Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Glen Haven Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 533 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2014

Both of our kids have done very well at GH. The school staff has a good sense of community and works very hard to connect with parents, provide important information and put in extra time to support school programs. Additionally, the staff looks out for our kids, one of whom has a disability, which makes the school feel safe. It's a small neighborhood school (with no busses), low staff turnover, and a really diverse student population. The new principal seems terrific and we are excited to welcome her!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2014

This school ranges from best to worst in various areas. Amazingly diverse community. Wonderful, nice parents. Wish those with struggling children worked with their kids on reading more instead of relying on the staff as much as they do. Many parents volunteer. The principal of 14 years is out! Though she ran a tight ship, it was a little too tight, to put her issues nicely. New principal starting now, Fall 2014. The community has high hopes for her as the school is about 90% awesome. I've compared notes with other elementary school parents in the area - our teachers do WAY more teaching to the student's level - whether it is low, high, or somewhere else - than other schools. A very talented team, very responsive, very willing to teach to the best side of every student, and find the positive in what they can do for each student. The school is pleasant, brightly colored, well maintained, two playgrounds. Though 68% qualified for free & reduced lunch last year, many are military so a large portion of their income (BAH) is not considered part of their salary so that factor kind of distorts the number of who can afford what. I have yet to meet a child not doing well at Glen Haven.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

Worst school my children have ever attended. My 4th grader had to change teachers, because her teacher displayed inappropriate behavior toward my daughter. If that was in any other school, she would have lost her job. These people hold back smart children, so that they can get high test scores for more government funds. If you have a choice, find another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

This school is awesome. The teachers gives each students individual attention. My daughter has special needs and the school has gone above and beyond in coordinating her services. She receives speech therapy and occupational therapy all while attending regular classes. She is not made to feel as though she's separated from the rest. She is treated like any other student and this makes her feel special. I would personally like to thank Ms. Harrison who takes the time to personally ensures that her needs are met and makes sure she's receiving the proper services. This is the best school ever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2012

This is a great school. The staff and teachers are caring and welcoming. The principle at times seems to like to micro-manage everyone and everything, but the school is big and she runs it very well. We have made life time friends with the staff and some of the teachers and as we move to another school distric, we will miss them dearly. The school is very welcoming to military children and they offer a great support system to the children and the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2012

As a seven year veteran of teaching, I am very pleased with this school. This school is a warm and friendly place where my son has had room to grow. They have taken him from a non reading, non writing preschooler to a first grader who is reading and writing well and is proficient in math. The teachers are caring, and welcoming. We are happy that our son attends this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2011

The only word to even come close to describing this school is AMAZING. My son has attend here for 2 years k and now 1st grade. Were military and patients at WRAMC. The staff has been way more then helpful and understanding in not only my childs special needs but others aswell. They dont just teach the children they become their friends and understand them. Aside from that there academic scores are far higher then most schools in the country. This is because the teachers ALWAYS find the time to make sure every student has one on one time and understands the lessons being taughht. They raise the bar high and help the kids soar!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

This school's rating in no way reflects the teachers and administration's dedication and commitment to their students. As parents newly transferred to the DC area, Glen Haven warmly welcomed us and answered our questions before we decided to move in the neighborhood. Other public schools in the area refused to respond to our queries. It's now been over 6 months and we've found the teachers to be responsive and commitment to encouraging our children (K and 2nd grade) to excel. There is an active core group of parents, and school sponsored activities are consistently well attended. The PTA is in a building stage, but the parent engagement is what's most important in my mind. The school's strength is its diversity, and we are very proud to be part of this true community. The unfortunate rating deceives parents from learning about what a gem this neighborhood school truly is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

My son attended Glen Haven Elementary School. He enter Pre-K with several special needs. I was afraid that he would have a difficult time and would not receive an appropriate education. I was wrong. Immediately, he receive the additional support. The Dr Smith, the princ. and Ms. Ingram, the v. princ as well as Ms. Harriston, the special ed coord. and his teacher, Ms. Beniot were supportive. They worked out a plan to support my child which include both parents in the team. We felt welcome and included in the process. It is difficult to work through accepting the dx of a long term diaability in a child, however, GHES and MCPS have supported him so well. He is growing into a well rounded child. It is not that GHES resolved all his needs, but the leadership, faculty and staff approach the educaitonal process as a partnership. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

It really fun to learn in GHES
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 50% 12%
Black 26% 35%
White 13% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 6%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10900 Inwood Ave
Silver Spring, MD 20902
Phone: (301) 649-8051

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hebrew Day Institute
Rockville, MD



Evergreen Montessori School
Wheaton-Glenmont, MD




Stephen Knolls School
Kensington, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT