Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Col. E. Brooke Lee Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 11, 2010

Our new Principal is phenomenal! He is extremely strict. He is on top of these kids and has created a very safe environment. Lee has had its rough years but in the 2 years we have been under the leadership of Joe Rubens, I could not be happier! In fact, we were recently honored by the Board of Education for the improvements at the school. As with other Middle Schools in the county our halls are under video watch and students who do not behave, get caught! My son is in almost all Honors or Advanced classes. He has made Honor Roll every marking period and Principal's List once. He is given every opportunity to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

Safety and Discipline? There isn't much. Its so sad that bullying is allowed in the school. The teachers need to be fired or re-trained.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2009

I am a new student to the school. I am coming from a private school, i was worried in the beginning, but everything is great. The kids, and teachers are wonderful. Yes i know that it is only the first week of school. But when i child can already tell it's going to be a good year. Than it is.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 7, 2007

i think that e. brooke lee is a good school for your child, if you want your child to go to a fun and creative school... with ideas that help the school in many ways but allow the children to have much fun.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2007

My son came to this school from Piney Branch elem as a special education student for the learning center. He was a 'D' student in 5th grade although he tried very hard. Since he has attended the learning center this year he as made honor roll 2 out of 3 quarters this year. I am very happy that they have the learning center avail for him. The teachers and all involved are doing an excellent job. They realize that our kids are people and not just numbers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2006

Although I love the principal's no nonsense approach to running the school. I have taken both of my children out of our neighborhood schools. This is an example of where a once great school system has failed to balance equal education for all students county wide. Some staff neglected to respond to numerous e-mails from me throughout the school year. Parents are involved but the economic diversity of the neighborhood has caused serious issues which reflect in the schools cosmetic and academic failures! Here s a school that could use a complete make over and even more staff changes from the bottom up! If you have children in this school I urge you to drop in unannounced and see the chaos for yourself! Then follow up with a letter to the superintendent of schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2006

I am not pleased overall; aside from 1 teacher taking the iniative and calling me to report what I deem as a pottential problem all the others said they had too many students and the child had to be responsible. Now considering a incoming sixth grader may have many adjustments; a red flag should go up when an average child falls to well below average. No teacher parent communication until its too late. If you have the option choose another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2005

i spent 6-8 grade at lee and it wasn't the greatest thing ever but it was an experience.the teachers didnt really seem to know what they were doing and we had minimal suplies.the school was in bad shape but they did the best they could.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 50% 12%
Black 33% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 6%
White 7% 42%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11800 Monticello Ave
Silver Spring, MD 20902
Phone: (301) 649-8100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Andrew Apostle School
Silver Spring, MD



New Life Academy
Silver Spring, MD


Sligo Middle School
Silver Spring, MD


Stephen Knolls School
Kensington, MD


St John The Baptist School
Silver Spring, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT