Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Silver Spring, MD
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Glen Haven Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
My child is reading an entire grade level ahead. In first grade, she was learning and understanding very complex concepts. The kids love the teachers and you can tell that the teachers love the kids.

Glen Haven Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
Homework packets are distributed at the beginning and due the next weeks. Kids can work on them at a pace that is most appropriate. In first grade, this may have averaged out to 10 minutes per night + they ask you and your child to read together every day.


Glen Haven Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
Children as taught to have respect for themselves, other students, parents, and teachers. The teachers are caring, but firm. They make sure that children are rewarded for their hard work and achievements, however, not everyone is guaranteed an award. This is respectful of the hard work of the students that earned the awards and a good way to encourage others to reach for the stars.

Glen Haven Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
It is such a diverse school in terms of race, ethnicity, and economics. They really work on instilling these values and the faculty and staff demonstrate them as well.

Glen Haven Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
Each month, the entire school has lessons that revolve around a particular character trait, such as honesty, integrity, and fairness. They celebrate students who demonstrate those character trait.


Glen Haven Elementary School 5

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
Terrific administration, caring and dedicated teachers, a welcoming and diverse community. My child is thriving at Glen Haven.

Glen Haven Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
I absolutely love Glen Haven! The new principal is awesome! The school has an open door policy which I love. I volunteered in my son's classroom often. Parents are able to walk their child into their classroom every morning and talk to the teacher if needed. All of the teachers at Glen Haven seem motivated and really want the students to succeed. My son loves the school and has made some great friends. The PTA is dedicated and working hard to help the school succeed! I highly recommend this school!

Glen Haven Elementary School 4

Posted March 31, 2015
- a parent
The new principal that came in the fall of 2014 has really changed the atmosphere of the school for the better. Parents are welcomed and involved. The teachers are great! My son really enjoys his class and participates fully. There are many fun all school events to attend during the year.


Glen Haven Elementary School 5

Posted March 17, 2015
- a parent
Excellent staff and leadership! Thank you for your heart and sweat for our kids daily. Much appreciated!

Glen Haven Elementary School 5

Posted November 10, 2014
- a parent
This school is fantastic, especially relative to the travesty we moved away from. Great teachers, great PTA, great leadership; it's genuinely confusing to me why (as I write this) the school has a 3/10 rating.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Glen Haven Elementary School
10900 Inwood Ave, Silver Spring, MD  20902
(301) 649-8051
Last modified Glen Haven Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Glen Haven Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top