Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Silver Spring, MD
Students enrolled: 637

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jackson Road Elementary School 2

Posted November 20, 2014
- a parent
We've had some great teachers. Many have left. Principal is lacking. Parents & PTA are seen as obstacles to overcome. Bullying comes from the top.

Jackson Road Elementary School 1

Posted November 01, 2014
- a community member
The teachers are talented and committed but the principal is bringing the school down. She BULLIES the staff and students and makes the environment very toxic. She doesn't know instruction and forces teachers to do things that are developmentally INAPPROPRIATE. There is a very high turnover rate which is never good for a school and she has an OBVIOUS DISDAIN for the special education population, students and teachers alike. It amazes me that she still holds this position.


Jackson Road Elementary School 3

Posted September 22, 2010
- a parent
The faculty staff is caring and nurturing. Many talented, eager teachers who need a strong yet open leader. The principal (2008-10) does not seem interested in input from parents, students, community, etc. Teachers sometimes seem to have their hands tied when they try to innovate. The tiny PTA is drowned in words not action by the principal, but does not get support. Test scores are middling. Very frustrating. Lots of excuses about what CAN'T be done. It wouldn't be this way in Potomac, that's for sure. .. But children are happy and healthy there, nonetheless.

Jackson Road Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 24, 2009
- a parent
The principal is fantastic, I've had my kids enrolled in other states, where the principals didn't really care, but Mrs Macias is fantastic, I love her.

Jackson Road Elementary School 5

Posted January 30, 2009
- a parent
We send our daughter here and are very pleased with the teachers and the involvement of the parents. Extremely pleased.


Jackson Road Elementary School 4

Posted September 16, 2008
- a community member
I am a former JRES student and I am now attending White Oak Middle School.JRES is a awsome school teachers are very nice and love their students some teachers are just very mean but the overall school disipline is great i just graduated from Jres in 2008 and i loved it the teachers took extra time to make this very nice graduation!

Jackson Road Elementary School 4

Posted July 29, 2005
- a parent
2 of my children go to this school and we are very happy with it. Every teacher we have encountered has been top notch.

Jackson Road Elementary School 5

Posted April 12, 2005
- a parent
I have three students attending JRES. Each has different learning needs and each need is met by the wonderful staff at this school. The teachers, in particular, have a long tenure, low turn over, and a great love of children and teaching. They work exceedingly hard to meet curriculum needs, and to keep the program interesting for students in spite the the new emphasis on standardized testing. There is a strong art program and a good music program. The after school activities are varied, although we will miss the great gymnastic coaching of Jack Leonard, retiring after over 30 years as the dynamic athletic director.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jackson Road Elementary School
900 Jackson Rd, Silver Spring, MD  20904
(301) 989-5650
Last modified Jackson Road Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jackson Road Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top