Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kemp Mill Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
This is our first year at KMES and our child has had a wonderful experience. She is reading at an advanced level and has really enjoyed the Dual Language program which is challenging and I am pleasantly surprised by how much she has learned in Spanish. The new administration has made some key advances in strengthening the Dual Language program and it seems like a strong plan for the years to come.

Kemp Mill Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
The dual language program is not as strong this year as I would have hoped, but the new principal is working very hard to revive it. The teachers remain very approachable and professional. My child has never had a bad teacher. My child has STEM, art, music and PE every week, unlike some other schools that only have a science lab every other week. I think it's a little silly to rate a school one star because you don't like the attendance secretary. It's better than that. Yes, it's Title 1 (which then means it gets funding to help the school and the classes are smaller). Yes, it has a high FARMS rate. Many of the students also come from families that speak languages other than English, and the teachers work hard to get them up to proficiency in English. How well would you test in a foreign language? Overall we are happy with KMES. Our child has needed both help and challenge and received both. This is a friendly, warm community school.


Kemp Mill Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
We have never had a bad teacher in this child's time at KMES (we have had more than one student in KMES). The teachers work very hard to get the very best out of each child.

Kemp Mill Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
One benefit of the population of this school is that children learn to have an appreciation of other cultures. I think this makes them more culturally sensitive as a whole and more accepting of people's differences.

Kemp Mill Elementary School 3

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
KMES has a turn over in administration. Some of the staff still is use to the old administrations way of dealing with issues. However, The new principal, Dr. Bernard, has slowly started to change that culture of the school. This is good news.


Kemp Mill Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
Kemp Mill has a warm, safe, and friendly atmosphere. The school also offers an unique dual language program so students can learn Spanish. There are many after school clubs and "specials" during the day such as STEM. For those that need it, the YMCA has affordable before and after care. There is new administration this year which so far seems to be very positive.

Kemp Mill Elementary School 1

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
Good teachers ,Bad administration office and secretary, the office need to be educated if they will have a roll in a elementary school

Kemp Mill Elementary School 1

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
OPINO QUE LOS MAESTROS SON EXCELENTES, PERO SI QUE TENDRIAN QUE PONER A GENTE MAS CAPACITADA , PARA TRABAJAR EN LA ADMINISTRACION , SI A MI YA ME HA PASADO QUE LA RECEPCIONISTA ES MUY DESAGRADABLE ,NI PORQUE ES HISPANA NOS DEBERIA DE TRATAR MEJOR A LOS HISPANOS, PERO SIEMPRE RESPONDE DE MALA GANA Y SOLO CUANDO VE AL DIRECTOR CAMBIA EL SEMBLANTE DE SU CARA COMO QUE FUERA LA MAS BUENA Y AMABLE DEL MUNDO ,PURA HIPOCRECIA , Y EL DIRECTOR QUE NO SE PERCATA DE ESO TIENE QUE SER QUE SOLO LE IMPORTA GANARSE SU SUELDO ,PERO ES ASI COMO NOS TRATAN A LOS HISPANOS , COMO BASURA


Kemp Mill Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2013
- a parent
This is a great neighborhood school. It has a dual language program, so your child can learn Spanish. The principal, Floyd Starnes, is so warm and welcoming. The teachers are great - especially Barabara Schwartz, who does this very cool STEM program that Mr. Starnes initiated.

Kemp Mill Elementary School 4

Posted July 20, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is a rising fourth-grader, and loves being at Kemp Mill. She is both bright and difficult to manage, but the staff have been up to the challenge of keeping her engaged. The principal is responsive to parent concerns and strongly believes that each child can be successful. I would like to see more parents involved; the PTA is very limited in the support it can provide to the school because only a handful of parents are active. Typically only a half-dozen or so parents attend the monthly PTA meetings. After-school programs typically supported by a PTA have been discontinued or never offered for lack of a parent willing to serve as program coordinator.

Nearby schools

Kemp Mill Elementary School
411 Sisson St, Silver Spring, MD  20902
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (301) 649-8046
Last modified Kemp Mill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top