Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
325 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Andrew Apostle School 5

Posted July 23, 2014
- a parent
St. Andrew is amazing! They really cater to households with working parents and have both before and after school programs. The Principal really cares about each student and is invested in making everyone successful. Over the last two years, St. Andrew has been working to upgrade its facility, technology and curriculum. They recently opened a early learning center and has programs for students 6 weeks of age through 8th grade. I really appreciate the community atmosphere and number of events outside of the school day.

St Andrew Apostle School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
We are impressed with St. Andrew the Apostle. The school gave every child a chance to attend, if it does not work out, then they will let the parents know and go from there. This may be challenging for some parents but it shows that the school is willing to work with all levels of kids. It is not like "you have to be at this level to go here" attitude. It is more like "you have to make it if you want to go here". Maybe that is why they got 2 Blue Ribbon from Department of Education. The school website is a bit vintage though, not like the other private schools in the area. Hopefully they will redesign it some time.


St Andrew Apostle School 5

Posted August 23, 2012
- a parent
St. Andrew's is a wonderful school! We've been here for 6 yrs and have seen many positive changes. The principal is amazing and staff are very dedicated. They offer lots of after-school activities (e.g., band, choir, sports, art, science, robotics, chess, sewing). They have great science and computer labs, the latter of which features a TV studio from which the morning announcements are made. There are SMART boards in every classroom, the science lab, and library. They have a weather station and recently installed pollinator and vegetable gardens. In general, I have found that the teachers are strong and responsive to parental concerns and questions. The school follows the curriculum set out by the Archdiocese of Washington. The parents are very involved in the school and our Catholic faith is the foundation for everything. We are working to build a strong core in our children to prepare them for life. They attend Mass at least weekly and regular Reconciliation. I believe that this school can meet the needs of most families; however, they are not resourced for children with significant special needs or behavioral problems. There is a waiting list for most classes.

St Andrew Apostle School 5

Posted September 06, 2011
- a parent
The classes sizes in this school are not rediculous!!! They seem like they have it together even with a new principal. Everyone seems very humble for the most part and that's great for the kids.

St Andrew Apostle School 2

Posted November 22, 2010
- a parent
I concur with parents that think "Teachers do not always seem to want to make ajustments for students with differences". The class sizes are ridiculous to the point that pubic schools student teacher ratio is wayyyyyyyyyy much better and the school does not have enough teacher assistants.


St Andrew Apostle School 5

Posted May 05, 2009
- a parent
St. Andrew is a top notch school--truly a community of educators. The teachers, principal, clergy, and after school care providers all engage students in a meaningful way. The school's Blue Ribbon awards and student successes in regional and national competitions/activities speaks to the quality of the education received at St. Andrew. The school provides students with a challenging, yet manageable work load, which will serve them well in the future. Highly recommended.

St Andrew Apostle School 4

Posted February 06, 2009
- a student
I'm a junior high student at St. Andrews. The teaching at St. Andrews is very seriously taken, which is good. But, in junior high years, you have a crazy homework amount most of the time. And, about 3-6 test on average a week. I perferably do not agree with the schedule either.

St Andrew Apostle School 3

Posted February 02, 2009
- a parent
I find that this school does a good job with students who have no learning differences. Teachers do not always seem to want to make ajustments for students with differences. Teachers will not go out of their way to meet with parents or return calls. Often my calls(which have been very few over the course of many years) have gone unreturned.


St Andrew Apostle School 2

Posted April 02, 2008
- a student
Im quite unhappy with my school im in junior high and they push me wayy to hard and make me miserable right now im studying for THREE tests tomorrow and next week i have standardiezed testing 2 tests in one subject and one in another it's very stressful for me and there is an unacceptable amount of homework i really dislike my school and my parents aren't to happy with it either

St Andrew Apostle School 5

Posted March 08, 2008
- a community member
This school was just awarded a second Blue Ribbon from the US Dept of Education, and its graduates have been accepted into their top choice high schools for several years. Obviously they are doing a great job.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Andrew Apostle School
11602 Kemp Mill Road, Silver Spring, MD  20902
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (301) 649-3555
Last modified St Andrew Apostle School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top