Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Silver Spring, MD
Students enrolled: 619
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Viers Mill Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
They focus more on getting along with the students than on instilling a good work ethic, and on emphasizing quality work.

Viers Mill Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
Some of the kids at this school steal items from other students, and other students at the school seem to be selfish and rude.


Viers Mill Elementary School 2

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
I am not too impressed with this school. The last two teachers that our child had here did not even give the students spelling tests, nor did they correct any spelling errors on the child's work. The teachers seem to get along well with the students, but they are leaving out vital lessons in their curriculums. The school apparently also only makes the children have PE classes ONCE a week, instead of each day like other schools have done. This has disastrous consequences on the physical health of the students, many of whom do not have a healthy body weight. This school has a lot of room to improve.

Viers Mill Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted August 03, 2015
- a parent
Teachers support effort not just outcomes. They encourage students to do the best they can and meet each student at their own level

Viers Mill Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 03, 2015
- a parent
The school supports special education students and houses special education preschool classes. This installs compassion for those who may be different


Viers Mill Elementary School 5

Posted August 03, 2015
- a parent
The whole staff is extremely supportive. Student learning and character building are top priorities. My children love school and have tested above grade level in academics.

Viers Mill Elementary School 5

Posted November 25, 2013
- a parent
It is a great school my son is in Kindergarten and he is enjoying it.

Viers Mill Elementary School 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
This school has the most nuturing environment. I feel safe sending my child there. She has shown tremendous growth. The special education team works hard with my child and I am pleased with the results.


Viers Mill Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2013
- a parent
Since Viers Mill is a Title One school, there are many benefits including class sizes of around 15 students and teachers with masters degrees. There are also a ton of free events for family and student involvement. The school has just been renovated and has a two new playgrounds and a new ball field. We love how family oriented the school and think it is a true gem.

Viers Mill Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
I was very much on the fence about Viers Mill before my son was ready for Kindergarden. I am so impressed by the teachers dedication to the students & their willingness to go over & beyond. I love how they work together as a team as well as always being available to parents. The leadership is amazing as well & you can tell they really care about the students & having them do their best.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Viers Mill Elementary School
11711 Joseph Mill Rd, Silver Spring, MD  20906
(301) 929-2165
Last modified Viers Mill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Viers Mill Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top