Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Col. E. Brooke Lee Middle School 4

Posted January 05, 2016
- a student
it is a good school with good people. i don't like how others try to degrade our school and say its a bad school because of our test scores. as a student I think that we should look to the students rather than just a statistic. everyone always complains about how the american education system is bad enough anyway. there are people who try there hardest everyday including myself and it's not fair that our work goes unacknowledged. every school has there won problems that they can fix but other than that lee is just like any other middle school in MCPS.

Col. E. Brooke Lee Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted January 05, 2016
- a student
they always show us that they care that help motivate students to go on and do better things in their futures


Col. E. Brooke Lee Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted January 05, 2016
- a student
people all treat each other with a certain degree of respect because we all have things in common. the school always reminds us that they care because it is not like they want us to fail they want us to succed. it's not like they are purposely making the test scores low

Col. E. Brooke Lee Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted January 05, 2016
- a student
everyone i know at my school are very happy people who enjoy going to school. some even develop close ties with teachers and other members of the staff because they treat us as people and not just another test score to bring up.

Col. E. Brooke Lee Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted January 05, 2016
- a student
everyone does there share at the school and i feel we shouldn't blame someone else's shortcomings on the whole school. we have been having tough times lately all the staff members treat the students at lee with enough respect, integrity, honesty, and fairness to all their students regardless of their race or background and it angers me greatly when ignorant people give our school a bad reputation just because the test scores aren't high it makes no sense to try and put PEOPLE in a certain category. we are all different and some people just don't realize that it is very hard to do well on something standardized that isn't proven to work well with others.i am positive that our school will be able to do better when we aren't constantly degraded by others


Col. E. Brooke Lee Middle School 1

Posted November 05, 2015
- a community member
All the teachers inflate grades in this school and if a teacher doesn't, he/she will be targeted by the administration. There are kids who do not know how to add or subtract getting A's and B's because this is how the administration and the higher-ups have decided is the best way to make MCPS look like a great county- which is far from the truth. Lee's test scores are horrible but since all the kids are passing their classes (Not!!!) the administration can blame it on the kids being poor test-takers instead of the fact that these kids are just being passed along each year and their deficits are growing exponentially as they get socially promoted to the next grade. The teachers who have been at Lee for many years willingly inflate grades and basically do a disservice to the kids. These are the kids who will drop out of high school at 16 because they can't pass the HSA's. It is a school built on no integrity and a spineless commitment to masking the county's immoral grading expectations because I believe 90% of the county schools inflate grades.

Col. E. Brooke Lee Middle School 5

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
Our new Principal is phenomenal! He is extremely strict. He is on top of these kids and has created a very safe environment. Lee has had its rough years but in the 2 years we have been under the leadership of Joe Rubens, I could not be happier! In fact, we were recently honored by the Board of Education for the improvements at the school. As with other Middle Schools in the county our halls are under video watch and students who do not behave, get caught! My son is in almost all Honors or Advanced classes. He has made Honor Roll every marking period and Principal's List once. He is given every opportunity to succeed.

Col. E. Brooke Lee Middle School
no rating

Posted February 25, 2010
- a parent
Safety and Discipline? There isn't much. Its so sad that bullying is allowed in the school. The teachers need to be fired or re-trained.


Col. E. Brooke Lee Middle School
no rating

Posted September 06, 2009
- a student
I am a new student to the school. I am coming from a private school, i was worried in the beginning, but everything is great. The kids, and teachers are wonderful. Yes i know that it is only the first week of school. But when i child can already tell it's going to be a good year. Than it is.

Col. E. Brooke Lee Middle School 5

Posted August 07, 2007
- a student
i think that e. brooke lee is a good school for your child, if you want your child to go to a fun and creative school... with ideas that help the school in many ways but allow the children to have much fun.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Col. E. Brooke Lee Middle School
11800 Monticello Ave, Silver Spring, MD  20902
(301) 649-8100
Last modified Col. E. Brooke Lee Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Col. E. Brooke Lee Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top