Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
200 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 70 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St John The Evangelist School 5

Posted May 06, 2016
- a community member
Wonderful school! Two thumbs up! I would highly recommend St. John the Evangelist! The staff and teachers are great!

St John The Evangelist School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 20, 2016
- a community member
Thanks to all of the wonderful teachers for teaching and loving my children. You mean the world to our family.


St John The Evangelist School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 20, 2016
- a community member
The teachers are great. You can tell they really care about the students. I've heard the Kindergarten teacher still gets a little teary eyed when a student starts reading on their own and she's been doing this for 20+ years.

St John The Evangelist School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 20, 2016
- a community member
I don't have a specific example other than my kids who have all of these qualities.

St John The Evangelist School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 20, 2016
- a community member
SJE students are taught this and evaluated on this as part of their report cards.


St John The Evangelist School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 20, 2016
- a community member
SJE has a buddy system where it pairs up kids in the younger grades with those in the older grades. They do special things together like gardening, baking and attend first Friday mass together. It's so sweet.

St John The Evangelist School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 20, 2016
- a community member
SJE integrates these values in everything they do. It is reinforced every day through work assignments and projects. In 4th grade my son broke his foot badly during a CYO basketball game and needed surgery. He was out of school a week. One of the teachers took 15 minutes out of class time for each child to make a card for him and they sent the cards home in a big envelope. His face lit up. The teacher taught love & kindness that day. I was so touched.

St John The Evangelist School 5

Posted April 20, 2016
- a community member
As an alumni and parent of 3 students I can whole heatedly recommend SJE to anyone looking for a loving, caring community in which to educate your child. The teachers are top-notch and are incredibly creative and motivated. We have a fantastic new principal who is excited adding new programs such as the classics, STEM and International Studies. My son graduated from 8th grade last year and was fully prepared to thrive in high school. But beyond the academics, I can't say enough about the community. It takes a village to raise a family and I love my SJE village. You can't go wrong with SJE.


St John The Evangelist School 5

Posted May 26, 2013
- a parent
Our child is thriving at SJE both academically & socially. The entire K class is friends with no exclusions. All of the K students are reading and writing full sentences & creative stories. My son's math skills are developing quickly and the teacher is challenging him with multiplication to keep him interested. The K teacher runs a tight ship because she loves these children and believes they can meet the standards. She sees the potential and uniqueness of each of her children and works warmly with them so they can meet the expectations. The Value Code is stressed with class discussion and asking "what it means to be a friend." A lot of very old reviews here echo "how SJE used to be" according to some veteran parents. True, the facility is old but clean, secure, and adequate. Today's faculty and staff embrace technology with "smartboards" in the classrooms and multimedia instruction. Primary classes are large at 22+ children but all have a full time assistant so the ratio is halved. The front office secretary is retiring after 46 years so there will be some fresh efficiency. The parents are welcoming. You can be as involved as you'd like. We are very happy with SJE.

St John The Evangelist School 5

Posted April 27, 2013
- a parent
We chose this school because we were looking beyond straight academics: which environment could transmit the values that we want our children to be instilled in, one that could provide emotional and spiritual support. This is exactly what we've found. My husband and I often remark to each other how much we love this school. The people who make up this school - from the Sisters to other faculty, to the principal to the families -are just such GOOD people. Watching the kids play at recess, I'm blown away at how kind the kids are to each other, how their play circles effortlessly transform into different groupings - everyone gets along. Our children are flourishing and becoming good citizens. This school is nurturing them. Because of this strong and close community, there is a high level of parent involvement. If you love a place, you want to help in whatever way you can. I'm not sure how the academics compare, but for us, it's secondary to the development of our kids as people.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St John The Evangelist School
10201 Woodland Drive, Silver Spring, MD  20902
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 70 reviews. (301) 681-7656
Last modified St John The Evangelist School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top