Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Francis Scott Key Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 30, 2013

This is a great school it ,provides great economy skills and gives the students there own little bank which shows them how to save (money) key cash so when they grow up they know how it works.


Posted May 20, 2013

I love my school. It is fun and amazing. We do many activities for kids who are good. We have renaissance day and many more things. Most the teachers and staff are really nice. We have a few teachers who are really strict, but nobody really minds them. Our teacher teaches us based on or knowledge and if we are ahead of the class. They pay attention to the individual student. Our school could improve with the students, some of the students may be off hand but that's only about 5% o the school. So it is a very good school but the students need to improve and we ned less teachers who like to scream.


Posted May 7, 2012

Before I even began to write my review, I noticed all the good reviews were written in 2010. I should have taken note of that before enrolling my child. The school looks great, on the inside, but my personal experience was all but that. I will not go into detail due to fear of more backlash, but this school seems like a jail with a warden for a principal. With my childs case it was more of a power trip as opposed to sincere help. As a parent I felt bullied, hopeless, cornered, and defeated...all the meanwhile my child could not stomach the counselors, principal, and a few other staff members. I know this post pay seem like key facts are missing, in which they are in order to protect my child and myself, but if your looking for a school that has compassion for all children look elsewhere. This school is about numbers and power. I'm glad we are no longer a part of this dreadful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

OMG!!!!!!!!!! THis school is the best!!Grrreeat staff,principal and everyone!Our principal just got his Ph.d so now he's Dr.MInus but he's leaving!He got transfered to John F. Kennedy HS to be there new principal! :-( Everyone is so sad, he was so niceeee! He is by far the best principal ever!!!!Well i'm going to miss him!! I <3 Dr.MInus!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

This School Is a Wonderful School.they Try Everyday To Make The students successful and they succeed.that Is Why I Love This School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2009

I go to Francis Scott Key Middle School for 2 years, right now, I am a 8th grader of this school. Key is an awesome school. Great teachers, staff, building services, adminstration, friends, almost everything in this school is awesome. The teachers that works in this building are not just teachers, theyre like best friends with many students. Key has a high expectation for it's students. The students love Key. They are proud of the school they go to. Of course, FSKey isnt perfect, they still need to have some improvements but for me, this school is a great school. I LOVE KEY! =)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2009

My child is currently an 8th grader at Key Middle School. What makes Key unique is that most adminsitrators and teachers at this school have high expectations, don't lower the standards, consequenses exist for behavior, students are nutured and are enpowered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

I work on 'education' issues most of my work day and yet most of the issues I deal with there seem to be present in this school as well. It takes Parents/Teachers & the Community to truly serve the children. It has been proven time and time again. None of those 3 helping is a handout -- we can only hope that it is the hand up that our children need. I have worked 1-2+ hours a night with my daughter, had her in tutoring, met with counselors -- however Nothing worked until her teacher last year. Last year was her first year on the honor role. She did so well the counselor called to ask if there was a 'change' at home. The only change was the Teacher held high expectations (as did we), plus the resources from MCPS. The 3 things combined proved that the team concept works.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

I do very much agree with the parent who recently submitted his/her review. I am also a proud parent of an honor role student, we work together everyday helping on his homework and it is paying and he is enjoying it. Parents are as responsible as the teachers in helping these kids and we should not leave everything to the teachers. We should work together, they do their part at school and we should do our part home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

This school is getting better daily...I feel that if you do not have the motivation to do the work then don't blame it on others, such as employees. People are usually rude due to having someone be rude to them. If you work hard, you are rewarded. If you don't ...well, what can I say, that is your choice. There are extra ways to get help and in the Montgomery County School system. As a matter of a fact there is a ton. Get up and TRY! My little boy gets an awful lot of help from MCS extra councling and help with schooling. EVEN though we spend at least 1 1/2hrs a night with him studing. So we know! I am also a proud parent of an honor role student that LOVES to work hard and prove to the world handouts are not for this student!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2009

In response to the statement posted on January 31, 2009, I really think that the best learning atmosphere is a safe one, and that is what I believe the teachers are trying to achieve. Like the saying goes, it takes a village to raise a child...it's not just about what the teacher does in the class room, although it is important, but also what kind of support they get at home. If the school is not giving the attention the child requires, then how can the home be a support for him/her?


Posted January 31, 2009

This school is Horrible!!! the professor are more concerned with trying to discipline children than teaching them. My brother who attends this school is falling back in his studies because his teachers do not give him the attention he requires.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2009

its a horribel learning enviroment and teachers are rude
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2006

I am a teacher in the county and I am a parent of two students at this school. I am so very disappointed in the overall experience my children have had. The instruction is inconsistent at best, the discipline structure is incoherent, the connection between expectations from the county and the way it is implemented here is awful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2005

New principal has totally changed the tone of the school. The teacher's are much more motivated and enthusiastic. The overall staff attitude has improved greatly. The school has a great variety programs that give children the opportunity to really get ahead by the time they reach High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2004

Students benefit from a highly diverse community--both peers and staff. School has some uncommon academic opportunities: 6th grade foreign language, accelerated math, G/T art, science expo and projects with UMd Science Dept. (My 8th grader is taking Honors French III and Algebra II at the school.) Look for continuing improvements under new leadership this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2004

this school is very bad for students grades 6-8 there are no good qualities for students who really want to learn.teachers in theis school are afraid of the students which is not good. sincerly,a parent.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

273 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

273 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

303 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

304 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

303 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 48% 35%
Hispanic 34% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 6%
White 7% 42%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (301) 434-1375

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

910 Schindler Drive
Silver Spring, MD 20903
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 422-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Bernadette School
Silver Spring, MD


Eastern Middle School
Silver Spring, MD



White Oak Middle School
Silver Spring, MD



St John The Baptist School
Silver Spring, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT