Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Silver Spring International Middle School 4

Posted February 10, 2013
- a community member
I am currently a seventh grader at SSIMS and I think that it's pretty good. They have a wide range of electives and classes and you can get credits for high school when you take algebra or if you're in immersion. Plus it's an international baccalaureate school which makes the teaching/learning style different. I think that 7th grade is probably the hardest grade and personally I don't really like the ib program but it is good. Some people might call it "ghetto" but there are different groups of people like in every school. It is pretty diverse and the only real complaint I have is the administration, they are constantly stressing to us that we shouldn't push in the halls and stuff like that but to some of us who aren't doing it it's unfair. The principal is talking to us like it's ALL of us who are doing it. I don't expect to be praised for doing the right thing but he could realize that's its not all of us. So far I have liked most of my teachers and the English teachers are great! I would definitely recommend it and people who call it "ghetto" haven't experienced it's greatness and variety!

Silver Spring International Middle School
no rating

Posted October 30, 2009
- a parent
This is our 6th year with a child at Silver Spring International. Our children's have benefited from the dedicated teachers and an administration that works to increase student achievement as well as connectedness for all students.


Silver Spring International Middle School 1

Posted March 18, 2009
- a student
There are bad students. Some teachers make the kids late to class. No respect, not very good punishment.

Silver Spring International Middle School 5

Posted April 15, 2008
- a parent
Silver Spring International Middle School is an excellent school. The staff is outstanding, the course offerings are very rigorous and expansive. I would definitely recommend this school!

Silver Spring International Middle School 4

Posted March 04, 2008
- a parent
Our experience with SSI has been terrific. Many elective offerings and unique clubs give every single child enriching learning opportunities. The student body is remarkably diverse. The principal is involved at every level and dynamic. The teaching staff is amazing -- dedicated, creative, and clued into adolescence. The facility could be better, but the school has such heart, that it's not a serious downside.


Silver Spring International Middle School 4

Posted December 22, 2005
- a parent
I have two boys that attend SSIMS in grades 7 and 9. SSIMS is a good school with a great academic program and caring teachers. With a strong PTSA and new principal, the school is on its way back to a stronger acadamic standing. There are advanced classes as well as extra help provided if students need it. The teachers are genuinely interested in the kids and take the time out to respond to e-mails and phone calls. I would recommend this school to any parent.

Silver Spring International Middle School 1

Posted June 30, 2005
- a parent
So much is promised every year and every year the administration fails to deliver. This is still a school in transition; unfortunately, no progress is being made. Don't be fooled by the reputation of Montgomery County schools. The district is divided into a 'red zone--schools in crisis' and a 'green zone--successful schools'. Unfortunately, SSI is in the middle of the 'red'. When calling about schools in this area ask about the 'red' and 'green' zones as these terms were created by the district administration. Most distrubing is the lack of safety in the school. Having procedures for a lock-down, code red, does not make it safe.

Silver Spring International Middle School 5

Posted October 26, 2004
- a parent
The richness of the diversity of teachers and students is unmatchable elsewhere. My daughter has had so many great experiences here.. Shakespeare monologue contest, softball team, amazing drama class, and on and on. The teacher energy is constant and the new principal is fabulous...and the PTSA and parent involvement is very exciting!


Silver Spring International Middle School
no rating

Posted October 25, 2004
- a parent
My daughter, who is deslexic, has just entered SSI in the 6th grade. I was hesitant to enter her into SSI. I was pleasantly surprised by the teachers she has and their dedication. I am very pleased, and was somewhat surprised, by the dedication and competence of the special ed team at the school, particularly by their coordinator. I get the impression everyone is working very hard to see these kids do well. There do seem to be somewhat serious social issues, kids treatening other kids, but their also seems to be a core group of kids who support each other.

Silver Spring International Middle School 4

Posted October 24, 2004
- a parent
This year at SSIMs, with its new leadership and an active PTSA, challenges will be met and everyone will benefit. I have a student in advanced Math and English classes at the school and am very impressed with her teachers and their dedication and desire for my child to succeed. As more parents became active in their children's education at SSIMs, I predict that this school will be the envy of the county.

Nearby schools

Silver Spring International Middle School
313 Wayne Ave, Silver Spring, MD  20910
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (301) 650-6544
Last modified Silver Spring International Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top