Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Quality Time Early Learning Center

Private | PK-1 | 99 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Silver Spring

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $450,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,470.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2010

QTELC is decent. My child attended two years there and he learned a lot. The only thing that I did not like was the fact that they have too many hidden fees and let you know at last minute. Those fees are mandatory so if you don't pay your child is out of the school. Oh... and the deposit amount is never refunded back to you. Make sure you keep track of that otherwise you can kiss the deposit good bye.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

QTELC produces well rounded students. I am a parent of a three year old student at QTELC. My daughter is doing extremely well and has thrived during her time there. There is an awesome sense of community at this school and the student population is truly international. There are wonderful teachers, and teachers that are merely adequate. I think the latter group are comprised of those that have become complacent after too many years of service, and those that are unhappy with pay. I suppose the same could be said for any school. The academic curriculum is excellent. At two years of age - my child could identify several planets in the solar system, count to 30, spell her name, and of course recite her ABC's. The fluctuating charges are of concern. However, most of the changes occur during annual registration or re-registration as the school adjusts to meet its costs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2009

Excellent school. They work the children a grade level ahead. My 2 children attended as well as 4 of my nephews over the last 10 years. Too bad they did not get enough support for a 2nd grade. Otherwise my children would still be there this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

QTELC provides an above-avarage academic level at least from the curiculum it uses. However it is getting worse for the service such as just one-day ahead notice for the change of cost or schedule. Especially all kinds of 'hidden' cost. You may see the tuition itself not much, but the over $200 non-refundable registration fee, $80 school supply fee and $100 civic fee, as well as summer activity fee are all mandartory and not included in the tuition. I am kind of feel that they lure you by the moderate tuition, then charge you more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2008

My child attended QTEL for several years. It was a waste of time and money and I deeply regret sending him there. He studied all day with not a lot of play, had homework every night and learned some. On his report card, which is issued every quarter, he received outstanding grades but he did not come close to passing the early entrance exam for kindergarten. I believe this school advertises to be an academic school but it is not!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2008

The owner, Mr. Crump, has a habit of surprising parents with 'hidden' fees that are not provided to the parents ahead of time in writing. The school raises costs of items at a moment's notice. When parents complain about this practice, they are treated as if it's okay for the school to do this. The parents don't have any recourse, except to leave the school, thereby forfeiting any non-refundable pre-paid fees. The education portion of the school is about average
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

They have helped my daughter soo much! i love them. My daughter is 3 now and we have nothing but positive things to say about qtelc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2007

My son attended QTELC since he was 2 yrs old. We do not regret spending our money. The quality of education he gained there was the best. Thanks Mr. Crump and your staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

My daughter is currently attending Quality Time and I truly, truly believe that it is an excellent school. Your money is well spent! My daughter is four years old and is spelling, reading and counting. I am very happy that I chose this school for my daughter! I would recommend it to anyone who would like their child to get a good education!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2005

My daughter attended Quality Time for 2 years and came out of there with a wealth of knowledge. I remember vividly her first day. I took her to her Kindergarten class and was chatting with the teacher. My daughter knew her alphabet, could recognize certain words but couldn't quite read. The teacher said that in 3 months my daughter will know how to read, I smiled and told her that we would see about that. Sure enough, she knew how to read and was reading better than her cousin who was 5 years older than her. The following year, she went to one of the most amazing teachers and using the great books picked by the school, the curriculum and all of the homeworks assigned on a daily basis, she learned a lot. We wish we could still afford to send her there...Great school...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2005

Quality Time Early Learning Center is the BEST!. My son has attended there for the last three years and it has been a wonderful experience. I had so many fears in placing him in school at three and the half since he is diabetic. From the first time I talked to his teachers, I had a good feeling about leaving my child in their care. The principal, teachers and assistants are all caring and loving people. He received excellent care. The academic standard is one of the highest I have seen. By the end of his four year old program he was reading and writing very well! He was taught phonics and reads way above his grade level. This is our last year and I really don't know which school will be able to match QTELC level. I only wish it was up to at least the six grade! Rated Five
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2005

Our oldest son attended this school in 1999 for pre-k. We had a wonderful experience and he was reading by the end of the school year. We are now considering it for your youngest son. It is a shame that qtels only goes up to the 1st grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2004

My son attended this school and came away with a wealth of book knowledge as well a strong sense of morals for a young child. I would encourage any parent to give their child this foundation. Great staff, Mr Crump, principal, may appear gruff but that is just exterior - he knows every child by name and loves them dearly. They inturn love and respect him. My strongest prayers are for the schools and its staff continous guidance and that they can expand to a full elementary school, and later a high school. (Only reason I left.) Thank you Mr Crump, Ms Nash & Assistant,Ms Katrina and Assistant and everyone else who made my son have such a wonderful formative experience. I can appreciate what you did now that I have other schools to compare yours with.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 84% 35%
Two or more races 8% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Hispanic 4% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
White 0% 42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8101 Georgia Avenue
Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone: (301) 588-3350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Chelsea School
Silver Spring, MD





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT