Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St John The Evangelist School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Silver Spring

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $315,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,540.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

47 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 15, 2009

St John's is a great school that helps kids develop their minds and their hearts. I have three kids there now, each one different from the others, and the wonderful community of teachers, staff and families are helping each of them develop into their fullest potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

the best 'well mannered' and caring students in the county, which shows that they have great parents and teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

It is a awesome school community to be a part of. I love this school so much that I drive 30 minutes in the morning and 30 minutes after school to pick up my son. That is how much I love this school and want him to be a part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

It has a fun, small town, neuturing environment. Moral, spiritual and academic education are important to the school and families. There is plenty of interaction between the teachers and students and students within various grade levels. In addition, there are many after school activities for the families to meet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

St. John the Evangelist is a wonderful school. There are great teachers, students and parents that love being involved with the school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

St. John the Evangelist has a great community, made up of wonderful teachers, students, and families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

I love St. John the Evangelist community for so many reasons! We have great kids, nice parents and super teachers. Our children learn how to be loving and responsible young people. Academic excellence and Christian values go hand in hand to make this a very special learning environment where every kid counts and everyone can learn to make a difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

That work with the parent to ensure that the child is learning, values and morales besides just reading, math and writing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2009

I have to award no stars. The school is, literally, crumbling around the students and the student population is declining so rapidly that it's difficult to imagine it'll remain viable as an institution much longer. The Archdiocese recently published a 10-year retrospective of enrollment figures that shows the school's population has nearly halved. Why is it that class sizes must remain so large? Why are teachers so poorly trained and, even then, full-time employees are compelled to move to part-time status? Someone below wrote 'sinking ship,' this vessel has sunk.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

Unfortunately, nothing seems to change despite the dreamy thinking. While there is parental involvement, it's about what you'd find anywhere else. The class sizes are still too large given the low enrollment. 15-18/class would be more ideal; not 22+. Outside of the ridiculously lacking physical plant, my biggest gripe is Homework Skills. According to what's on the paper, this is time spent after school teaching children how to improve their study habits and get extra help where needed. Unfortunately, it's really glorified babysitting. Academics aren't everything to be sure, but more needs to be done to identify gifted children and to teach to their ability and push them harder.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2009

Our son has been attending St. John the Evangelist for 1.5 years and is in middle school. Prior to this he attended public school. The language arts curriculum at SJE is much more rigorous than the public schools. Also, this school takes Science ahd History education pretty seriously, unlike what we experienced at Montgomery County Middle Schools. The math is a little less challenging than the accelerated program in public schools, but it is good. The school is warm and friendly and they teach the children to respect themselves and others. We are very happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2009

Zero stars, this school is not only not aging gracefully... it's failing miserable. It barely obtained middle-states accreditation and it falls so far in comparison to the other local parochial schools (many winners of the Blue Ribbon Award of Excellence) that it would be laughable if it weren't so tragic for the children enrolled there. We removed our daughter and are happier with the public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2008

I am the parent of four daughters. Three of them currently attend St. John and the fourth will when she is old enough. As a former teacher I am completely satisfied with the academics at the school. More importantly as a parent I am extremely happy that my children are being brought up in a caring community where they are treated as individuals, by a devoted, professional faculty and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2008

St. John the Evangelist is a great school. The education and values taught are preparing my children for high school and beyond. The class size is very manageable, with most grades averaging about 22 students. Three new teachers hired for the 2008-09 school year complement the existing staff, who provide a solid curriculum across every grade. St. John's band has received numerous honors and every year St. John's students compete quite well for high school scholarships. I feel St. John s provides an excellent and safe environment for children to learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2008

A sinking ship (perhaps a sunken ship). We had to remove our daughter from this school after the latest round of teacher cuts. Classroom sizes are atrocious. Children get little individual attention despite the schools overall small size. The administration is at a loss as to how to rectify things and simply keeps budget tightening to try to save its way out of a financial mess. If you enter a first grader in this school don't expect it to still be operating when (s)he reaches the 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2008

This school has many problems that continue to worsen. Enrollment declines every year with the added problem of good teachers now leaving. The students aren't being prepared for the advanced skills they'll need to enter top high schools unless they're simply an absolute genius and would do well anywhere. And while there's a level of parental involvement, it isn't any more or less than you'd find at other schools. Nothing substantial has changed with the physical plant regardless of the interest from the endowment now available. Quite frankly, there's so much that needs done it'll be years before everything's up to snuff. With all this said, if you're intent upon either a private or parochial education for your child/ren, your money is better spent elsewhere. While I'm saddened to rate this school as unsatisfactory, they really do deserve the rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2008

Great education and good enviorment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

Our children have attended St. John's for 11 years and one is in high school. Our child in high school was extremely well prepared and had a wonderful experience at St. John's. Our two younger children are in the primary grades and are doing just as well as our older child did. There have been issues as there are in any other school, however, the principal has dealt with those issues effectively. I daresay that utopia will not be found in any school, but St. John's provides a well balanced education and Christian environment with very positive parental involvement. The community is very close knit, active and caring. It's exactly the kind of place at which you want your child to be every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

The principal of the school is doing all that she can to avoid following the Diocesan guidlines regarding Kindergarten. We withdrew one of our sons from this school two years ago when no full-time Kindergarten was offered, with the hope that in two years our next son could attend such. Again, this year the school is offering an ersatz 'full-time' program. Their same half-day program with a daycare supplement for more than twice the price. It's 'name only' sophistry. It's wrong. Time for the leadership to go or this school will shut its doors within a few years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2007

I attended this school from 6th to 8th grade. While I greatly enjoyed my time there, I also felt there was a lot that was lacking. There were a few wonderful teachers there, but most seemed poorly educated about the material. Since it is a Catholic school religion should be important--but often it took precedence over actual education. When I entered high school (a public one), I had to learn a lot of skills that most students already covered in middle school. This school will definitely not put your child ahead in academics.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 42%
Black 10% 35%
Two or more races 7% 4%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Washington
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10201 Woodland Drive
Silver Spring, MD 20902
Phone: (301) 681-7656

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Evergreen Montessori School
Wheaton-Glenmont, MD


Sligo Middle School
Silver Spring, MD



Calvary Lutheran School
Silver Spring, MD


The Siena School
Silver Spring, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT