Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Skyline Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 24, 2014

Reading these reviews, I notice that one of Skyline's own had negative things to say about the school and the administration staff. I have 2 children, a niece and a nephew that attends Skyline. This is an Awesome School. The teachers are wonderful but you have to remember you always have that one. One thing that I love about this school is, the Principal has alot of incentives for the students. As a parent I never witnessed any of the negative things that the teacher is speaking about. While my children were attending Skyline they had the BEST experience. Ms. Matthews (who works in the main office) was ALWAYS very help and PROFESSIONAL. She ALWAYS went out of her way to help parents and the students seem to love her. The other office staff has not always been professional but Ms. Matthews makes up for that. So please do not allow any of these reviews determine your childrens future. Please go visit and see the school for yourself. Also, I must say for them to speak about her son who is very respectful, (and I know this because he attended Skyline) makes their issue personal and should not have been put on here. AWESOME SCHOOL AWESOME PRINCIPAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

Skyline Elementary has a superb, dedicated staff everyone is approachable, resourceful and willing to assist and help anyway possible. The teachers want to work with the parents for the greater good of educating you child/ren. No disability is too much for this school to handle, Skyline is equipped with all including staff to handle special needs and the children in the entire building respect each other and to assist if possible. Principle Deniston is attentive to staff, parents and all children in his building. This school has a lot to offer with the limited resources afforded. I love this school so much I won't move out of the area until my 1st grader has completed the entire elementary level here first. I have other children that have completed elementary at Skyline and truly they were well groomed for the road of success. It's a shame that school under the direction of Mr. Deniston does not go up to the Middle school to ensure and guarantee each child a life a total achievement. I pray this school wins $5000. towards this school in the name of education will assist with all that is needed and required.,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2014

Skyline and the school administration used to be one of the best out there but in the past 3 years there as been a tremendous decline. Students are allowed to fight and be bullied with no consequences. As a teacher there it breaks my heart because this was once an awesome place but the quality of education has gone down. Over the past three years awesome teachers have left and at the end of this year several more will be leaving. Administration is good at putting on a front but at the end of the day he cares about no one but himself. The office staff are some of the most unprofessional individuals you have ever seen. The gossiping, ghetto behavior and language used in front of staff and parents is unbelievable. The school custodian blares loud profanity laced music over the loud speaker after hours and throws trash all over the school property just to spite everyone. Several complaints have been filed with Dennison but he always acts like he is so afraid of confrontation. His personal secretary is one of the worse but nothing can be said or done about her because they are personal friends and her son is his godson so go figure. Garbage school that will never be the same.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 27, 2014

Mr. Denison & The Entire Educational Staff of SKYLINE ELEMENTARY, are the absolute BEST! Principle Denison, is running an AWESOME program. I had 2 children attending Skyline. My oldest was transferred to Skyline after her primary school FAILED . This was a blessing; as the previous school "Andrew Jackson Academy" was full of not only a FAILING PROGRAM, but also BULLIES! & STAFF THAT ONLY CARED ABOUT A PAYCHECK - NOT WETHER THEIR TEACHING SKILLS AND LESSONS WERE EFFECTIVE. Skyline's staff rebuilt confidence and esteem in the children that entered the doors from the previous situation. My youngest is now attending and has been since Kindergarten and I can say there is not another place I would loved for him to be. Inside this building, EDUCATION is key! The Administrative Staff as well as the Principle and the Teachers are all Approachable and are willing to assist, answer questions whenever. I will continue to support this school and it's staff even after my youngest moves on..... Thank you Skyline and ALL Staff for assisting me in raising 2 well rounded EDUCATED children, and continuing to enforce what I instill in them both everyday. Thank you for being part of my VILLIAGE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

Skyline, under the Direction of Principle Denison, is a Sincere Educational Environment. All of the Staff care about Education as well as EACH and EVERY CHILD within the building. Parents are consistently informed. Parents and Staff work together for the same common goal. EXCELLENCE! There are NO Excuses!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2011

I only have great things to say about Skyline Elementary. The principal knows every student by name and is very involved. My son is in the Autism program and everyone from the Principal to the cafeteria staff is trained to some degree on how to work with autistic children. My son has attended Skyline for four years now and has made tremendous strides. His teachers and paraprofessionals go above and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2011

I agree with the previous poster. Skyline is a school on the decline and it starts from the top. I recently had a child in that school and had to remove him because of the rampant discord and lack of accountability. My son was harassed regularly and the offender was neither disciplined nor suspended. I don't know if "points" are received for good behavior, but that school is apparently filled with angels. They do not teach what normal elementary schools should teach. They are focused on "teaching to the tests (standardized)" and therefore many of the kids don't even know what the Dewey Decimal System is. The faculty seem to be capable enough, so I lay the blame squarely on the leadership and their focus on looking good instead of being about any substance. Besides that, there are obvious unprofessional relationships that propagate throughout the school that are not even hidden away for appearance sake. To close this school down would be doing everyone a big favor.


Posted June 19, 2010

From what I have witnessed, and been told by parents, teachers, former, and present students, Skyline E.S. has many problems. I live within the vacinity of the achool, and I have witnessed unruly dismissal, school vandalizm, student fights, on school playground discord, etc. I have spoken to some parents who have students at the school who also have expressed student-student, student- teacher, parent-teacher, and leadership discord. I had two students in Skyline, and have withdrawn them both for a better educational environment. It perhaps was a good school at one time(?) but recently there has been a rapid decline in school safety, student discipline, and overall educational professionalism from teachers as well as leadership.


Posted March 24, 2010

Skyline is a very unique elementary school with outstanding staff. It takes a great leader to acquire such success. My experience as a teacher with Skyline Elementary had been one of my best experience teaching in a classroom. It is not just being a teacher that warrant this review, it is working with great leadership and such a wonderful and support team of teachers. When I returned to Maryland in 2007 Skyline Elementary was to be my first stop....and it was. I wasn't looking for anything different from what I have known the school reputation to be..I merely was looking to visit what I knew then and what I know now 'A Legacy to be remembered'. I found a dedicated principal and his faculty..an environment that reminds me of my home away from home, warm, conducive to learning and just a good spirit. Mr. Dennison is the best!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 15, 2008

We had one daughter go through Skyline under a previous principal and we currently have another daughter under Mr Dennison. The difference is quite distinct. There are more activities for the students; More parental involvement; More discipline and order in the classrooms and hallways, and the students' MSA scores are improving each year. Mr Dennison provides many incentives and rewards for learning. The Autism Program at the school is growing and becoming recognized throughout the county. Our daughter truly enjoys her learning and social experience at Skyline Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2008

Skyline Elementary is the best school I have ever taught at. Mr. Dennison has some of the most professional and well trained faculty I have ever seen. The faculty there all have a sincere love for the children and are always coming up with different strategies to reach the students and encourage them to reach for the stars. I don't think I could have asked for a better boss or a better team of teachers to work with. We are now at the end of the school year I am already looking forward to the many wonderful things that will happen at Skyline in the fall.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 1, 2008

It is the top of the line in educating our young children. The principal as well as the whole staff create a family loving atmosphere for all of the students. I would rate this school from 0 - 10 at a 12++ because they are so on point about our children learning and they utilize all types of learning tools including keeping the parents involved with their children. I also love the small classroom sitting that make it possible for all students to get one on one attention from their teachers. Again kudos to the Principal and all of his professional staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 90% 35%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Two or more races 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
White 0% 42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6311 Randolph Rd
Suitland, MD 20746
Phone: (301) 817-0535

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Andrew Jackson Academy
Forestville, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT