Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Weller Road Elementary School 5

Posted July 20, 2016
- a teacher
Weller Road is no doubt a challenging place to work. This is how any meaningful workplace should be. The primary focus is clearly about students and their success and that means holding us accountable as teachers. I've seen teachers come and go, but it has always been clear why they've left - they were not meeting the high expectations that are in place. Yes - it's a lot of work, but I wouldn't expect it to be easy. Our profession is not about easy, it's about making an impact. Weller is a place for people who are about the work.

Weller Road Elementary School 1

Posted June 27, 2016
- a teacher
This administration at this school has created a climate of anxiety and fear with a "gotcha" attitude that makes very few teachers stay past the required two years. The kids and families are wonderful, but until a new administration takes over, they will never get the consistency they need.


Weller Road Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2015
- a teacher
My experience working at Weller Road has been exceptional! I've grown as a teacher and professional with the support of everyone at the school, especially Principal Simmons. There are high expectations for staff and students, emphasis on data-driven instruction, and shared leadership. Student success clearly drives the way the school functions.

Weller Road Elementary School 1

Posted May 30, 2015
- a teacher
How is the administration of this school not under investigation by MCPS. There is obviously something not right here. This place is a revolving door for teachers. Each year, atleast a dozen teachers leave and are replaced by teachers new to the county or new to teaching--who haven’t heard (been warned) to stay clear of this school. Please don’t take this lightly because I cannot warn you enough, don’t apply here! If you don’t trust this posting just ask teachers who have taught in MCPS, they’ll tell you.

Weller Road Elementary School 5

Posted October 21, 2014
- a parent
Weller Road Elementray is a wonderful school. I have had 3 of my children go to this school. The teachers are amazing and always have the children's best interest at heart. Even the crossing guards are great. We have been to many school functions and the school is evolving into a great neighborhood school. Which means the neighborhood is getting stronger and creating relationships for both the children and parents.


Weller Road Elementary School 4

Posted May 26, 2014
- a parent
The school building was brand new for the 2013-14 school year - wonderful facilities, and a safe school. The principal and staff are helpful, effective, and responsive. The test scores for this school have to be taken with a grain of salt - in most of the households in this neighborhood, english is a second language. There's a strong community outreach, though, and parent participation the likes of which you probably can't find anywhere else. The school regularly hosts activities and seminars for parents to encourage learning outside the classroom - always very well attended. You can certainly find some unevenness in the quality of the faculty, but overall, we've been pleased. Students are often grouped according to ability for a portion of the school week, so the teachers aren't always teaching to the struggling students. This school (as all MoCo schools) uses Curriculum 2.0. We think this approach to teaching and evaluation has it's flaws - and we'd rather see a more traditional approach applied in the early years - but the emphasis on reading and math is still central, and the teachers are dedicated to making it work.

Weller Road Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2014
- a parent
They always put students first and are all extremely committed! Learning is clearly their number one priority.

Weller Road Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
For my overall experience, I'll have to say Weller Road E.S. is a school you would want to send your children to. I have two boys that are attending and they love going to school whenever I would have a problem of any matter that would be affecting there concentration I would call the office and they would help me out with what my concerns and what action would be taken in . When we moved and we told our sons that they would no longer be attending Weller road they felt out of place sad and depress at the new school towards also the whole waitmg period until we decide that they had to be return to where they felt like home secure and safe and full of joy and happiness ! Now my third son is excited bc he might attend next school year . Also they have workshops for parents which is good and if you don't know English which helps us as a parent understand our kids and help them with their homework assignment which is what any parent would want. "Congrats Weller road for an outstanding school an a new school for any parent to send there child/ children too!!!!! No complaints about the staff or anyone else !!!!! :)


Weller Road Elementary School 2

Posted August 18, 2012
- a teacher
The administration is abusive to staff, which makes for an extremely high staff turnover rate. Few teachers are there longer than the required 2 years, and several quit mid-year. It is unfortunate because the kids are great...

Weller Road Elementary School 1

Posted July 12, 2012
- a parent
Horrible school! My daughter went here for Kindergarten last year, and hated school. The teachers seem fine, but overall, there is a very stressful feeling at this school, and it seems that they only care about reading levels. My daughter reads at a very age-appropriate level, and she used to love reading, but she came home sometimes, crying about not being able to read better. Now she doesn't even want to read! So sad that Kindergarteners are not enjoying learning. Will it be a downward slope from here on for these poor children?

Nearby schools

Weller Road Elementary School
3301 Weller Rd, Silver Spring, MD  20814
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (301) 929-2010
Last modified Weller Road Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top