Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Severna Park, MD
Students enrolled: 456
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Benfield Elementary School 4

Posted January 21, 2013
- a community member
Benfield finally has a Principal that can lead this school. Some of the teachers still think they are "God's gift" to the education system as stated in a previous review, but the new Principal seems to have a plan to address the mess that she's inherited. There are actually rules and goals. MSA preparation didn't start the first week of school and has been as heavily emphasized as in the past. The facility is old, but it is scheduled to be replaced. Though your Kindergarten may be the only current student to benefit from the replacement at the rate things are going. The neighborhood remains nice and the community continues to support the school. Parent involvement remains strong.

Benfield Elementary School 5

Posted September 20, 2012
- a parent
We just moved the neighborhood. We came from a great school. The kids like this school even better. The school is dated, but they are going to starting a multi-year replacement soon. The teachers we are dealing with are top notch. There is a new principal this year. She has been wonderful to us. She appears to be a very strong leader.


Benfield Elementary School 2

Posted August 18, 2012
- a parent
Many of the teachers think they are God's gift to the education system. The Principal is thankfully leaving--she ALWAYS took the side of the teachers, regardless of evidence. There are more parents involved in the school than there are kids, which is great. Parental involvement and expectations (and smart kids) = good results. Some teachers think it's because of their teaching skills--hardly! Some teachers coast, and some don't want to help kids that need extra attention. If a kid can't keep up, they will need outside help, because they sure won't get it at Benfield.

Benfield Elementary School 4

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
The teachers and surrounding community are excellent. The school is badly in need of renovation, but that supposedly is coming down the pipeline in the next few years. I sent both my sons through Benfield, and my youngest will be a 5th grader there. I have no complains, other than what I previously stated about the outdated facility. Anyway, they are getting a new principal for 2012-2013 school year as the long time principal retired. It could be a good thing as I think the outgoing principal was fine I suppose, but seemed to be sleepwalking through her time at Benfield. My oldest has gone on to excel at SPMS and now SRHS STEM program. I am confident my current Benfield student is being well prepared as well.

Benfield Elementary School 2

Posted May 24, 2012
- a parent
This school is in decline. The Principal is the major contributor to the decline of the school. She is unable to address issues that are outside of the box. There is too much yelling inside the schools. Bullying is not handled properly. There are some excellant teachers that appear stuck inside a bad situation. Teaching to the MSAs is part of the curriculum. Large class sizes and a poor facility also contribute to an increasingly poor school environment. Parent involvement is still good but declining as more mothers are working.


Benfield Elementary School 1

Posted April 30, 2012
- a parent
My previous review was removed? This is a mediocre school, they focus 90%+ on MSA tests. The school is old and decrepit, class sizes are humongous approaching 30 students per class. Watch Stossel on you tube, this school is a prime example of the BLOB. I removed one of my children and enrolled in private school, SP is way over rated for public schools. AA county has a low tax base, therefore no $$$s for education. They have one bus system for ALL three school levels!

Benfield Elementary School 1

Posted September 20, 2010
- a parent
Moved to area Summer 2010, and my child is now attending first grade at Benfield Elem. Staff make it clear they teach students to take tests. School's state test results are sometimes 100% in all categories in multiple grades? My child is having a difficult time learning math and responses for help have been answered with red ink on course work. Course work sent home has been observed with dates as far back as 2001 and everywhere in between. Language on course work is inconsistent adding confusion of child to grasp concepts. The school was built around 1961. My first grader is sharing a class with 25 students. There are two other 1st grade teachers with class size of 24 students. This seems to be an average class size among all grades. We are now in search of a private tutor to augment our child s learning despite attendance at Benfield.

Benfield Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Benfield Elementary School 5

Posted July 28, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Benfield Elementary School 5

Posted December 28, 2007
- a parent
Moved here for this specific school - children are challenged and staff and principal are excellent. Only negative is parking plan and release of children is poor. Students who ride the bus are excussed first for safety reasons due to the poor traffic flow and poor availability for parking. Non-bused students should be allowed to depart the school at an alternated exit and another driveway should be build with additional parking near the rear of the school which would allow for improved traffic flow for parents who have to drop off and pick up students. This is an easy fix that should be immediately implememented.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Benfield Elementary School
365 Lynwood Dr, Severna Park, MD  21146
(410) 222-6555
Last modified Benfield Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Benfield Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top