Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oakland Terrace Elementary School 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is in 2nd grade, so we were there for the last year of overcrowding and she was at the local Middle School for kindergarten. I was a bit nervous about the arrangement, but the principal handled it beautifully and did an amazing job to advocate for her students and get them what was needed. Now we are at or below capacity, have below average class sizes for the county, the teachers and principal are fabulous and the PTA is second to none. There are a large number of after school activities, so there is something for everyone. There is a very positive atmosphere with the focus being on positive reinforcement and encouragement rather than punishment. We lost two fifth grade classes due to reorganization and those two teachers opted to move to lower grades rather than leave this fabulous, supportive school. The principal also has an elementary school aged child in MCPS, so she looks at things with her "mom hat" on as well as her principal hat, so things are made clear and fair. She is no nonsense but garners the respect and the adoration of her teachers that work for her as well as her students. We really couldn't ask for a better neighborhood school!

Oakland Terrace Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2013
- a parent
What a reviewer said about the classes being taught to the middle range is simply not true. The students are pulled out for advanced math and reading. My son just graduated and will be in the Middle School Magnet program along with a record *10* other students from this school! Plus, he and 9 other kids got into the Highly Gifted program and only 2 went because they were sufficiently challenged at OTES! And the MSA are way, way, way above average for the country! Plus the school is very diverse. Really, what more could you want?


Oakland Terrace Elementary School 4

Posted August 09, 2013
- a parent
We moved to this area so we could have our children in a great school but still live in a moderately priced area. The principal is one of the most committed educators I've ever met and now that the school is a normal size and almost all the teachers are veterans, the school will be even better.

Oakland Terrace Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2012
- a community member
OTES lives up to its wonderful reputation. It is one of the best schools in the Downcounty Consortium. The PTA is active and the staff are great.

Oakland Terrace Elementary School 3

Posted August 24, 2011
- a community member
the school is a very good school the teachers are always doing thier best but the principle is horrible she is very races and rude to people that come in and to the parents that ask her questions.


Oakland Terrace Elementary School 2

Posted November 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Oakland Terrace Elementary School 5

Posted November 14, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Oakland Terrace Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
The school has an amazing principal. When the principal is on her level the entire staff performs better!


Oakland Terrace Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 28, 2009
- a community member
ITS GREAT! Good teachers, diverse students and staff, interesting classes and events.

Oakland Terrace Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Great staff and great ability to improvise with the limited space they have to produce year in year out terrific student results

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oakland Terrace Elementary School
2720 Plyers Mill Rd, Silver Spring, MD  20902
(301) 929-2161
Last modified Oakland Terrace Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Oakland Terrace Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top