Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Bernadette School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Silver Spring

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $340,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,350.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 11, 2009

I am a public school teacher who is choosing to send my children to St. Bernadette's. I couldn't be happy with our decision. The school exceptionally meets the needs of its students, both academically, spiritually, artistically, and emotionally. I feel so good dropping off my children in the morning at school knowing that they are loved by their educators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2009

Our son is now in his second year and enjoying the school a lot. He seems happy and relaxed, and eager to begin each day. The academics are certainly on par with the local public schools. There is homework at night but at it is an appropriate level for a 2nd grader. The community is close-knit and supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

Saint B's is, at this point, a decent school. Nothing spectacular on the academic scale, but kids will not be left behind either. As posted earlier, if your child is bright or needs a little extra attention, this might not be the school for them if you are not willing to provide extra work or help for them. Additionally, the local public schools are not 'shaky', they are in reality quite decent, but I prefer to send my children to a Catholic school. Onto the million dollar question, do you get your money's worth (the school is not cheap) and at this point I have to say no, but a new Principal is on board and hopefully . . .(I'll give it a couple more years). One last comment, the parents are, without a doubt, cliquish, but in the long run, the school is for the children, not us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2007

St Bernadette is a great school. Your kid will grow up in a community where all the parents know each other. My fellow public school neighbors do not have this sense of community. They have never met any of the other parents. My local public school system is shaky. I did not have the heart to send my kids there. If you have a kid who needs a safe structured environment you can not go wrong at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2007

My family has been with Saint Bernadettes for decades. Unfortunatly times have caught up with the school. If you are not part of the ''in'' crowd your child is left out. If your child needs extra help the school just does not the resources it needs. I think parent send their kids here to be with other similiar kids, white upper middle class. Principal was a nightmare, she is leaving though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2006

This school is pathetic. It makes no effort in the needs of the students along with thier encouragement of education. It is mostly based on religion and I want my child to recieve a good education as well. Do no not put your child in this school! I am taking my child out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2006

This school lacks guidance. The principal and other administration lack support. They need a new leader ASAP! Curriculum is the same as 10 years ago! Too many cliques!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2006

This is an ok school for kids who are right down the middle. If you child needs extra help due to LD, or if you want a school that will help your advanced child be challenged, this is probably not your school. On the positive side, the community is close knit, although at times it can feel clique-ish. More new, young teachers are arriving. May give school new energy. Parental involvement is very high and keeps the school going. School and church are on the conservative end of the Catholic spectrum. On the downside...Principal has caused widespread disenchantement and school has higher vacancy rate than parents have ever seen. There has been heavy staff turnover recently. School has had bullying problem that they are trying to address through education. School has before and after care that is recently priced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2006

This school has a wonderful community, the Home and School Asssociation is very active. As a parochial school the administration could have better communication and respect for the Parents/Parishoners. If you are looking for a good education it has a good curriculum that is not fully implemented yet. The leadership does not use all of there resources to their potential. There is a band program begining in 4th grade and a Drama program beginning in 3rd. CYO Sports are a big part of the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 42%
Two or more races 9% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 6%
Black 7% 35%
Hispanic 2% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Washington
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

80 University Boulevard East
Silver Spring, MD 20901
Phone: (301) 593-5611

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Oak View Elementary School
Silver Spring, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT