Advertisement
Advertisement

Hampshire View Christian School

Private | K-12 | 66 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Silver Spring

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $385,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,550.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 24, 2013

When I first came at this school they said that they had to 'pray' about my acceptance, obviously they were not listening to 'God' or praying at all. All the teachers do are sit there and check that you did all the 'work'. For a one page essay, all the feedback you get is a checkmark and signature. The 'work' you finish, you check at a desk, if you get it wrong you redo it until it matches the answer key at the desk. Many students cheat this way. It's impossible not to, the human brain has an adequate short term memory. Detentions are entirely one-sided, students CLEAN for the school during their PE time. I never received any instruction in math, and I never finished a course/pace due to them giving me the packet LATE. I had to ask for the packet. You 'work' in little cubicles everyday like factory workers and I don't remember a thing I 'leanrned'-memorized-in this 'school'. Environment wise, the teens act like any other teen in public schools. Perhaps even worse. No doubt they've been through their fair share of hardships, but they use worldly desires as an escape, not 'God'. Also, the schools credits here will only count as half in a public's. Hypocrisy at its finest.


Posted April 19, 2013

If you're looking for a good Christian environment for your kids, this is not the place. The teens, obviously, act like teens. There is of course cursing. A majority of the students use profanity and talk about sexual things. Your child will be tempted, so is life. Education wise they will be challenged and miserable there as everyone else there is. You sit in a room in silence all day long. The only athletic team they have is a volleyball team for the girls. Nothing for the guys. I hate it there. Everyone does. My advice is to keep looking for a school. Public school would probably better than this place for your child.


Posted September 11, 2012

I have worked with and experienced many of the graduates of this school. They have gone to colleges and universities of their choice, I know 2 doing wonderfully in the military serving our country. I think this school has prepared them to go forward in whatever they have the ability and ambition to do. The staff are strict in upholding the rules that every student and parent are aware of and sign a copy of before entering into the school. Each 9th grader and their parents meet with the principal to plan a course of study for the high school years and choose which of the 4 diplomas offered is best for their child. I think that the last 2 reviewers might need to understand that the staff and many /most parents who send their children to this school are looking for a place where there is a godly standard of behavior and profanity and other "normal" teen behaviors are not the norm. And the last reviewer needs to check their information, I just looked and Pensacola Christian College is not only accredited but has the 7th highest nursing program in the whole United States.


Posted June 20, 2012

at this school there is no type of encouragement to make it to a higher form of education. There is no way a student desiring to attend a distinguished university or college can be provided with the adequate information needed to attain his or her goals. the only available counsel conserning education after high school is applying to quaint little christian college in pensacola where touching the opposite gender is considered heinious. about half of the graduating class apply and attend the college due to lack of information and plain old ignorance. Personally i was forced to discover everything about application deadlines to multiple credited universities and colleges. (Did i mention that the college in pensacola is not accredited i.e. you never went to college according to the U.S. government). all of my time breaking my head over application dates and such could have been avoided if a counselor (one of the many things lacking at the school) were to have laid out a four year plan with me. I was not accepted at any schools and am now forced to attend the nearest community college. If you desire you child to have the highest possible education after high school forget this school


Posted May 31, 2012

To the person who previously wrote the comment, You have no idea what its like to go to that school. As "friendly" as some of the staff members may appear, in reality they are not. Except for one staff member the rest of the staff is prone to fits of anger and are very unhelpful to the students. The fact that we were not friendly to the child or parents of the previous commentator was most likely a way to drive you away, which apparently worked. We knew that it would only cause pain and turmoil to you or your child coming to the school. Trust me when I say this, everybody I know that went to this school regrets coming and cant wait to leave. Thankfully, I no longer attend the wretched "institution". As far as "profanity", lets be honest here, in every school everywhere no matter if its private or public there is going to be "questionable"conversations, for the sake of the morally conservative. Teens will be teens and if you cant deal with that then you should homeschool your child and have him or her in a little bubble. My personal experience at the school has been saddening, stressful, sickening, unproductive, unreliable and above all extremely extremely disappointing


Posted April 1, 2009

This is a very good school with good opportunities to learn about God and get a good education. Everyone is very friendly and kind.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 32% 40%
White 30% 45%
Hispanic 21% 10%
Asian 17% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACE

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Supports home-based learning
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

360 Ednor Rd
Silver Spring, MD 20905
Phone: (301) 570-8457

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Cloverly Elementary School
Silver Spring, MD



Stonegate Elementary School
Silver Spring, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT