Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St John The Baptist School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Silver Spring

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $315,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,510.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2013

LOVE IT! St. John the Baptist is truly our 2nd home! This is my 8th grader's last year at this wonderful blue ribbon school. It's hard to leave...thanks for everything. We've been so blessed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

My oldest started in 3rd grade, now he's a graduating 8th grader - top of his class with 2 siblings who follow! This school is a place that offers its students the ability to thrive and its families and faculty an environment in which to prosper. St. John the Baptist is more than a building where students learn to think, solve problems and cooperate. SJB is a living legacy of faith, service, academics and community where each unique child belongs, and where for over 50 years, of excellence in education has thrived. Enter is K and stay through 8th grade - you won't regret it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2013

SJB is not just a great National Blue Ribbon school, it is an incredibly nurturing community of teachers, parents and parishioners working together to inspire children to learn to their highest academic levels while also learning how to care for others. My two children went to St. John's and it was life changing for them as well as my husband and myself. The children learn so much from doing so many things - helping at liturgies, music programs, after school programs, hands on science through a nature garden, athletics - and they feel safe and cared for. The beautiful campus is constantly humming with people. The principal is always improving programs and making changes and truly listens to the school community. The school is planning a renovation with a new technology and resource center. The parent community is dynamic and engaged. I can't say enough about the respect I have for the administration and teachers. Go see for yourself. It's a gem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2013

Our family has had a wonderful experience with St. John the Baptist. The principal is a true leader who knows every student. She personally gives each student their report card and encourages them based on what she knows about each of them. It is a close knit community with involved parents, caring teachers and high academics. The students leave well prepared for high school and life in general.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2012

This school is incredible. I know no place is perfect, but this school certainly is close. Academics, the arts, athletics, compassion for others, safe and trusting community......not enough room to describe! Finding this school was a fluke that has turned out to be one of the greatest blessings in my children's lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2012

I have had such an amazing experience with St. John the Baptist. I have three boys at the school (some of whom require special accommodations) and they are all progressing so well. At St. John's there are teachers who are passionate about ensuring that each child is reaching their potential, there is an AMAZING principal who knows each student and parent, and there is a supportive community of parents. As a Blue Ribbon school, you know the academics are top notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2009

I am so unhappy with St. John. You must be one of the elite to be recognized. Poor students, if they don't fit in everyone knows. Saddddddddd!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2008

I'm pround to be part of the St. John the Baptist community. The outstanding leadership of our principal keep us all united, our kids enthusiastics of learning and belonging to the community, our teacher constantly challenging out kids to perform better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

This is my third year and I love the safe, Christian and academic environment. The Principal is number 1, parents, faculty and students love and admire her. As any place, there is some issues to improve, but administration and faculty are always willing to work the best for the students. Students that graduate are accepted in Catholics and Public High Schools and they become Honor Enroll in the next two years in the upper schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 42%
Hispanic 13% 12%
Black 11% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Two or more races 6% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Washington
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12319 New Hampshire Avenue
Silver Spring, MD 20904
Phone: (301) 622-3076

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Kemp Mill Elementary School
Silver Spring, MD


Westover Elementary School
Silver Spring, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT