Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Viers Mill Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
They focus more on getting along with the students than on instilling a good work ethic, and on emphasizing quality work.

Viers Mill Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
Some of the kids at this school steal items from other students, and other students at the school seem to be selfish and rude.


Viers Mill Elementary School 2

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
I am not too impressed with this school. The last two teachers that our child had here did not even give the students spelling tests, nor did they correct any spelling errors on the child's work. The teachers seem to get along well with the students, but they are leaving out vital lessons in their curriculums. The school apparently also only makes the children have PE classes ONCE a week, instead of each day like other schools have done. This has disastrous consequences on the physical health of the students, many of whom do not have a healthy body weight. This school has a lot of room to improve.

Viers Mill Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted August 03, 2015
- a parent
Teachers support effort not just outcomes. They encourage students to do the best they can and meet each student at their own level

Viers Mill Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 03, 2015
- a parent
The school supports special education students and houses special education preschool classes. This installs compassion for those who may be different


Viers Mill Elementary School 5

Posted August 03, 2015
- a parent
The whole staff is extremely supportive. Student learning and character building are top priorities. My children love school and have tested above grade level in academics.

Viers Mill Elementary School 5

Posted November 25, 2013
- a parent
It is a great school my son is in Kindergarten and he is enjoying it.

Viers Mill Elementary School 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
This school has the most nuturing environment. I feel safe sending my child there. She has shown tremendous growth. The special education team works hard with my child and I am pleased with the results.


Viers Mill Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2013
- a parent
Since Viers Mill is a Title One school, there are many benefits including class sizes of around 15 students and teachers with masters degrees. There are also a ton of free events for family and student involvement. The school has just been renovated and has a two new playgrounds and a new ball field. We love how family oriented the school and think it is a true gem.

Viers Mill Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
I was very much on the fence about Viers Mill before my son was ready for Kindergarden. I am so impressed by the teachers dedication to the students & their willingness to go over & beyond. I love how they work together as a team as well as always being available to parents. The leadership is amazing as well & you can tell they really care about the students & having them do their best.

Nearby schools

Viers Mill Elementary School
11711 Joseph Mill Rd, Silver Spring, MD  20906
(301) 929-2165
Last modified Viers Mill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top