Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Montgomery Knolls Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 16, 2016
- a community member
Ms Greaney really was the best Kindergarten teacher we could have hoped for! She answered our class dojo messages at all hours. Helped our son go from not reading to reading at a 2nd grade level in one year and fostered just a great, caring, classroom environment

Montgomery Knolls Elementary School 5

Posted June 16, 2016
- a community member
We just finished our first year at MKES and we couldn’t be happier! The small class sizes (I think there were 16 kids in his kindergarten), earlier available drop off time (free breakfast!), individualized instruction (reading groups were broken down into groups of 4 kids so that instruction was really tailored to the level the groups were at) and diverse, supportive environment really has made a great impression on us When my son started kindergarten he wouldn't read a word of the books we read at night. By the end he could probably make it through James and the Giant Peach without help! And he loves it there! He is really sad he has to leave his school for the summer. His teacher (who was outstanding!) used an app called Class Dojo (not sure if every class uses it) that let us see how our child was doing (behaving) each week. More importantly, the app let us communicate via texts and get updates (both individual messages and ones broadcast to the whole class). That type of communication (reminders about homework, assemblies, or field trips) — or even just the quick notes we’d send at night about a misplaced lunchbox or jacket — were invaluable.


Montgomery Knolls Elementary School 5

Posted June 16, 2016
- a community member
This was (school year is over this coming monday) my daughter 1st year in school ever. (kindergarden) I have to say it's a wonderful school! I love that it's close to my workplace the office staff are so great! My daughters teacher, Mrs. Flood is so great and I love that I have a great communication with her. I would have loved to have gotten to know better Mr. G the principle; I've heard so many great things about him and I can see he is very engaged with the staff and the students but this is his last year as he will be retiring after 41 yrs in education. ..they all have made my daughter and I our very first school year at MKES wonderful! :)

Montgomery Knolls Elementary School 4

Posted April 17, 2015
- a parent
We currently have a 1st grader at MKES and our 3rd grade child also attended before moving to Pine Crest. The new principal, Mr. G, has really improved the tone of the school. As a parent, I get the impression the staff feel supported and he is a visible and positive presence in the school, helping kids come in the morning, helping at lunch/recess. The teachers our children have had have all been very professional and caring, many going above and beyond expectations. The high FARMS rate creates challenges but it also has kept class sizes low (15-17 in 1st grade) and we feel they try hard to differentiate learning within the classroom. Very active PTA and we've been very happy overall.

Montgomery Knolls Elementary School 5

Posted April 09, 2015
- a parent
We had an amazing experience at MKES. My daughter had a fantastic teacher who went, above and beyond, for her. Their resources are great, class sizes small, and kids seem happy and engaged.


Montgomery Knolls Elementary School 5

Posted June 12, 2012
- a teacher
This school is Silver Spring's best kept secret where children of every background and every ability flourish and reach full potential. Mrs. Collins is a very effective principal -- tough but very fair. She says what she means and means what she says. She sets the bar high for students and teachers and makes sure everyone is doing a great job. Congrats on your promotion and good luck in your future endeavors!

Montgomery Knolls Elementary School 2

Posted June 09, 2012
- a community member
Good teachers. Too bad the principal is so unpleasant and dishonest. I think she cares more for her lip gloss, clothing, and fancy car than the children. Her staff actually use the word "evil" to describe her. Ouch! Once she's gone, this school should have a chance to truly be great.

Montgomery Knolls Elementary School 5

Posted June 05, 2012
- a parent
Several of our children have attended this school, and we've been consistently impressed with the quality and dedication of the staff and teachers. Renovations were completed for 2011-12, and the new expanded facilities are very nice (new gym, more classrooms, new playground). Parents and PTA are very involved, and the administration has been open to new ideas and supportive. Student body is diverse, with a great mix of families from all over, making the annual "International Night" lots of fun. MKES runs K through 2nd grade, after which students move to nearby Pine Crest Elementary for 3rd through 5th. The school website is helpful for getting to know teachers and staff if you're new to the school. There will be a new principal for school year 2012-13, who I'm sure will continue to make MKES a great school.


Montgomery Knolls Elementary School 5

Posted June 21, 2010
- a parent
Our son just finished Kindergarten and we were very pleased with the school. His classroom teacher was excellent, so were the PE, Art and music teachers. The end of year musical concert was simply phenomenal. I strongly recommend this school to all.

Montgomery Knolls Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2009
- a parent
Nice lower elementary school with small class sizes, good academics and great PEP programme. I feel lucky that my son has been provided with lots of opportunity to experience classical and world music with field trips to Strathmore Hall as well as Grammy winning artists coming to the school and presenting all kinds of interesting instruments.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montgomery Knolls Elementary School
807 Daleview Dr, Silver Spring, MD  20901
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (301) 431-7667
Last modified Montgomery Knolls Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-2
Top