Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Winchester School

Private | PK-2

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Silver Spring

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $220,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,500.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 17, 2012

Both of my children attended this preschool when they were 4 and loved it (2005 & 2008). Having young kids change subjects like middle & high school students is genius for this age. Their attention span is limited and they love having different teachers & subjects to learn and feel like big kids. The transition to Kindergarten in public school was fine, although they learned so much, they complained of being bored. But that faded as the school year progressed. They had a half-day or full-day program and after care & summer camp options for those families who have two working parents. I strongly recommend the program - no complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

The education children receive is similar to other preschools. Some of the of the staff are unfriendly and rude. Several people including myself have had experiences where the owner Mrs. Rimm will be very nice then the next she is a different person. I took my child there for a short period of time
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2012

My child learned a lot wnen she was in this school, but she is now much more happier in another school. in the other school, people are more polite, nicer and friendly to eachother.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

This school is the best blend of learning and fun and warmth and support. My kids are thriving there and I highly recommend it for anyone looking for a rigorous, age-appropriate school with lots of extra enrichment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2011

I am thrilled that we found this gem of a school! My daughter has thrived and learned so much from teachers who truly care about children and about their academic development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2011

I cannot believe the ratings I am reading! Is this the same school my child goes to? The Winchester School is a GREAT school! It welcomes children with very diverse backgrounds and makes them feel right at home. The curriculum is rigorous - which is what you would want from a structured teaching environment! - and children are pushed to learn - while having fun! My child is currently enrolled in the PreK program for 3 year olds and she loves it! She is happy to go to school and cannot wait to see her teachers and friends. She has learned a lot since starting at the school - including how to adapt to a more organized and structured environment - which is essential for her moving forward in school. Both my husbadn and I feel we have made the best choice we could have made enrolling her in The Winchester School - we highly recommend it to all parents! The school strikes a great balance between learning and fun and we really could not emphasize more how glad we are to have found it! So much so, that we are going to commute for 25 minutes in the mornings to bring both my son and daughtter next year, since we have changed home! Enroll your children - you will NOT regret it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

The teachers and other staff care about my daughter and most importantly, my daughter LOVES it there. So much so that she asks to go on weekends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

When I visited the Winchester School I was very impressed with what I saw in the classrooms. However, when my child started his tenure at the school my opinion of the school changed drastically. This school was not kid friendly at all. The expectations for three and four year old children were unbelievable. There was no tolerance at all for kids to be kids. The school has a very intensive and accelerated curriculum which seemed impressive on the surface, but proved to be too rigid for a normal and active three year old child. For the Winchester to be a school for early childhood education, I was shocked and appalled by the lack of compassion and understanding exhibited by persons in leadership positions. The Winchester is not a nurturing environment for children. The best thing I did for my child was to remove him from the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2005

Winchester has an agressive marketing plan to indoctrinate potential parents that the 'school' is stellar. The school is fair, however, distributed teachers lend to poor individual child assessment. Teachers are upbeat. Curriculum is poor for a well adjusted child. Children may not see a difference; type A parents will not realize an improvement only maintenance. School has is experiencing community problems, so long term status is shakey.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2005

The Winchester School offers a strong academic program with specific classes in Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, Spanish and Art. Children are exposed to an advanced curriculum and an array of activities. Your child will do extremely well if he/she comes to the program with maturity and a propensity to grasp key concepts quickly through traditional teaching methods. However, if your child falls into any of these categories, he/she may have challenges: 1)short attention span 2) visual learner 3)lacks academic and/or social maturity. Unfortunately, there are no set teaching strategies for children who fall into this group, leading to feelings of inadequacy by the child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 45% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 24% 6%
White 18% 42%
Two or more races 8% 4%
Hispanic 5% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3223 Bel Pre Road
Silver Spring, MD 20906
Phone: (301) 598-2266

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Bel Pre Elementary School
Silver Spring, MD


Faith Arts Academy
Silver Spring, MD




Barrie School
Silver Spring, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT