Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Highland View Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 12, 2016
- a community member
The counselor of Highland View does talks every month or so, perhaps biweekly, to make kids care for each other, care about their studies, care about the world around them.

Highland View Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 12, 2016
- a community member
Highland View, despite it's not-so-good disciplinary system, teaches good values in kids from day 1 to the last day of fifth grade. They teach they to me honest, to have integrity, and to be fair to everyone, which is especially important in such a remarkably diverse school.


Highland View Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2016
- a community member
I loved going to school here. The small, tight-knit community is diverse and that's a great thing for kids K-5. The teachers are the definition of outstanding. They make time for the students and they work very hard to ensure the kids get the best grade they can possibly get. I did have a little problem with the disciplinary system, however. They didn't do too much about bullying, and I got bullied, but not really much happened to that bully. Other than that, they keep kids under control during lunch and recess and during class as well. The special teachers (music, art, etc.) were also exemplary. As an alum, I want to go back. They also have amazing extra options for students who want to learn something new on their own time, like the Geo Bowl for geography buffs. Because the school was so small, the parents and students were very involved. Everyone knew everyone. If someone won the Young Author's Contest, any teacher who saw you would congratulate you. In June, they hold a lot of parties at Highland View, serving ice cream and being able to play on the playground. The last month and a half or so of each year was an incredibly fun experience. I absolutely love this school.

Highland View Elementary School 5

Posted February 13, 2015
- a parent
We moved to Maryland when my son was in the middle of second grade. We had a fantastic elementary school where he was born in PA, and I was afraid we wouldn't be able to find a place where he felt as comfortable. He was welcomed incredibly warmly by this very tight knit community. We are very lucky to have a small school population with small class sizes, as well as an amazingly dedicated and involved principal. Mrs. Dardarian treats her job as her mission in life, and she is very good at it. My son and I both love HVES, and we will be very sad when he moves on after this year. If it makes any difference to readers, my son has ADHD, and the staff at HVES are very familiar with what that means and how to help kids deal with it. Finally, the before and after care program, Kids After Hours, is absolutely incredible. It's not run by the school, but it is so well integrated that you'll feel like it is. The director Glen is another very dedicated individual who really understands his kids. He has a masters in early childhood development. We are going to miss KAH as much as HVES for sure.

Highland View Elementary School 2

Posted February 14, 2014
- a parent
We are about to enter the IEP process (hopefully, successfully, but I am prepared for a difficult journey). So far regarding the 504 process, this school has not given the kind of support I would expect of a small, well-staffed, parent-engaged, community public school. In first grade with no 504, we had a great teacher and counselor and our daughter was well-supported. She was making progress in the are of social skill building and reading. This year, with a 504 in place, a new teacher and a new counselor, we have been sorely disappointed. Lipservice to accommodations is a shame... At the 504 planning meeting, the school psych who has never observed, assessed, or met our daughter dismissed a tool that worked well last year. After a few months, i had to ask the current guidance counselor to reinstate the tool. Yet, the teacher and counselor are not using it to its full potential. I can;t seem to get the compassion and attention, let alone interest of the current teacher or counselor. Very disappointing experience. I do not have high hopes for the ease and integrity of the IEP process.


Highland View Elementary School 3

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
The school's behavior standards are very high especially for the minority children. It is a great effort, but there should be a balance for everyone. There is definitely some disparity between the children who are living in the apartment vs the ones who live in the houses surrounding the school. Unfortunately, it is mostly minorities and/or lower income families who live in the apartments. As one reviewer mentioned, "there is a culture of trust...there are no snitches." That statement is true, because a teacher will get away with so much and get backed by the principal. Also, the PTA is not as inviting to all parents, yet they complain about minority involvement. Some teachers have been exemplary while others are just getting paid. My child is bright but wasn't being challenged. However, if she spoke too loudly or said too many words in one sentence, she would be placed on the "traffic system" which is the school's way of handling behavioral issues. It made my daughter afraid to go to school, because according to her, "I could do nothing right Mommy." I hope the new counselor will work with parents about issues instead of just placing their children in behavioral groups.

Highland View Elementary School 5

Posted July 19, 2013
- a teacher
Great school for teachers and students! I work at a nearby school. Every time I ask a Highland View teacher about the work environment, I get the same answer --culture of respect and trust among teachers and administration. There are no snitches who report everythng and anythng to administration. The principal is very involved in every aspect of the school without being overbearing.

Highland View Elementary School 4

Posted June 06, 2011
- a parent
HIghland View is a wonderful little school with a big heart. The principal knows each child by name, and the PTA is very active. Do not judge this school on test scores alone. It does a great job of educating a truly diverse population of sutdents. There are students from literally all over the world - Asia, Africa, austalia, Latin America. The school works for educated, affluent families as well as immigrant English Language learners. It is a tall order for such a small school.


Highland View Elementary School 4

Posted August 16, 2007
- a parent
We loved Highland View. The teachers and staff work hard and have a great attitude. This is reflected in the students, who genuinely seem to enjoy going to school. Our son got special attention and encouragement in his areas of need. He felt safe and comfortable at school. The student body is very diverse. This did not hinder the progress of our son academically or socially, but there is no doubt that it provided the biggest challenge to the faculty. HVES is small and is likely to remain so, which we found to be a positive. We got to know everyone and developed a communication and support network quickly. HVES is not the best elementary school out there and, given it's challenges, could hardly be expected to be. It is not the kind of school that does the work for you, but the kind we found easy to work with.

Highland View Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2006
- a parent
I have children in this school and so far so good. Curriculum is strong in Montgomery County and teachers make sure that everyone keeps up. The class facilities are excellent and the school does have an adequate field. Staff is friendly and helps out whenever they can. The PTA is active and effective but lacks the strong participation of most parents (like many schools).

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highland View Elementary School
9010 Providence Ave, Silver Spring, MD  20901
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (301) 650-6426
Last modified Highland View Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top