Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Northwood High School 5

Posted October 24, 2012
- a student
Northwood is a very nice school. It offers many programs including medical, technology, and law. They say there is many gangs ,but to be honest thats not true. just because this school is located near Langley Park doesnt mean it had a lot of gangs its not a bad school! I am currently a junior I graduate 2014. I recomend this school! I remeber when I was chosing this school they said there was alot of bullying , but theres not, I mean in every school there is but here it depends who you mess with. I remeber my parents were scared to let me come here but in the end they were satisfied and relieved knowing that its not a bad school. I recomend it for any incoming 9th graders. I give this school a 5 star rating.

Northwood High School 5

Posted May 16, 2012
- a student
Northwood is a fantastic school! My friend was going here and so I decided to go. The teachers are really foccussed on me as a person and what I can do to bring my grades up. I love the way my gym class is because the coach is hard on us to stay in shape. I love Northwood!


Northwood High School 5

Posted March 05, 2010
- a parent
I'm so happy Northwood reopened. I graduated in 1978. My daughter is now a freshman and loves the school. I have great communication with teachers and they respond quickly. Great after school programs and the AVID is an awesome program to get students ready for college.

Northwood High School 2

Posted February 09, 2010
- a parent
Lunches are too long because they focus on diversity, and once that is established, the academic standards are lowered from the lack of requirements given to the students. What else do they have but 'pride' in sports and.. well, of course, diversity..?

Northwood High School 0
no rating

Posted January 11, 2010
- a parent
The school has poor administration. There are alwyas lots of teachers leave the school every year.


Northwood High School 0
no rating

Posted October 31, 2009
- a student
Northwood is a really diverse school. it focuses mainly on academic and sports. also there are a lot of great teachers who go out of their way to make sure you do well in school,

Northwood High School 5

Posted October 30, 2009
- a parent
Northwood High School is a small high school in a large Maryland suburban county outside Washington, D.C. The administration, staff, and students are like a large family. If a student needs help, it is there. Very positive environment with a lot of community involvement. Could not find a better school with smaller classes for my ADD student. Teachers are very receptive to e-mails and respond promptly! Good variety of special academies for students with special interest like law enforcement, music, drama, etc.

Northwood High School 0
no rating

Posted October 30, 2009
- a parent
Northwood has a huge alumni following. After being closed for 24 years it reopened and my son was in the first graduating class. My husband and myself and our brothers and sisters all graduated from Northwood.


Northwood High School 5

Posted October 30, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers and programs.

Northwood High School 0
no rating

Posted October 29, 2009
- a parent
Outstanding theater program and top-notch academics!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northwood High School
919 University Blvd West, Silver Spring, MD  20901
(301) 649-8088
Last modified Northwood High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Northwood High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top