Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Suitland, MD
Students enrolled: 387
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


William Beanes Elementary School 5

Posted July 28, 2014
- a parent
William Beanes has high expectations for the students and staff. The school has a new principal and this has made a big difference. The teachers and principal share the schools data and ways the parents, teachers and studetns can Improve. This helps my children to be proud of themselves and work hard to be smarter.

William Beanes Elementary School 5

Posted July 28, 2014
- a parent
The school has made great improvements. I have four kids. Two have attended the school and two are still there. The new principal is awesome and she really cares about the students. The school has many updates to the classrooms. The new principal has lots of programs in place and is no non-sense with parents. She makes sure we are doing what we are supposed to do to help our kids. She looks out for parents by providing training, newletters, personal phone calls with good news and ways we can help our children improve. I would like to see more parents attend the PTA meeting.


William Beanes Elementary School 1

Posted August 05, 2013
- a community member
my current school is longfields elementary and im glad to be there because i absoulutley hated william beanes because i felt like i was bing rushed and i felt like the teacher werent taking time to sit down with the students and discuss the lesson so they understand. the testing and academic scores arent that great either.

William Beanes Elementary School 5

Posted November 20, 2012
- a community member
Willism beanes is a grreat skool iff u pay attention in class and if you do the right thing you will learn but if you play and dont do the right thing you will never learn wat i have to say is that william beanes is good you just have to do what they ask you do homewoork pay attention in class do ur workk and posittive behavior :)

William Beanes Elementary School 1

Posted August 23, 2010
- a parent
In 2009 when I moved to Morningside, MD, my child was transferred to William Beanes. Unfortunately, this school was a nightmare for my child. The principal and vice principal are never available until you threaten to call the school board. The teachers were willing to meet with me to discuss my child's academic progress, even went so far as to develop a plan of correction and then never followed through. No afterschool programs, no tutoring, counseling department was a joke. I was not surprised to find that they did not do well on the MSA testing, because the teachers never took the time to give extra attention to students who were struggling. I am awaiting word of a transfer and whether the Title I department gives me a transfer - I will not be sending my child back to William Beanes.


William Beanes Elementary School 1

Posted July 21, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

William Beanes Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 12, 2008
- a parent
Unfortunately, I have to agree with Great Schools rating, if you consider only cold numbers or data. William Beane does not meet the MD state or national testing standards. However, GS's comparison fails to consider or even mention that William Beane is located in a community soaked in the subculture of poverty and crime. The children attending William Beane (living in this communcity) experience generational illiteracy, poverty, and violence. Don't you think its hard to concentrate on school work when you don't know if your furniture and all you own will be sitting on the curb rumaged through, because your family was served and eviction notice this morning? I say all this to convey, these babies are living in terrible conditions that are beyond their control. I could go on and on...but I won't. I just want you to consider all the dynamics in play when analyzing information. TD MD

William Beanes Elementary School 5

Posted August 02, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

William Beanes Elementary School
5108 Dianna Dr, Suitland, MD  20746
(301) 817-0533
Last modified William Beanes Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
William Beanes Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top