Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Silver Spring Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2013

I love East Silver Spring... great community school and very diverse in everyway you can think!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2013

I love this school. The entire environment is so warm and comfortable for parents and children alike. Every teacher and administrator seems to know my kids- because they make it a point to. The diversity is a welcome mix. Bullying is not an issue whatsoever and through everyone's differences my children have learned that truly everyone is the same inside. I cannot say enough good things about this school- you don't have to worry for a second that your children won't be happy there, because they definitely will be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2013

This school is wonderful!!! The teachers and staff are the best. They truly care for the students and they know them very well. The teachers and staff go above and beyond. My children never want to leave this school. The diversity also makes the school great. The students are also caring toward one another and I believe they model how they are treated at the school. I highly recommend ESS. The great schools rating should be much higher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2012

We love ESS! Our two children attend--the oldest is in 3rd grade and the youngest is in kindergarten. We love the low student to teacher ratio, and the fact that the school was newly renovated and expanded two years ago. No pods/temporary classrooms due to overcrowding here! Our 3rd grader has had accelerated reading and math since kindergarten, and is now at a 5th grade math level. (This is compared to statewide/nationwide standards, by the way, not due to artificial grade inflation.) We love the diversity of the school! It gives our children an enriching educational experience where they can learn about other cultures and other socio-economic groups first-hand. Plus, the community is welcoming and inclusive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

My son goes to school here and is in a class of 16 children with two teachers. The amount of individual attention he gets is amazing, and is better than most private schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

Because it supports the learning of all its students by setting high expectations and working to achieve them.


Posted December 6, 2009

ESS is fantastic! It is a Title I school, which means that it gets extra funding. The class sizes are at an average of 13 to 1. The Administration is supportive and nurturing. Our son is in the middle of 1st grade. I can't wait for our youngest to start kindergarten in 2010. We are so lucky to have this school in our backyard. The staff and the specialty teachers are attentive and engaged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

ESS is a small primary school in a quiet Downtown Silver Spring neighborhood. Excellent administrators and teachers have taken ESS from an under-performer to a school with steady academic improvement. It is a school on the right track. ESS is scheduled to expand to 5th grade in the next few years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2006

ESS has a very diverse population and excellent staff. The teachers are dedicated and hard working. Parent involvement could be better. Many of the parents are first generation immigrants from Africa and Latin America. It is difficult to get them to actively engage in school activities. That said, the parents do feel a strong connection to the school and feel it is serving their childrn well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 49% 35%
Hispanic 26% 12%
White 16% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

631 Silver Spring Ave
Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone: (301) 650-6420

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Chelsea School
Silver Spring, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT