Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Silver Spring, MD
Students enrolled: 533

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Glen Haven Elementary School 5

Posted November 27, 2014
- a parent
Thank you Glen Haven teachers, staff and new leadership for all the possitive changes! These changes are appreciated.

Glen Haven Elementary School 5

Posted November 10, 2014
- a parent
This school is fantastic, especially relative to the travesty we moved away from. Great teachers, great PTA, great leadership; it's genuinely confusing to me why (as I write this) the school has a 3/10 rating.


Glen Haven Elementary School 4

Posted August 01, 2014
- a parent
Both of our kids have done very well at GH. The school staff has a good sense of community and works very hard to connect with parents, provide important information and put in extra time to support school programs. Additionally, the staff looks out for our kids, one of whom has a disability, which makes the school feel safe. It's a small neighborhood school (with no busses), low staff turnover, and a really diverse student population. The new principal seems terrific and we are excited to welcome her!

Glen Haven Elementary School 4

Posted July 16, 2014
- a parent
This school ranges from best to worst in various areas. Amazingly diverse community. Wonderful, nice parents. Wish those with struggling children worked with their kids on reading more instead of relying on the staff as much as they do. Many parents volunteer. The principal of 14 years is out! Though she ran a tight ship, it was a little too tight, to put her issues nicely. New principal starting now, Fall 2014. The community has high hopes for her as the school is about 90% awesome. I've compared notes with other elementary school parents in the area - our teachers do WAY more teaching to the student's level - whether it is low, high, or somewhere else - than other schools. A very talented team, very responsive, very willing to teach to the best side of every student, and find the positive in what they can do for each student. The school is pleasant, brightly colored, well maintained, two playgrounds. Though 68% qualified for free & reduced lunch last year, many are military so a large portion of their income (BAH) is not considered part of their salary so that factor kind of distorts the number of who can afford what. I have yet to meet a child not doing well at Glen Haven.

Glen Haven Elementary School 1

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
Worst school my children have ever attended. My 4th grader had to change teachers, because her teacher displayed inappropriate behavior toward my daughter. If that was in any other school, she would have lost her job. These people hold back smart children, so that they can get high test scores for more government funds. If you have a choice, find another school.


Glen Haven Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2012
- a parent
This school is awesome. The teachers gives each students individual attention. My daughter has special needs and the school has gone above and beyond in coordinating her services. She receives speech therapy and occupational therapy all while attending regular classes. She is not made to feel as though she's separated from the rest. She is treated like any other student and this makes her feel special. I would personally like to thank Ms. Harrison who takes the time to personally ensures that her needs are met and makes sure she's receiving the proper services. This is the best school ever!

Glen Haven Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2012
- a parent
This is a great school. The staff and teachers are caring and welcoming. The principle at times seems to like to micro-manage everyone and everything, but the school is big and she runs it very well. We have made life time friends with the staff and some of the teachers and as we move to another school distric, we will miss them dearly. The school is very welcoming to military children and they offer a great support system to the children and the parents.

Glen Haven Elementary School 5

Posted January 14, 2012
- a parent
As a seven year veteran of teaching, I am very pleased with this school. This school is a warm and friendly place where my son has had room to grow. They have taken him from a non reading, non writing preschooler to a first grader who is reading and writing well and is proficient in math. The teachers are caring, and welcoming. We are happy that our son attends this school.


Glen Haven Elementary School 5

Posted June 13, 2011
- a parent
The only word to even come close to describing this school is AMAZING. My son has attend here for 2 years k and now 1st grade. Were military and patients at WRAMC. The staff has been way more then helpful and understanding in not only my childs special needs but others aswell. They dont just teach the children they become their friends and understand them. Aside from that there academic scores are far higher then most schools in the country. This is because the teachers ALWAYS find the time to make sure every student has one on one time and understands the lessons being taughht. They raise the bar high and help the kids soar!

Glen Haven Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 23, 2010
- a parent
This school's rating in no way reflects the teachers and administration's dedication and commitment to their students. As parents newly transferred to the DC area, Glen Haven warmly welcomed us and answered our questions before we decided to move in the neighborhood. Other public schools in the area refused to respond to our queries. It's now been over 6 months and we've found the teachers to be responsive and commitment to encouraging our children (K and 2nd grade) to excel. There is an active core group of parents, and school sponsored activities are consistently well attended. The PTA is in a building stage, but the parent engagement is what's most important in my mind. The school's strength is its diversity, and we are very proud to be part of this true community. The unfortunate rating deceives parents from learning about what a gem this neighborhood school truly is.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Glen Haven Elementary School
10900 Inwood Ave, Silver Spring, MD  20902
(301) 649-8051
Last modified Glen Haven Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Glen Haven Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top