Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodlin Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 20, 2013

Woodlin is a dynamic neighborhood school where the talents and importance of ALL students are highly respected. The teachers show a strong commitment to excellence and place high priority on ensuring our kids receive the best educational experience as possible. Our PTA strives to share knowledge across families and to support creative educational activities through after school clubs and other enrichment efforts. We are very proud of our school and committed to maintaining its sense of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

After we move for a year now, I getting more and more strong feeling about how great this elementary was...great teacher great principal great community will move back if possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2013

I started Woodlin Elementary as a Kindergartener 25 years ago... Crazy I can say that. I am now a Kindergarten teacher with a 1 year old and when we looked to settle into a neighborhood, my experience at Woodlin was the criteria I set. I don't want to her attend one of these new mega plex schools, we want a nice neighborhood school with nice teachers and a great feel. Let's go Woodlin Wizards are great.... (sure do remember the school song! and so do my friends!)


Posted May 14, 2013

I am glad I pulled my child out. This school is for the elite who are friends with the teachers. Some teachers are excellent; others not so much. The principal always sides with teachers and does not seriously responds to parents complaints. My child is happily in another cluster where parents concerns are treated with respect. If your child is not from a middle class home and advanced, don't send him to Woodlin. It will kill their self-esteem. Don't be fooled by the ratings or the glowing raves about the principal. Look at the schools scores that had a dip in 2012. I pulled my child out just in time. He went from low proficient to advanced in one year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2010

Our experience during eight years at Woodlin has been fabulous. Exceptional administrative staff, who understand and adore the kids as well as being excellent "administrators", teachers who motivate and make school fun, and incredible parent involvement make for very happy and successful students. One of our children was accepted to a magnet program and did not go. We have no regrets with that decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

woodlin is a warm and welcoming school. my son is excited to go to school everyday, there is always something to look forward to and the staff keeps the children motivated with all the special eccentives and programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

The teachers, administrators, staff and volunteers are the best! I have never had a question unanswered, my son has made more progress this year than I could have hoped, and everybody really cares about the students and their families. Outstanding school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Woodlin is a wonderful, supportive environment for kids to learn and grow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Woodlin ES is a cheery place, where kids, teachers and administrators all seem to be at their best and happy to be doing what tehy're doing. The sense of community is very strong. We feel so lucky to have Woodlin on our street and part of our lives!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Woodlin has been a warm, supportive place for my daughter to begin her school career.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Woodlin provides an environment where parents can be deeply involved in their child's education. The school gives us an opportuntiy to show our children how the world connects with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2010

The teachers are so involved and caring. So many parents are active and involved. We have a young, dynamic principal and an active vice principal and experienced office staff that keep everything running smoothly. It has been a wonderful place for both my sons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2010

I love the dedicated teachers and administration along with the very active parents and PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

I have a special needs child that attends Woodlin; he is in his second year attending.(grade 5) I must say that....our experience has been a great one! I adore his teacher and the rest of the teaching body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

Woodlin E.S. is a wonderful school w/ a dynamic and creative principal and excellent teachers (though of course, there are exceptions as there are in any school). The student body is mixed both racially and ethnically, and is truly integrated -- your children will be friends with children from all different cultures and backgrounds, and it works very well. Our youngest, 3rd at Woodlin, is entering 4th grade there and has been very happy at the school, happy enough that we decided to keep her there rather than moving her to the gifted/talented separate school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2008

I am the parent of a kindergarten girl. Thus far, I am pleased with the teacher, the leadership in the front office. As a parent I feel welcome and am eager to partner with tthe school and other paretns to give all the children the best school experience possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

Wonderful school, small class sizes, after school clubs, very active PTA. Diverse and high achieving. Excellent conflict resolution and behavior management.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2008

We have a K and 1st grader at Woodlin and have been very, very pleased with the education our kids have received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

My daughter is in Kindergarten at Woodlin and and is really thriving! By mid-year she has gone from reading simple words to sounding out entire books. She also has made tremendous gains in math and can add and substract on a much higher level than I thought she was capable of. Most important, she absolutely loves it and her teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2005

Woodlin Elementary is one of the best schools in this area, which is saying a lot. The academic programs are excellent, with advanced placement math, special reading programs, etc. Music programs are excellent, with most students participating. There are many after-school programs. The PTA is very active, and there is a great deal of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 42%
Black 27% 35%
Hispanic 18% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2101 Luzerne Ave
Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone: (301) 650-6440

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Calvary Lutheran School
Silver Spring, MD





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT