Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Stonegate Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 442 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 3, 2014

My child has been in 3 different schools over the years, and Stonegate has by far been the best amazing experience for him. The principal is truly remarkable and cares so much about student and parent needs. She even personally called me during the school day once to say he earned a shark award for a personal accomplishment! The various team of teachers that work with my child from class teacher to specialists to special ed support know his strengths and needs to a tee. He has had the most success and positive experience at this school. After having experienced schools in other areas, I must say the professionalism, communication, environment and services here are top notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

The school is not responsive to the needs of students with learning issues. Staff is pleasant, but the quality of the education at this school is fair, especially for students who need interventions and special education services.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2014

Stonegate Elementary is a terrific elementary school. The principal and teachers really care about the students. MCPS teachers have been asked a lot with the implementation of Curriculum 2.0. Despite the changes, I still feel that my kids have gotten a great foundation to take to middle and high school. The Music and Art Programs are the best I have encountered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2013

I don't know what to say, I just love my daughter's school. The curriculum & teachers are outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2013

I'm consistently impressed with the teaching staff at Stonegate. The classes are engaged & interesting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

Stonegate Elementary is an excellent school. We have lived all over the country and this is by far the best school we have come across. The learning standards are high, the teachers and staff are very professional yet very nice, and there is an environment that fosters high self esteem, a passion for learning, and creative thinking. My first grader comes home passionately talking about the art of Henry Matisse, or singing songs from music class, or teaching his siblings games he learned in PE. He is excited to go to school every day. I would rate it as exceptional in all areas. This school is very well-rounded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

I went to this school my 4th and 5th grade year , graduated in 2008 , it's an okay school very average nothing special, but the field trips were very great


Posted February 22, 2012

excellent!!! My girl just love that school and she got more interested in reading. My daughter is very involve in the school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

Parent involvement has exceeded my expectation at this school. I've spoken to other parents at other schools and it seems that the parents at Stonegate are very involved. From the room parents to the PTA. The principal and assistant principal are great leaders. As with all schools, some of the teachers are clearly more dedicated than others. The PTA activities are great, but there could be more before and/or after school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2007

Stonegate truly is the place for all. My daughters love it here and have received an excellent education. They are performing well above their grade level, have many friends, and look forward to attending school everyday. The school motto emphasizes fairness and respect for all and the school's teachers, PTA and all involved work to uphold that principle. MCPS is one of the finest public school systems in the country.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2005

This elementary school is the main reason we chose our current neighborhood, and we could not be happier with our decision. Principal Martinez, who has headed the school for almost 10 years, sets a warmhearted, positive tone for the school. Teachers are generally good, and special ed services are very good, too. Parents are very involved in most aspects of the school. It's a terriifc environment for a kid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2004

Everything we had heard about Stonegate Elementary School's excellent reputation has come true. The school has a quality and very friendly staff. The teachers are excellent. My son's teacher has done more for his confidence in two months of Kindergarterten to spark his excitement for reading and math than we can describe. The principal is kind to the students and very responsive to individual needs. The PTA sponsors numerous educational and fun activities for the children and to build a sense of community. Parents are very involved and ever-present in the classrooms and organizing activities and events. We are pleased to be a part of the Stonegate school and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 35% 43%
Black 28% 36%
Asian 16% 6%
Hispanic 14% 12%
Two or more races 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14811 Notley Rd
Silver Spring, MD 20905
Phone: (301) 989-5668

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Cloverly Elementary School
Silver Spring, MD


Westover Elementary School
Silver Spring, MD



Barrie School
Silver Spring, MD


Faith Arts Academy
Silver Spring, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT