Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Silver Spring, MD
Students enrolled: 458

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kemp Mill Elementary School 1

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
Good teachers ,Bad administration office and secretary, the office need to be educated if they will have a roll in a elementary school

Kemp Mill Elementary School 1

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
OPINO QUE LOS MAESTROS SON EXCELENTES, PERO SI QUE TENDRIAN QUE PONER A GENTE MAS CAPACITADA , PARA TRABAJAR EN LA ADMINISTRACION , SI A MI YA ME HA PASADO QUE LA RECEPCIONISTA ES MUY DESAGRADABLE ,NI PORQUE ES HISPANA NOS DEBERIA DE TRATAR MEJOR A LOS HISPANOS, PERO SIEMPRE RESPONDE DE MALA GANA Y SOLO CUANDO VE AL DIRECTOR CAMBIA EL SEMBLANTE DE SU CARA COMO QUE FUERA LA MAS BUENA Y AMABLE DEL MUNDO ,PURA HIPOCRECIA , Y EL DIRECTOR QUE NO SE PERCATA DE ESO TIENE QUE SER QUE SOLO LE IMPORTA GANARSE SU SUELDO ,PERO ES ASI COMO NOS TRATAN A LOS HISPANOS , COMO BASURA
1 person found this helpful


Kemp Mill Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2013
- a parent
This is a great neighborhood school. It has a dual language program, so your child can learn Spanish. The principal, Floyd Starnes, is so warm and welcoming. The teachers are great - especially Barabara Schwartz, who does this very cool STEM program that Mr. Starnes initiated.

Kemp Mill Elementary School 4

Posted July 20, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is a rising fourth-grader, and loves being at Kemp Mill. She is both bright and difficult to manage, but the staff have been up to the challenge of keeping her engaged. The principal is responsive to parent concerns and strongly believes that each child can be successful. I would like to see more parents involved; the PTA is very limited in the support it can provide to the school because only a handful of parents are active. Typically only a half-dozen or so parents attend the monthly PTA meetings. After-school programs typically supported by a PTA have been discontinued or never offered for lack of a parent willing to serve as program coordinator.

Kemp Mill Elementary School 4

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
I currently have a student at Kemp Mill and am extremely happy there. She has homework every night and her teacher is extraordinary! I, personally have found the Principal to be responsive to any concern I may have. He always has time to meet with me and discuss any concerns I may have. I have watched children move to accelerated classes during the year if not being challenged. The teachers are fantastic at identifying which students need extra help.


Kemp Mill Elementary School 1

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
Kemp Mill has declined over the past few years. The current principal does not support homework, the accelerated curriculum is not as advanced as other schools in the county (yes, I have compared with other schools in the county) and last school year, my child reported witnessing other students curse directly at the teachers repeatedly. If your child is bright, above average, and you live in this part of the county, then consider private school.

Kemp Mill Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2005
- a parent
KMES' location seems a really safe area because it is within a residential community. Its academic agenda seems well-planned because there is a variety of activities that enhance/expand classroom teachings like Math & Science Nights, Reading Programs, Health/Sports Events, and even multi-cultural programs, etc. Personally, our children have commendable classroom experiences. Homeroom teachers like Ms. Wilson, Ms. Anderson (she relocated last year), and Mr. Mahler have proven to be truly extraordinary with their patience and their belief in our (oldest) child's potential. They have been very positive motivators. Currently, there's Ms. Lambert, Ms. Keeney, Ms. Savage and Ms. Leon - all proving to be instrumental to our children's positive attitude towards learning and the academe. Other teachers we don't get to meet often have been supportive, too. Our kids enjoy PE with Mr. Augustin, music with Ms. Reese, etc. It's case-to-case like in anything else. So far, so good!

Kemp Mill Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2004
- a parent
My son will be entering second grade this upcoming school year (2004) He has attended KMES for both Kindergarten and First Grade. We are VERY happy at Kemp Mill. The teachers we have had the pleasure to work with have been exceptional. I can not say enough good things about Ms. Sullenger in Kindergarten! Both as a teacher and a person, just wonderful. My son had Anne Doane for First grade and he learned so much! He is above grade level for math and reading. The office staff is also wonderful and great for answering any questions. Ms. Evans and Mrs Priestley (Princ, VP) are both a constant and reassuring presences in the school. The parents who are involved with the school do a lot. It feels to be a very close environment. We are very happy at KMES!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kemp Mill Elementary School
411 Sisson St, Silver Spring, MD  20902
(301) 649-8046
Last modified Kemp Mill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kemp Mill Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top