Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Severna Park High School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted September 04, 2015
- a teacher
As for whether the school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness; on a surface level, it does, as that is the school system policy.

Severna Park High School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted September 04, 2015
- a teacher
This is dependent upon the student background. Some were nice. Some were not. A majority were nice.


Severna Park High School 4

Posted September 03, 2015
- a teacher
This is a good school for a student interested in academics. The test score results are remarkable.

Severna Park High School 5

Posted August 05, 2014
- a student
The person who wrote something about Bethesda schools is obviously an angry student or parent from Bethesda's Walt Whitman High School. I used to go to Walt Whitman High School, and I wrote a review telling the truth about how horrible it is, and recommended this school (which is where i go to school now, my parents go to Severna Park). Severna Park is NOT a snobby school. Most of the rich kids in Severna Park go to private schools, so enough with calling us snobby. We are just a public school. Severna Park is a great school, and has a very friendly staff and student body. I felt so welcomed here. Coming from a real snobby high school, I think I can assure you Severna Park is just fine and not snobby at all. Its the perfect school, and I'm GLAD I go here instead of Walt Whitman. And at Severna Park, we don't just pass our students to make the numbers look good like Whitman does, we actually work hard to get those numbers.

Severna Park High School 1

Posted June 16, 2014
- a parent
Whether you are an adult or a student, if you are one who enjoys climbing the social ladder by meekly following King and Queen Bees, you will probably like Severna Park. If you march to the beat of a your own drum and think independently, you will probably be unhappy here. And be forewarned, the players can be viciously competitive.


Severna Park High School 5

Posted June 02, 2014
- a parent
Construction on the new school will start this summer, with anticipated completion in 2017. the 53 year old building has seen better days, and yet the students excel.

Severna Park High School 1

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
If you want a great public school move to Bethesda. This schools test scores based on the demographics are disappointing.

Severna Park High School 5

Posted February 20, 2014
- a parent
Severna Park High has been a wonderful school for all 3 of my children. Our principle shows a lot of respect to the children, and in turn I see the respect that they show him.


Severna Park High School 4

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
The building is physically falling down, but the parents and community are currently fighting for a new building. The teachers vary from highly superior to way below average. The students can find anything they want at SPHS. If they are academically driven the school is AP course driven, if they are looking for sex, drugs and rock n roll that unfortunately is available in abundance also. Students who excel in sports can try out for football, lax, track, swimming, field hockey and more . The drama department offers multiple opportunities, with one act plays, improv comedy and singing and dancing in the Rock n Roll revival show. Students who excel in band are encouraged to join, if you simply enjoy band; don't bother as you will be pushed to always be the best. Second is NOT acceptable. This is a highly competitive school and if your child is not in the top 25% or the bottom 10%, expect a bumpy ride. There is a work hard/play hard mentality. Opportunities are available for parents to get involved, both in the school and outside of the school.

Severna Park High School 3

Posted May 26, 2012
- a community member
The academics are amazing, however if you take the time to meet alumni you realize there is something a little off about a homogeneous white-bread culture fixated on status symbols... If you can't "keep up with the Jonses," don't waste your money on a house in Severna Park. There are plenty of academically outstanding schools in the area that don't almost require parents to make six figures and spend half of it on their kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Severna Park High School
60 Robinson Rd, Severna Park, MD  21146
(410) 544-0900
Last modified Severna Park High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Severna Park High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top