Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
266 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St John The Baptist School 5

Posted September 09, 2013
- a parent
LOVE IT! St. John the Baptist is truly our 2nd home! This is my 8th grader's last year at this wonderful blue ribbon school. It's hard to leave...thanks for everything. We've been so blessed!

St John The Baptist School 5

Posted February 08, 2013
- a parent
My oldest started in 3rd grade, now he's a graduating 8th grader - top of his class with 2 siblings who follow! This school is a place that offers its students the ability to thrive and its families and faculty an environment in which to prosper. St. John the Baptist is more than a building where students learn to think, solve problems and cooperate. SJB is a living legacy of faith, service, academics and community where each unique child belongs, and where for over 50 years, of excellence in education has thrived. Enter is K and stay through 8th grade - you won't regret it.


St John The Baptist School 5

Posted February 07, 2013
- a parent
SJB is not just a great National Blue Ribbon school, it is an incredibly nurturing community of teachers, parents and parishioners working together to inspire children to learn to their highest academic levels while also learning how to care for others. My two children went to St. John's and it was life changing for them as well as my husband and myself. The children learn so much from doing so many things - helping at liturgies, music programs, after school programs, hands on science through a nature garden, athletics - and they feel safe and cared for. The beautiful campus is constantly humming with people. The principal is always improving programs and making changes and truly listens to the school community. The school is planning a renovation with a new technology and resource center. The parent community is dynamic and engaged. I can't say enough about the respect I have for the administration and teachers. Go see for yourself. It's a gem.

St John The Baptist School 5

Posted February 07, 2013
- a parent
Our family has had a wonderful experience with St. John the Baptist. The principal is a true leader who knows every student. She personally gives each student their report card and encourages them based on what she knows about each of them. It is a close knit community with involved parents, caring teachers and high academics. The students leave well prepared for high school and life in general.

St John The Baptist School 5

Posted November 19, 2012
- a parent
This school is incredible. I know no place is perfect, but this school certainly is close. Academics, the arts, athletics, compassion for others, safe and trusting community......not enough room to describe! Finding this school was a fluke that has turned out to be one of the greatest blessings in my children's lives.


St John The Baptist School 5

Posted April 23, 2012
- a parent
I have had such an amazing experience with St. John the Baptist. I have three boys at the school (some of whom require special accommodations) and they are all progressing so well. At St. John's there are teachers who are passionate about ensuring that each child is reaching their potential, there is an AMAZING principal who knows each student and parent, and there is a supportive community of parents. As a Blue Ribbon school, you know the academics are top notch.

St John The Baptist School
no rating

Posted January 19, 2009
- a parent
I am so unhappy with St. John. You must be one of the elite to be recognized. Poor students, if they don't fit in everyone knows. Saddddddddd!

St John The Baptist School 4

Posted September 06, 2008
- a parent
I'm pround to be part of the St. John the Baptist community. The outstanding leadership of our principal keep us all united, our kids enthusiastics of learning and belonging to the community, our teacher constantly challenging out kids to perform better.


St John The Baptist School 5

Posted August 27, 2007
- a parent
This is my third year and I love the safe, Christian and academic environment. The Principal is number 1, parents, faculty and students love and admire her. As any place, there is some issues to improve, but administration and faculty are always willing to work the best for the students. Students that graduate are accepted in Catholics and Public High Schools and they become Honor Enroll in the next two years in the upper schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St John The Baptist School
12319 New Hampshire Avenue, Silver Spring, MD  20904
(301) 622-3076
Last modified St John The Baptist School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St John The Baptist School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top