Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Severna Park High School 5

Posted August 05, 2014
- a student
The person who wrote something about Bethesda schools is obviously an angry student or parent from Bethesda's Walt Whitman High School. I used to go to Walt Whitman High School, and I wrote a review telling the truth about how horrible it is, and recommended this school (which is where i go to school now, my parents go to Severna Park). Severna Park is NOT a snobby school. Most of the rich kids in Severna Park go to private schools, so enough with calling us snobby. We are just a public school. Severna Park is a great school, and has a very friendly staff and student body. I felt so welcomed here. Coming from a real snobby high school, I think I can assure you Severna Park is just fine and not snobby at all. Its the perfect school, and I'm GLAD I go here instead of Walt Whitman. And at Severna Park, we don't just pass our students to make the numbers look good like Whitman does, we actually work hard to get those numbers.

Severna Park High School 1

Posted June 16, 2014
- a parent
Whether you are an adult or a student, if you are one who enjoys climbing the social ladder by meekly following King and Queen Bees, you will probably like Severna Park. If you march to the beat of a your own drum and think independently, you will probably be unhappy here. And be forewarned, the players can be viciously competitive.


Severna Park High School 5

Posted June 02, 2014
- a parent
Construction on the new school will start this summer, with anticipated completion in 2017. the 53 year old building has seen better days, and yet the students excel.

Severna Park High School 1

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
If you want a great public school move to Bethesda. This schools test scores based on the demographics are disappointing.

Severna Park High School 5

Posted February 20, 2014
- a parent
Severna Park High has been a wonderful school for all 3 of my children. Our principle shows a lot of respect to the children, and in turn I see the respect that they show him.


Severna Park High School 4

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
The building is physically falling down, but the parents and community are currently fighting for a new building. The teachers vary from highly superior to way below average. The students can find anything they want at SPHS. If they are academically driven the school is AP course driven, if they are looking for sex, drugs and rock n roll that unfortunately is available in abundance also. Students who excel in sports can try out for football, lax, track, swimming, field hockey and more . The drama department offers multiple opportunities, with one act plays, improv comedy and singing and dancing in the Rock n Roll revival show. Students who excel in band are encouraged to join, if you simply enjoy band; don't bother as you will be pushed to always be the best. Second is NOT acceptable. This is a highly competitive school and if your child is not in the top 25% or the bottom 10%, expect a bumpy ride. There is a work hard/play hard mentality. Opportunities are available for parents to get involved, both in the school and outside of the school.

Severna Park High School 3

Posted May 26, 2012
- a community member
The academics are amazing, however if you take the time to meet alumni you realize there is something a little off about a homogeneous white-bread culture fixated on status symbols... If you can't "keep up with the Jonses," don't waste your money on a house in Severna Park. There are plenty of academically outstanding schools in the area that don't almost require parents to make six figures and spend half of it on their kids.

Severna Park High School 5

Posted June 28, 2011
- a community member
Great teachers help to really motivate the kids! I feel that a very high level of education can be obtained at this school - as not only do the teachers care the students do as well.


Severna Park High School 3

Posted June 20, 2011
- a community member
Based on one of the comments from a student, who mistakenly identifies herself/himself as a Teacher, I do not get a warm and fuzzy about this school. The review had many spelling and grammar errors. Is this student an example of a 10-rated school's education?

Severna Park High School 5

Posted March 01, 2011
- a community member
They really prepare you well for future endeavors. having recently graduating and now attending college I realize all the opportunities that the school has to offer. send your kid here and encourage them to branch out around school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Severna Park High School
60 Robinson Rd, Severna Park, MD  21146
(410) 544-0900
Last modified Severna Park High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Severna Park High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top