Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Bernadette School

Private | K-8 | 394 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Silver Spring

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $340,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,350.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted Thursday, October 16, 2014

Thank you for showing interest in St. Bernadette School in Silver Spring, Md. We are a vibrant, safe, Catholic community that is changing and growing. Our test scores reflect the academic rigor delivered by our state certified teachers. In the Fall of 2014, 71% of our students scored above average in Mathematics and 81% of our students scored above average in Reading. Over the last five years, our 8th grade students have a 98% acceptance rate and received an average of $200,000 in four-year scholarships to area private and Catholic High Schools. Come by for a private tour at any time. We have open enrollment for many grades at this time. Our Open House will be on January 25th, 2015 from 10 am to 1:30 pm. We look forward to meeting you!

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, October 16, 2014

St Bernadette is a strong academic institution that serves a tight knit community. Perhaps it's strongest feature is how every aspect of the school day is shaped to foster a caring, safe and structured learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Thursday, October 16, 2014

The dedication of the faculty and staff is inspiring. This school is on the up swing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Thursday, October 16, 2014

We just started at st bs, but it has been a great, welcoming environment. I love that it is k-8 and it really is a whole community where the older kids take responsibility for the younger kids. The teachers we have had are caring and responsive the the kids (and parents) and I believe are building complete kids - those that have academic credentials and also commitment to each other and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Thursday, October 16, 2014

As a member of the St. Bernadette community, I cannot say enough good things about the school. St. B's provides students with the academic rigor, educational resources, and competitive sports that you would expect at an exclusive prep school, while also striving to teach the whole child. Gospel values are at the heart of St. B's and I feel so blessed to be a part of this school.


Posted Thursday, October 16, 2014

St. Bernadette is a great local school. The sense of community is built by weekend events for families and the small class sizes. Faculty and staff take time to get to know the children and ensure they are both educated and cared for. Parent volunteerism is high and builds its own community as parents work together to ensure successful events for all children. The school hours and after school program are great for working parents. As working parents, we are able to find things to volunteer for so we can also be involved, and have our children in afterschool care that is below market cost, but taught by highly skilled teachers. Our children come home with homework done and worn out from having spent a lot of time outside playing. We came to the school as non-Catholics and were welcomed. Our children were not treated any differently. Highly recommend shadowing or attending an open-house to see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Thursday, October 16, 2014

Great school community and a wonderful place for children to learn and grow! New smart boards and science lab are fantastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Thursday, October 16, 2014

All 3 of my children have thrived at St. Bernadette School. The academics are very strong and the environment is nurturing, positive and community centered. I feel the teachers are excellent at understanding and supporting each student. My oldest daughter was more than prepared for the academic rigors of her private college preparatory high school thanks to St. Bernadette School. I'm sure when my younger children graduate from SBS they will be prepared too. The administration and front office knows every single child by name and greets them all with a welcoming smile. I love the fact that the school does not tolerate bully at all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2014

Our two sons went through St. Bernadette school, get accepted at several high schools, including the ones they desired, and are now in the college of their choice. One was much more social and athletic than the other, who found just as much happiness in band and other activities. Today, their best friends, are guys from St. B's, their high schools, colleges and beyond, so I think socially the school does fine with the students. We are not the most social parents, but were able to fit in and have fun. The key is that parents have to get involved, and sometimes that creates a clique of those who volunteer and therefore always are around. We both worked full time and did what we could to help the school because while the teachers and staff work tirelessly for the kids, the kids really thrive when the whole family is on board. I'm shocked to see one review complain about religion at a Catholic school. Our children are mixed in how actively religious they are in college, but they got a tremendous moral foundation there, and have made solid life choices as a result. And from what I've seen since, the faculty has only improved with more focus on math and science.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2014

Reviews are a catch 22. They are either from unhappy people or defensive, happy people. I will try to be fair. Staff/Facility/Rigor: St. B's is 1st, bar none. HS Acceptance: Choosing parochial school means you don't like the school you are zoned for but don't want to move to further out or you really want a Catholic education. At St. B's many intend for their child to complete this education through HS. If this is what you want, St. B's students have a 99% acceptance rate for private high schools. Cliques: All private/parochial schools all claim to not be exclusive and have a great community. Honestly, public schools do too. If you are an involved parent people will reciprocate. The clique complaints are slightly overrated, at least currently. We knew no one when we started and enjoy the friends we've made, many of which are not in a clique or if they are I have not noticed. More importantly, so have our kids. Diversity is lacking but we take advantage of living close-in and educating our children to honor diversity. We do feel that lessons in diversity are from more that just being around different races/cultures, so if that is also your definition, St. B's is fine on this front.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2014

I'm glad that I waited to review St. Bernadette. Previous comments are right on the mark. St. B's is a very tight community, which is a downfall here. The cliques are very strong between both students and parents. Like the students, parents are not inviting if your children are not within their cliques. Our children attending St. B's for many years, but we transferred before they graduated middle school. I'm glad to know that a some of the teachers (and nurse) have retired, and maybe that's helped to improve the school now. Teachers were also in after-care and by the end of the day, they have less tolerant. Academics were challenging and many of the students do well and move on to Catholic high schools. Foreign language is limited for lower grades and there's limited cultural diversity both in school and in parish. Strongly recommend MORE than one visit, plus meeting with teachers your child would have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2014

I have been at other schools and can honestly say the cliques at this school are far worse then any other school environment I have ever been in. Any parent who is in their thirties and forties still living their sorority and frat days sends up a red flag. Acceptable behavior for late teens to early twenties. Not grown adults. As you can imagine, this behavior is passed down to their children who then act it out in the classrooms. The nice familes and nice kids leave this school. Fourth grade and above is really when the cliques become noticeable and harmful to the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2013

My school is not very commutative. Very few students will welcome new students when a student come to a certain grades. When I came to the seventh I was not welcome entirely by the students and only two students welcomed me.


Posted February 28, 2013

The principal is excellent and has made substantial improvements at the school. I cant say that for the teachers, as some of them definitely have their favorites and are partial and this impacts their teaching. They spend more time enforcing petty rules. Also, if you are anything but causcaian, think twice before attending this school. The quality of the education has defintiely improved but the the sacrifice on your kids self esteem and confidence might not be a good trade off in the short or long term. There are other choices out there and you are paying for this choice, Think again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2012

This school has a serious clique problem. If you want your child to be happy then do not send them to this school. The principal has tried many ways to break up the cliques with the school children but it's the parents who dictate what children are accepted and which are not. Extremely sad for the children, espcially when they're not the favored ones. And forget about CYO. Even if your child is the best athlete in the school, if they're not one of the "chosen", they will never make the "A" team. Do you and your children a favor. Do not come to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2012

It may not be the most challenging school for the brightest students, but many of the graduating 8th graders go to academically rigorous high schools and perform well. This indicates that they prepare students at an above average level. For the most part the students I interact with are courteous, well mannered and polite - that speaks volumes in the world we live in. Cons - believe the hype, this is a cliquish environment. And this can lead to some alienation between parents. And sadly this sometimes filters down to the kids as well. My two children are doing well here - not as challenging as I would like at times, but it is only elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2011

Don't send your kid here. Seriously. They provide no preparation for highschool. Like at all.


Posted June 14, 2011

We have two children--one who graduated recently and one in middle school. We have found the community to be very strong and welcoming, and the 'cliquishness' to be over rated. Our kids don't fit the 'jock' or 'popular' crowd and felt very accepted for who they are and for their talents. Academically, my oldest was very well prepared for high school. St. B's grads seem to grab more than their share of academic scholarships/honors placements at the local Catholic High Schools, so I feel the school certainly holds its own in that area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2011

Too may cliques, which starts with the mothers and creates a negative atmosphere for the children who aren't "popular" or "jockish." At basketball games and the Powderpuff game, the "popular" girls only pass to their friends, and the coaches don't do anything about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2011

My family moved here mid-year from out of state and St. Bernadette's welcomed us and our children immediately into its community. The school and activities and both parents and students included us and made us feel like we'd been part of the community for years. We now have 2 children enrolled in the school and are quite happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2011

We have been in the school since 2006 and have been very happy here. Mrs. Wood has helped the school innovate while protecting the traditions of St. B's. We have two children in the school (lower grades) and have seen them flourish academically and socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 42%
Two or more races 9% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 6%
Black 7% 35%
Hispanic 2% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Washington
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

80 University Boulevard East
Silver Spring, MD 20901
Phone: (301) 593-5611

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Oak View Elementary School
Silver Spring, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT