Advertisement
Advertisement

Barrie School

Private | PK-12 | 340 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Silver Spring

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $220,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,500.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

68 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 1, 2014

Our experience has been the exact opposite. Faculty and staff are mostly concerned about reputation and self preservation. Meanwhile the student culture has gone way down hill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2014

Sensational facility! I have never seen a more compassionate group of teachers and I can honestly say that I think I looked at almost every private preschool in Montgomery county. This school blew my socks off and continues to daily. The campus is every kids dream. They have nature trails, stables, a pond, and all of it is incorporated into their daily teachings. Barrie has been the perfect match for our family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2013

BARRIE SCHOOL is a great school! The teachers are highly skilled, nurturing, and very involved. AFter 8 years at Barrie we are consistently impressed wtih the high quality of the teachers. The education is balanced with academics and the arts allowing the children to tap into their creativity. We highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

Do not waste money by sending your kid to this school. This is one of the worst experience I have ever had. The kids enrolled at other Montessori schools are equally or more smarter. Teachers think they are smart and do not take care of the kids and their education. This school is interested in only making money from fundraising. Teachers never take any responsibilities but would want gifts and encouragements. I would never recommend this school for any class since it is a waste of money. I would prefer my kid to go to a place where the true world is projected. Millionaires might disagree with my comment but I would not recommend this school for a typical middle class family. I would recommend to put their hard earned money in good Montessori schools elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2013

Upper School Review: Barrie provides an utter lack of academic rigor and a paltry electives component - especially in the arts and athletics department. Disciplinary actions are inconsistent and lack follow-through. For a school that emphasizes the harmonious development of the "whole child," I find it bizarre that teachers will often curse at the students and gossip about them with other parents. 6 weeks before an international study trip, there is no curriculum or schedule in place. Over-priced tuition, declining enrollment, high staff turnover, poor curriculum = a bad deal. Invest elsewhere. If you have a well-behaved, self-directed teen who doesn't like sports, art, music, theatre, or challenging assignments, this would be the place for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

My only regret about Barrie is that I did not send my son there sooner. He came in 8th grade after a terrible experience in public middle school in one of the "best" school districts in the nation. At Barrie, he got the individual attention he needed. His ADHD was understood and taken into account -- not like public school where they stuck him in a room by himself and told him to "learn." At Barrie, the experiential learning and hands-on classwork was perfect for him. Barrie allows for exploration and learning. That said, the courses are rigorous and challenging. Many Barrie graduates say their course work at Barrie was more difficult than their freshman year courses in college. Barrie will work with your student. There is no bullying at Barrie because the school is so small it cannot be hidden. Administrators are often in the classroom and teachers also coach and handle extracurriculars. There are always people looking out for you at Barrie. The most amazing thing is that the STUDENTS look out for one another. Barrie is a caring place. Students both with-- and without --learning differences do very well here. Oh, and the diversity is AMAZING.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2013

My daughter started Barrie this year in the mddle school and we are very happy. Barrie is a perfect fit for her. She is thriving both academically and socially. We have found the teachers to be exceptional and very accessible. The teaching staff sets the kids up for success which is so important. My daugther describes Barrie as a place she can really be herself. She really like the kids and loves going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

Barrie School should be concerned with its poor academics and lack of discipline rather than bragging about their green buildings.There are much better schools out there that cost less.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2012

Commenting on two schools based on a visit? My kids have attended both Barrie and SSFS. You can t compare the two schools. SSFS is by far superior to Barrie on every issue that the previous reviewer raised. You can t compare a school that has ~15 students/grade (Barrie) to a school that has 45-55/grade (SSFS). . I ve had kids enrolled in multiple schools and there was more bullying at Barrie than any other school. The teachers just don t address the issue.


Posted February 29, 2012

Barrie School is an excellent school for all children of many different backgrounds and all ages. My son has been there since he was 2 years old, my experience has been nothing but wonderful. He is in first grade now and he enjoys the wonderful campus, the horses in school, the teacher and his friends and his education. We are determined to keep him there til college. The new headmaster is a masterful leader and a great communicator who makes the school even better than it has been. The teachers have been there for a long time and have incredible experience. I rate Barrie school one of the top. I got into the school by a child counselor friends advice where she said, If you want cream of the crop you send your son to Barrie. I agree, I agree.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2012

My son has been at the Barrie School for the past 4 years and loves it. He thrives in the small supportive environment. The Middle School program set him up for success in High School. We have been impressed with the dedication and professionalism of the teachers. The new Head of School is moving Barrie in the right direction. The academic program is challenging and engaging. The Extended School Week program is fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

I have two children at Barrie - one is starting high school and one is in Pre-K. Both levels offer tremendous hands-on experiences. The teachers really attend to the needs of each, individual child. They have loved and nurtured my children, and my high-schooler, who started as a Pre-K as truly thrived at Barrie.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2011

Both my daughters attended Barrie from elementary school through high school graduation, and they have thrived in college as a result of the education they received there. When faced with a choice between the public g/t program and Barrie, we chose Barrie because we wanted them to be challenged and engaged, not overwhelmed and overworked. We never regretted the choice. The teachers at Barrie are amazing, and their hands-on philosophy of teaching ensures that kids stay interested and invested in what they re learning. When Barrie 4th graders learn about how mountains are formed, they hike up a mountain. When middle schoolers study buoyancy, they race cardboard boats across the swimming pool. When 9th Graders study cells, they make edible cells, where each part is represented by a food product. Beautiful campus. Great student-teacher relationships.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2011

I have 2 sons who attend Barrie and the school has been an excellent place for both of them. They both started school as Montessori students at 3 years old. One son is a 4th grader and is a serious student in class. He is also athletic, kind, active and fun loving. At Barrie all of these traits are valued. He loves math and is able to excel at a perfect rate for him. My older son is an 8th grader. Barrie's Montessori program officially ends in the Middle School (6th grade). Barrie's Middle School was the perfect place for him to transition from the Montessori program. In middle school he has become more independent and responsible. Barrie has helped him discover new interests like mythology and drumming. He is a conscientious student that finds the perfect blend of enjoying life and getting his work done. Barrie has great teachers that love teaching and are excited about teaching kids from 2 years old to 12th grade. Barrie has a great Head of School always willing to listen to parents and work on ways to improve the whole Barrie experience. Barrie is an excellent academic institution that is diverse, safe, healthy, encouraging and enriching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2011

Barrie was the best choice for all three of my children. The school s philosophical approach to educating its children of all learning styles. Unlike some of the other comments I ve seen about the school, you don t have to be a ceratin type of child to flourish here and small class sizes prevent students from getting lost in the shuffle. If anything, the older students feel like they can t hide from their teachers. The students, themselves, have to learn to get along with one another because they have to be in such a close-knit community. Kids who need more time to attain a skill have the time to do so, and students who are ready to advance are supported to the highest levels of achievement. This is not your typical private school. If you want challenging education and a highly supportive community, Barrie is great! More than just teaching to the test (or prep for college), Barrie supports children in all aspects of their life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2011

My daughter has been at Barrie School for 3 years and I love the program! The Montessori program is such a wonderful enviornment for children to become self motivated, curious and caring. It not only encourages the child to learn but also become respectful and kind to their classmates as well as adults. These traits are often lacking in todays society. These traits continue up through Barrie's high school students. The campus is beautiful and Barrie has a wonderul equestrian program and riding team. Barrie even uses the horses and ponies for classroom lessons which really engages the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2011

This school is only good for children who are self-directed learners. The class sizes in the primary and elementary are huge which allows the children to not receive consistent instruction. The children are allowed a lot of choice in deciding what they will work on, particularly in the primary, which means that they may have a math lesson every now and then. Please do not send your child to this school if they have any learning disabilities or challenges because the administration/counselors are not helpful, encouraging, or receptive to different learning styles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2011

I went to Barrie for five years and even though I chose to go elsewhere for Highschool, I couldn't imagine going elswhere for middle and lower school. If you are not familiar with the Montessori program, you should learn more about it. It teaches life skills to children at a very young age without cramming loads of factual information into their heads as public schools do. If you visit, the kids are very knowledgeable and excited to show you how they learn. The middle school has challenging teachers, a nurturing environment, and opportunities to be involved with service, leadership and the arts. Don't pass up on this great opportunity. You won't regret it.


Posted June 14, 2011

My son's growth, confidence and imtellegence has amazed me for the past few years and moving my son from the public school system to Barrie is one of the best life choices I have made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2011

My experiences as a parent of an elementary student at Barrie have been very positive. More importantly, they have been positive for my son. He was unhappy at his former private school-- things just weren't clicking for him in the more traditional learning environment but in the Montessori setting he is thriving. The teachers are terrific with many years of experience (and my son loves his teachers!) and I have had very good interactions with administration members. The school has a relaxed setting (campus is gorgeous!), the new head of school is a strong leader with new ideas, the staff is enthusiastic, and the Barrie families have been warm and welcoming. My son said to me recently that he felt he had learned more in this past year at Barrie than he did in his previous years at another private school in the DC Metro area. I am very happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 45%
Black 25% 40%
Asian 6% N/A
Hispanic 4% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13500 Layhill Rd
Silver Spring, MD 20906
Phone: (301) 576-2800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Faith Arts Academy
Silver Spring, MD


Bel Pre Elementary School
Silver Spring, MD



Argyle Middle School
Silver Spring, MD


John F. Kennedy High School
Silver Spring, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT