Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kemp Mill Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Good teachers ,Bad administration office and secretary, the office need to be educated if they will have a roll in a elementary school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Wednesday, September 17, 2014

OPINO QUE LOS MAESTROS SON EXCELENTES, PERO SI QUE TENDRIAN QUE PONER A GENTE MAS CAPACITADA , PARA TRABAJAR EN LA ADMINISTRACION , SI A MI YA ME HA PASADO QUE LA RECEPCIONISTA ES MUY DESAGRADABLE ,NI PORQUE ES HISPANA NOS DEBERIA DE TRATAR MEJOR A LOS HISPANOS, PERO SIEMPRE RESPONDE DE MALA GANA Y SOLO CUANDO VE AL DIRECTOR CAMBIA EL SEMBLANTE DE SU CARA COMO QUE FUERA LA MAS BUENA Y AMABLE DEL MUNDO ,PURA HIPOCRECIA , Y EL DIRECTOR QUE NO SE PERCATA DE ESO TIENE QUE SER QUE SOLO LE IMPORTA GANARSE SU SUELDO ,PERO ES ASI COMO NOS TRATAN A LOS HISPANOS , COMO BASURA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

This is a great neighborhood school. It has a dual language program, so your child can learn Spanish. The principal, Floyd Starnes, is so warm and welcoming. The teachers are great - especially Barabara Schwartz, who does this very cool STEM program that Mr. Starnes initiated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2010

My daughter is a rising fourth-grader, and loves being at Kemp Mill. She is both bright and difficult to manage, but the staff have been up to the challenge of keeping her engaged. The principal is responsive to parent concerns and strongly believes that each child can be successful. I would like to see more parents involved; the PTA is very limited in the support it can provide to the school because only a handful of parents are active. Typically only a half-dozen or so parents attend the monthly PTA meetings. After-school programs typically supported by a PTA have been discontinued or never offered for lack of a parent willing to serve as program coordinator.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

I currently have a student at Kemp Mill and am extremely happy there. She has homework every night and her teacher is extraordinary! I, personally have found the Principal to be responsive to any concern I may have. He always has time to meet with me and discuss any concerns I may have. I have watched children move to accelerated classes during the year if not being challenged. The teachers are fantastic at identifying which students need extra help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Kemp Mill has declined over the past few years. The current principal does not support homework, the accelerated curriculum is not as advanced as other schools in the county (yes, I have compared with other schools in the county) and last school year, my child reported witnessing other students curse directly at the teachers repeatedly. If your child is bright, above average, and you live in this part of the county, then consider private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2005

KMES' location seems a really safe area because it is within a residential community. Its academic agenda seems well-planned because there is a variety of activities that enhance/expand classroom teachings like Math & Science Nights, Reading Programs, Health/Sports Events, and even multi-cultural programs, etc. Personally, our children have commendable classroom experiences. Homeroom teachers like Ms. Wilson, Ms. Anderson (she relocated last year), and Mr. Mahler have proven to be truly extraordinary with their patience and their belief in our (oldest) child's potential. They have been very positive motivators. Currently, there's Ms. Lambert, Ms. Keeney, Ms. Savage and Ms. Leon - all proving to be instrumental to our children's positive attitude towards learning and the academe. Other teachers we don't get to meet often have been supportive, too. Our kids enjoy PE with Mr. Augustin, music with Ms. Reese, etc. It's case-to-case like in anything else. So far, so good!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2004

My son will be entering second grade this upcoming school year (2004) He has attended KMES for both Kindergarten and First Grade. We are VERY happy at Kemp Mill. The teachers we have had the pleasure to work with have been exceptional. I can not say enough good things about Ms. Sullenger in Kindergarten! Both as a teacher and a person, just wonderful. My son had Anne Doane for First grade and he learned so much! He is above grade level for math and reading. The office staff is also wonderful and great for answering any questions. Ms. Evans and Mrs Priestley (Princ, VP) are both a constant and reassuring presences in the school. The parents who are involved with the school do a lot. It feels to be a very close environment. We are very happy at KMES!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 61% 12%
Black 25% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
White 6% 42%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

411 Sisson St
Silver Spring, MD 20902
Phone: (301) 649-8046

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St Andrew Apostle School
Silver Spring, MD



Arcola Elementary School
Silver Spring, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT