Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Silver Spring, MD
Students enrolled: 325
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Andrew Apostle School 5

Posted July 23, 2014
- a parent
St. Andrew is amazing! They really cater to households with working parents and have both before and after school programs. The Principal really cares about each student and is invested in making everyone successful. Over the last two years, St. Andrew has been working to upgrade its facility, technology and curriculum. They recently opened a early learning center and has programs for students 6 weeks of age through 8th grade. I really appreciate the community atmosphere and number of events outside of the school day.

St Andrew Apostle School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
We are impressed with St. Andrew the Apostle. The school gave every child a chance to attend, if it does not work out, then they will let the parents know and go from there. This may be challenging for some parents but it shows that the school is willing to work with all levels of kids. It is not like "you have to be at this level to go here" attitude. It is more like "you have to make it if you want to go here". Maybe that is why they got 2 Blue Ribbon from Department of Education. The school website is a bit vintage though, not like the other private schools in the area. Hopefully they will redesign it some time.


St Andrew Apostle School 5

Posted August 23, 2012
- a parent
St. Andrew's is a wonderful school! We've been here for 6 yrs and have seen many positive changes. The principal is amazing and staff are very dedicated. They offer lots of after-school activities (e.g., band, choir, sports, art, science, robotics, chess, sewing). They have great science and computer labs, the latter of which features a TV studio from which the morning announcements are made. There are SMART boards in every classroom, the science lab, and library. They have a weather station and recently installed pollinator and vegetable gardens. In general, I have found that the teachers are strong and responsive to parental concerns and questions. The school follows the curriculum set out by the Archdiocese of Washington. The parents are very involved in the school and our Catholic faith is the foundation for everything. We are working to build a strong core in our children to prepare them for life. They attend Mass at least weekly and regular Reconciliation. I believe that this school can meet the needs of most families; however, they are not resourced for children with significant special needs or behavioral problems. There is a waiting list for most classes.

St Andrew Apostle School 5

Posted September 06, 2011
- a parent
The classes sizes in this school are not rediculous!!! They seem like they have it together even with a new principal. Everyone seems very humble for the most part and that's great for the kids.

St Andrew Apostle School 2

Posted November 22, 2010
- a parent
I concur with parents that think "Teachers do not always seem to want to make ajustments for students with differences". The class sizes are ridiculous to the point that pubic schools student teacher ratio is wayyyyyyyyyy much better and the school does not have enough teacher assistants.


St Andrew Apostle School 5

Posted May 05, 2009
- a parent
St. Andrew is a top notch school--truly a community of educators. The teachers, principal, clergy, and after school care providers all engage students in a meaningful way. The school's Blue Ribbon awards and student successes in regional and national competitions/activities speaks to the quality of the education received at St. Andrew. The school provides students with a challenging, yet manageable work load, which will serve them well in the future. Highly recommended.

St Andrew Apostle School 5

Posted May 04, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

St Andrew Apostle School 4

Posted February 06, 2009
- a student
I'm a junior high student at St. Andrews. The teaching at St. Andrews is very seriously taken, which is good. But, in junior high years, you have a crazy homework amount most of the time. And, about 3-6 test on average a week. I perferably do not agree with the schedule either.


St Andrew Apostle School 3

Posted February 02, 2009
- a parent
I find that this school does a good job with students who have no learning differences. Teachers do not always seem to want to make ajustments for students with differences. Teachers will not go out of their way to meet with parents or return calls. Often my calls(which have been very few over the course of many years) have gone unreturned.

St Andrew Apostle School 5

Posted April 08, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Andrew Apostle School
11602 Kemp Mill Road, Silver Spring, MD  20902
(301) 649-3555
Last modified St Andrew Apostle School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Andrew Apostle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top