Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
42 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (15 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (13 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (14 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (11 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (13 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (13 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 138 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Glenallan Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2016
- a parent
My kid was student of kindergarten during 2013-14. All teachers and the principal were very committed. I was always surprised to see 3/10 rating. I had to move to other state for job reason, my son still misses his teacher, friends and the school environment.

Glenallan Elementary School 5

Posted February 13, 2016
- a parent
We started our oldest daughter in kindergarten in Fall 2015 after some skepticism about the 3/10 rating (based on test scores), but could not be happier. Principal Moran is hyper-committed to each child and has turned around the school. The teachers are truly amazing, and the teacher to student ratio is so much better than other schools. The school facilities and STEM program are fantastic, the entire faculty is obviously committed to supporting each child and fostering a strong sense of school community at Glenallan (AKA "Gator Nation"). The kids are all so well-behaved and hard-working, no doubt in part because "character" (e.g. respect, responsibility, caring) is the most important value taught at the school... and it shows. An added bonus is that the before/after school extended day program is run by Kids After Hours which is AWESOME (especially the Glenallan staff). The ONLY negative is the PTA seems to meet less frequently than it could, but they're working on that. Overall, we are so relieved we didn't throw away money at a private school, as Glenallan is top-notch. And to emphasize, we're only half-way through the year and on Glenallan's watch our daughter has blasted to the TOP of the charts/assessments in reading and math AT A FIRST-GRADE LEVEL (not even kindergarten). You would be remiss to consider private school if you're in Glenallan's school zone. We very much look forward to starting our pre-schooler there next fall.


Glenallan Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Thank you for your tireless effort in ensuring the needs of students, teachers/staff and parents are met on a daily basis. Thank you for dedicating your personal time to encourage, motivate and lend a listening ear to all members of the Glenallan community. You are irreplaceable!

Glenallan Elementary School 5

Posted July 17, 2015
- a parent
I have a Kindergartener and she finished kindergarten and is reading and writing sentences. She can count to 100 and above. She can read at an almost 2nd grade level. The grading system on this website is based solely on a Maryland assessment test. This school does not focus on kids regurgitating material for an exam. Instead they teach kids to learn. I was a little worried about the score when I was first looking at schools, but I have 3 other children from my family that go or went there and the oldest is taking Advanced Placement courses and going to graduate with honors from high school. I've seen first hand the level of education that this school is capable of. My daughter absolutely loves going to school and loves her teacher. The Principal of the school is also very involved with the families and the children. He knows every child's name and is truly dedicated to the education, well-being, and character of our children. I went to a private elementary school in this area and believe me, I wish I had gone to this school when I was a child. Would have saved my parents thousands and gotten a better education. My wife and I could not be happier.

Glenallan Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 17, 2015
- a parent
The amount was just right and I like the format where the homework can be finished over a number of days.


Glenallan Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 17, 2015
- a parent
My daughter was always excited for any new accomplishments and was rewarded by the teacher.

Glenallan Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 17, 2015
- a parent
The teachers do a great job of conflict solving and offer the children different methods to make sure that all of the students are always respectful of others.

Glenallan Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 17, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is a much better person at home now from a lot of things that were taught in this school.


Glenallan Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 17, 2015
- a parent
The anthem of the school is character counts. They instill this value to the teachers, students, and faculty.

Glenallan Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 17, 2015
- a parent
I have a Kindergartener and she finished kindergarten and is reading and writing sentences. She can count to 100 and above. She can read at an almost 2nd grade level. The grading system on this website is based solely on a Maryland assessment test. This school does not focus on kids regurgitating material for an exam. Instead they teach kids to learn. I was a little worried about the score when I was first looking at schools, but I have 3 other children from my family that go or went there and the oldest is taking Advanced Placement courses and going to graduate with honors from high school. I've seen first hand the level of education that this school is capable of. My daughter absolutely loves going to school and loves her teacher. The Principal of the school is also very involved with the families and the children. He knows every child's name and is truly dedicated to the education, well-being, and character of our children. I went to a private elementary school in this area and believe me, I wish I had gone to this school when I was a child. Would have saved my parents thousands and gotten a better education. My wife and I could not be happier.

Nearby schools

Glenallan Elementary School
12520 Heurich Rd, Silver Spring, MD  20904
(301) 929-2014
Last modified Glenallan Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top