Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Severna Park High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 5, 2014

The person who wrote something about Bethesda schools is obviously an angry student or parent from Bethesda's Walt Whitman High School. I used to go to Walt Whitman High School, and I wrote a review telling the truth about how horrible it is, and recommended this school (which is where i go to school now, my parents go to Severna Park). Severna Park is NOT a snobby school. Most of the rich kids in Severna Park go to private schools, so enough with calling us snobby. We are just a public school. Severna Park is a great school, and has a very friendly staff and student body. I felt so welcomed here. Coming from a real snobby high school, I think I can assure you Severna Park is just fine and not snobby at all. Its the perfect school, and I'm GLAD I go here instead of Walt Whitman. And at Severna Park, we don't just pass our students to make the numbers look good like Whitman does, we actually work hard to get those numbers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 16, 2014

Whether you are an adult or a student, if you are one who enjoys climbing the social ladder by meekly following King and Queen Bees, you will probably like Severna Park. If you march to the beat of a your own drum and think independently, you will probably be unhappy here. And be forewarned, the players can be viciously competitive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2014

Construction on the new school will start this summer, with anticipated completion in 2017. the 53 year old building has seen better days, and yet the students excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

If you want a great public school move to Bethesda. This schools test scores based on the demographics are disappointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2014

Severna Park High has been a wonderful school for all 3 of my children. Our principle shows a lot of respect to the children, and in turn I see the respect that they show him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2014

The building is physically falling down, but the parents and community are currently fighting for a new building. The teachers vary from highly superior to way below average. The students can find anything they want at SPHS. If they are academically driven the school is AP course driven, if they are looking for sex, drugs and rock n roll that unfortunately is available in abundance also. Students who excel in sports can try out for football, lax, track, swimming, field hockey and more . The drama department offers multiple opportunities, with one act plays, improv comedy and singing and dancing in the Rock n Roll revival show. Students who excel in band are encouraged to join, if you simply enjoy band; don't bother as you will be pushed to always be the best. Second is NOT acceptable. This is a highly competitive school and if your child is not in the top 25% or the bottom 10%, expect a bumpy ride. There is a work hard/play hard mentality. Opportunities are available for parents to get involved, both in the school and outside of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2012

The academics are amazing, however if you take the time to meet alumni you realize there is something a little off about a homogeneous white-bread culture fixated on status symbols... If you can't "keep up with the Jonses," don't waste your money on a house in Severna Park. There are plenty of academically outstanding schools in the area that don't almost require parents to make six figures and spend half of it on their kids.


Posted June 28, 2011

Great teachers help to really motivate the kids! I feel that a very high level of education can be obtained at this school - as not only do the teachers care the students do as well.


Posted June 20, 2011

Based on one of the comments from a student, who mistakenly identifies herself/himself as a Teacher, I do not get a warm and fuzzy about this school. The review had many spelling and grammar errors. Is this student an example of a 10-rated school's education?


Posted March 1, 2011

They really prepare you well for future endeavors. having recently graduating and now attending college I realize all the opportunities that the school has to offer. send your kid here and encourage them to branch out around school.


Posted November 24, 2010

I would NEVER send my child to this school. I graduated from this school in recent years. Severna Park Senior High School students wear rug burns on their knees as if they are trophies and drink their way through high school. The appearance is deceiving. There's sex, drugs and alcohol at any school, but unfortunately it is to an extremely high degree at Severna Park Senior High School. There is also a large amount of bullying within all grade levels. I would not recommend this school to anyone and I will certainly not send my future children to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2010

great school. the is the land of overachievers. so prepare to study and don't expect to breeze through on natural intellect. you need to work :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2010

Academically and athletically, this IS a great school. As others have noted, however, the infrastructure is crumbling, and that is the fault of the county that SPHS depends on for support. As an outside observer, I'm also aware that bullying is a problem that, while episodic, has been given lip service, but has, to all appearances, not been confronted aggressively by the administration. That is a big detraction from the school's many excellent qualities.


Posted August 25, 2009

Both of our children entered SPHS on a high note and ended far exceeding our expectations. Get your ducks in a row before entering! -Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2008

This is an excellent school academically and has a strong tradition of competitive sports programs and VERY active families. Higher performing students will have many opportunities to pursue advanced programs that are not available at even some of the best local private schools. The only reason this school is not a 5 in my opinion is the facilities. AA County's procrastination with both maintenance and replacement of it's aging school facilities threatens the future success of this school, but it goes to show it is the motivation and involvement of the students, parents, staff and community that make a school successful, even if it has inadequate facilities. So if you look beyond the crumbling classrooms and some overflowing toilets you will find an excellent school, one of the best in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

I am a proud alumni of SPHS. I participated in both the music and athletic programs. I had a sibling particpate in music and drama while another chose to participate in no after school programs. While I agree with the student who said everything is a competition at SPHS, it is that competition that leads Severna Park to develop student who are ready for challenging college programs. If you are looking for a great school, public or private, where your child is expected to perform at a higher level, Severna Park is the place to be!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2007

great kids, parents, teachers !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

SPHS has an outstanding academic tradition, leading Anne Arundel County in AP/SAT/HSA test scores year in and year out. If I were shopping for a school for my child, SPHS is high on the list and 1st in Anne Arundel county. The academic program is highly regarded, highly rewarding and competitive. Academic programs are supported by a very knowledgable faculty. The honors/AP program is exceptional. Extracurricular and sports programs are highly successful, especially the women's programs. SPHS is a college prep academic institution. AP classes are available in all academic areas of study. The level of parent involvement is moderately high. This is a fine school with a long standing academic history.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2006

Academics are top notch and Honors and AP programs are significant here.Student abilities run high. This school had 9 National Merit Semi-Finalists-the highest no. ever this year. Strong extracurricular programs exist. There is a strong choral,band and orchestra program. Sports are popular zand dramatic arts.The girl's field hockey is usually tops in the state. Teachers arehighly experienced and have a solid administration team.Class sizes could be smaller,but typical of today. This is mostly a college preparatory high school though other programs exist.it is a suburban school-relatively safe and there is strong parent participation through PTO and Booster organizations.Many people move here because of the school reputation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2005

I am currently a student of Severna Park. The students, teachers and administrators all get along. The only thing is that everything is always a competition. The sports teams are so competitive and political. If it was down to two people; one person having amazing skills, and one person having ok skills but parents knowing the coaches, the second kid would make the team. Academically, SPHS is a good school, but not in other areas. There are 2 different groups; preppy, and other. If your not in the preppy group, your an outcast. I think you should rethink sending your child to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra

The state average for Algebra was 84% in 2013.

443 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

462 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
English II

The state average for English II was 83% in 2013.

463 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland High School Assessments (HSA) to test students in English 2, Algebra, and Biology upon completion of each course. The HSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. Students are required to pass the tests in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 42%
Black 4% 35%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Hispanic 3% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 4%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Sailing
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Sailing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

60 Robinson Rd
Severna Park, MD 21146
Phone: (410) 544-0900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Severn School
Severna Park, MD



Indian Creek School
Crownsville, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT