Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Montgomery Blair High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted April 29, 2016
- a community member
There are some effective, kind teachers, but there are many who are just cruel. They seem to tolerate problem teachers for way too long.

Montgomery Blair High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted April 29, 2016
- a community member
Off the carts. Extreme. Insane. No teenager's brain should be put under the stress that this school creates.


Montgomery Blair High School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted April 29, 2016
- a community member
Some teachers are very good, but many other teachers are cruel and students learn to be cruel back. Some teachers mock their struggles.

Montgomery Blair High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted April 29, 2016
- a community member
This school is so cut-throat that the students learn that the ends justify the means. One teacher told students, "You don't need friends, you just need to study. When you are successful, you can buy friends."

Montgomery Blair High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted April 29, 2016
- a community member
Students must lie to survive at this school; they must share work, copy answers and so forth.


Montgomery Blair High School 2

Posted April 29, 2016
- a community member
This school is way too big, way too impersonal and unresponsive to student needs. I have found many teachers think grading work and entering on Ed-line is optional. The glorified magnet programs brutalize the students with massive amounts of homework that the administrators claim is an exaggeration; it is not. The principal is dynamic and competent, but the school is so big that she can't possibly exert the direct management that is needed to get many teachers to do their jobs.

Montgomery Blair High School 5

Posted May 02, 2014
- a parent
Montgomery Blair High School is outstanding. Highly experienced teaching staff, great principal, wide range of challenging course work.

Montgomery Blair High School 5

Posted April 04, 2014
- a community member
I am a current senior at MBHS and my experience at Blair is an unforgettable one! Blair is so diverse and you meet different people everyday. There are so many opportunities at Blair you just need to take advantage of it. Teachers are really good too, they always give u chances for help and you can come in if you don't understand something. Also, college planning help is really good as well, we have a career center, counselors, etc. Blair is a safe school and there is never a dull moment. We have days were people blast music and dance, we have kids to play guitar, sing, rap and people who Just chill in the library. BLAIR= DIVERSITY


Montgomery Blair High School 5

Posted August 09, 2013
- a student
My experience in the Science, Mathematics, and Computer Science Magnet Program was incredibly instrumental to my growth as a student and as a person. The teachers there inspired me to learn for the sake of learning - to be curious and ask questions. My math/science teachers from within the program and my AP teachers from outside the program were equally important in my education to be a student that thinks critically and communicates effectively.

Montgomery Blair High School 4

Posted June 25, 2013
- a community member
Montgomery Blair HS is one of the largest high schools in Montgomery Co. and it earned the reputation of being one of the best. It is known for the diversity of the student body and teachers. Many kids on my street attend this school, and their parents are quite pleased with their progress. The only possible negative I have to say is that many of the kids take public transportation to school, so they appear to "roam" the surrounding area after school hours and loitering results. The school is frequently mentioned as a winner in various contests and competitions, but perhaps a wider variety is needed to engage more of the students in extra-curricular activities...

Nearby schools

Montgomery Blair High School
51 University Blvd East, Silver Spring, MD  20901
(301) 649-2800
Last modified Montgomery Blair High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top