but it's a far cry from the public school environment of today. Discipline is firm but fair and reasonable. Your child will get out of this school what they put into it.

Archbishop Spalding High School 2

Posted December 01, 2008
- a community member
I am a student at spalding and am very upset with the school. Although the school has decent sports programs, they are very political. Spalding is a very strict school and worries too much about unneccessary things. Also, there is a big issue with the transition from a public school to spalding. It is very difficult and i have heard numerous complaints from those type of students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Archbishop Spalding High School
8080 New Cut Road, Severn, MD  21144
(410) 969-9105
Last modified Archbishop Spalding High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Archbishop Spalding High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top