Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
91 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Faith Arts Academy 5

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
My kids have been in this school for 5 years and we just love it !!!!! Great staff with a perfect developmental appropriate curriculum; the kind any parent will love for their children

Faith Arts Academy 4

Posted September 16, 2014
- a parent
my child just finished kindergarten and had a wonderful experience. the curriculum is developmentally appropriate, creative and to me really what a kindergarten should be. school, teachers, and parent communication were excellent. the only true drawback for me is that the school does not have a real gym and kids spend too much time in front of television. overall my child is looking forward to 1st grade and beyond.


Faith Arts Academy 1

Posted June 12, 2012
- a parent
I had a child in this school for 2 years, I didn't really care much for the style of teaching or the lack of discipline and the fact that the school was very dirty. My daughter is now in a public school where she is thrilled to see that the teachers actually TEACH!! There is absolutely no involvement from parents and yes, the before and after care are included in the tuition because they MUST offer something appealing to the parents since the education is not the greatest.

Faith Arts Academy 4

Posted May 19, 2012
- a parent
I am a parent of Faith Arts Academy my son has been attending this school for several years now and I have no problems with the school or how he's learning. The staff is great and very caring the school has a before and after care program which is included in the tuition, now where can you find a free before and after care now a days. This school is a good foundation for beginners and for families who want a good religious beginning for their kids.

Faith Arts Academy 1

Posted March 13, 2012
- a parent
The teachers' motto to the kids: "What happens in the school stays in the school." Students learn quickly that they will lose privileges for complaining (or if their parents complain)!! [Tthis is paraphrased for my child, a former student].


Faith Arts Academy 1

Posted March 08, 2012
- a parent
This school does not have the basic resources such as computers, a library, or a gym for the students to use. This school is unsafe, there is a large hole on the property with barely any thing blocking the students from it. The large hole is where the students used to play, so there is no where for them to move around and run. Getting access to the school leadership is difficult. There are no parent teacher conferences so you don't know how your child is doing until its too late. The after care is set up to baby sit your children so they watch tv and movies, do not expect homework to be done or homework help. So if you want an all day daycare then this is it.

Faith Arts Academy 1

Posted February 28, 2012
- a parent
please check the teachers credentials before you enroll your child here. the teachers are not very qualified and are not very concerned with the children's well being. lack of involment from the principal too! my child was there for a couple of years and every year the interest from the teacherskept getting worse. staff seems always very unhappy. chech the school credential before making any decision.

Faith Arts Academy 1

Posted February 28, 2012
- a parent
There are at least three other religious private schools in the same price range in less than a 5 mile radius of this school. Do your homework and weigh your options. This school could use some organization and professionalism and, I suspect, some safety upgrades (there is a huge hole and a mountain of dirt on the school's property).


Faith Arts Academy 5

Posted April 01, 2009
- a student
it has the greatest teachers,excellent.

Faith Arts Academy 5

Posted April 01, 2008
- a parent
I'm a proud parent of a now 6 year old first grader at faith arts academy. He started there for pre-k. The atmosphere is great, it feels like we are at home when we are around the teachers. All the kids interact well and they get tremendous learning experience along with the spiritual. I recommend any parent to check out our school! -ms. Williams

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Faith Arts Academy
13618 Layhill Road, Silver Spring, MD  20906
(301) 438-2012
Last modified Faith Arts Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Faith Arts Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top