Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Severna Park Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 18, 2014

The complaint about "lazy teachers" minimizing workload and maximizing salary is beyond belief. The math teachers are available during lunch, after school, and hold special classes until 4 o'clock on Thursdays to make sure all kids are mastering -not just passing- their learning goals. It hurts me to think someone would sling mud at them. The school has one of the highest functional-test math scores in the state. You don't get that from "lazy teachers." The band teacher is spread beyond thin with responsibilities in areas outside of music and is quite knowledgeable. Go onto YouTube and check out the orchestra and the festival and jazz bands (he conducts them ALL) and you'll be impressed.


Posted November 10, 2013

Too many lazy math teachers here to give it a good review - scantron sheets for geometry, really?. Most parents seem to get tutors for math so their children can learn, instead of relying on the teachers who don't understand math to just repeat what they see on their answer sheet. The language teachers have been great, as my child learned more in 2 years than I did in 4 years at high school. My child had some great and some OK English and science teachers. The band instructor is horrible and its frustrating to listen to him tell us how great he is. Some of the extra classes they have that teach cooking, sewing, finance, etc are well done. It's such a huge school that most teachers focus on trying to minimize workload and maximize salary while not concerning themselves with educating the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

I am product of SPMS; I graduated in 1987 and I think I turned out pretty well. My very bright son just went through SPMS and had a positive experience. He is not going on to SPHS because he was accepted to the STEM program at South River (Yay!!) The SPMS facility is newly renovated, the course work is generally rigorous and my son snagged credit for 3 HS classes there (Algebra I, Geometry and Chinese I.) He also learned to play the guitar! The biggest criticism of the school has to do with the area...your kid needs to be bright, athletic, nice looking and well dressed or they may be picked on. That is a tough situation for a kid that doesn't fall into that narrow category. That is a tough one and I was tempted to give the school 4 out of 5 stars for it, but I feel that it is the fault of the community...it was like that when I was there. So do your kid a favor and get them some nice shoes and a cool haircut and a heads up about the fact that "cool" is being kind to everyone, even the people it is easier to tease...and your little darling will be just fine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2012

I'm not entirely sure how to rate SPMS? We moved here from the West Coast and decided on SPMS mainly due to all the great reviews we read on greatschools. However, our experience has not been positive thus far. The entire school is solely focused on academic achievement - high pressure and stress is an understatement. In our opinion, the teachers and faculty care nothing for the emotional well-being of their students, strong academic scores are their only concern. The faculty is unresponsive to phone calls or emails about our children. When we did finally contact the faculty regrading our children's adjustment and emotional well being, they spent 30 minutes telling our children they need to study harder. Notes from our children - As others have said, this school is highly cliquish. Most kids do not accept outsiders and actually ridicule them. Drugs use and sexual activity is considerably higher than what we experienced on the West Coast. At this point, we feel this school is very strong academically but very weak on morals, values and ethics from the faculty to the student body. Knowing what we know now, we would have not moved to SP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2011

this school is in need of administrative change. the same prinicpal and at least one of the vice-principals have been there since the mid-90's. the principal does not seem to be very involved with the students, looks like she is afraid to get her hair and clothes messed up! The staff i have interacted with (with exception of band teacher, who stated to a roomful of parents:"I am a musician first and a teacher second)! are really great teachers, who are caring towrad the children. They are not really free to be creative with their teaching because of the tests required and expected high grades. There are way too many children in the school. I


Posted October 29, 2010

this school okay.. i have seen bullying but not experienced it myself. it is diverse... personality wise, bullying is always the same, a kid calls u fat or ugly and its only categorized under bullying if u take it to heart... i myself have been called a lot of names since i started in 6th grade but i brush it off and call them a name... key thing to remember in this school: the golden rule, treat others as u would want to be treated and if want to go to this school and be sensitive, make weekly plans to see a guidance counselor but Mr. Cummiskey the chorus teacher rocks!!!


Posted March 5, 2010

I am a student at spms me and my friends are harry potter freaks. Yes are school is probably the cliquest school on the east coast but that is okay because everyone fits in some way or another. We do all own 'Vera Bradley ' stuff but lots of kids dont and thats okay. My friend wears a Harry potter cloak to school all the time and know one says anything to her. Yes there is a popular croud but they arent all that different. THey still talk to people who arent in that group. The school is brand knew and the academics are great so are the teachers(well most of them) ps if u r in 7th grade then the best team to b on is the north stars. also mr addis and mr cserveck are the best
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 19, 2009

i attend severna park middle and i, personally, have not found my experience very enjoyable. the education program is all right, though i am under the impression that high test scores matter more than what u actually learn. i don't like the current principal very much (no offense!). socially u will not fit in and be popular unless u are one of the four things: 1. possesing a vera bradley mini backpack, ugg boots, and hollister clothes. 2. are extremely beautiful 3. are rich and preppy 4. act 'ghetto' but are really upper class. these statements all come from my own personal experiences and are not intended to offend anyone. who knows ur experience may b totally different.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2009

I am a student at spms and have found it to be the most snobbish and cliquey school i have ever enrolled in. yes the education programs are incredible they have algebra two students in 8th grade but I have been plagued by bullies from the start and have not had a kind word said to me since my first week here and i've only been here two months my parents are going to enroll me into a new high school next year Aside from that the competition to get into sports is huge, my aggravation at this school system beg any parent that is thinking of putting their kid in spms to know that breaking into, eighth grade at least, is impossible I haven't smiled for five weeks
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2009

this is the best school i have ever been 2 i would not b happy at any other school we have great after school activites and if u sign up for 1 u have 2 go 2 enviormental science with mr phillp is is sooo funny adn he plays jimmy buffet songs on his gutairs . are school has an excellent reputation and we recently had the governor martian o'malley come 2 r school. if u want your kidz 2 get a good education then this is the place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2008

I'm a student at Severna Park Middle and I must say it is a wonderful school. Although, it's snobby, rich kid reputation limits diversity, we are all still open-minded and excepting students, staff, and community.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 11, 2008

I love my school. We're very fortunate to have such excellent teachers and students who really care about their education. I wouldn't be happy going to any other school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2008

I love this school and all my teachers. I love Mrs. Gelesky. They have so many clubs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2007

The teachers are exceptionally creative and able to excite my daughter to be an active participant in her learning. There are many extra curricular opportunities for the students in music, drama, performing arts, sports, and academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2006

Severna Park Middle School is fortunate to have excellent teachers, a very active PTA, a good facility and strong community support. All these lead to strong academics, an excellent mucic and arts program, and a stong associated sports programs (Green Hornets and SPARK). Test scores from the Severna Park schools including Severna Park Middle have historically been high compared to others in Anne Arundel County and Maryland.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2006

The middle school here is very competitive academically,meaning students are encouraged to take HS level courses in math and languages, and there is a big push for excellence and test scores. The teachers are quite good,and the administration is helpful. I have heard that some parents did not find the special education department helpful in fulfilling inclusion programs for their more seriously developmentally handicapped child. In special education inclusion cases for less handicapped children,the school has done an excellent job in have assisting kids moving from classes where they needed more assistance to classes where they no longer need that help. The PTO is active here, and it is generally as safe a middle school as I have ever seen. The children,academically able, come from middle class and upper middle class backgrounds. Sports are a big interest for girls and boys outside of school and that leads to popularity here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2005

This school has the best after-school activities I have seen. Kids can choose from computer club to National Junior Honor Society. Parents are dedicated to make their kids the best as possible and to have a great life. You can't beat this school because everybody works together,including staff, adminstation, volunteers, and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

491 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

490 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

504 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

504 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

438 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

438 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

439 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 42%
Black 4% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Two or more races 3% 4%
Hispanic 2% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 4%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

450 Jumpers Hole Rd
Severna Park, MD 21146
Phone: (410) 647-7900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Indian Creek School
Crownsville, MD


Severn School
Severna Park, MD



Elvaton Christian Academy
Millersville, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT