Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Benjamin Foulois Creative and Performing Arts Academy

Public | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2014

This school is TOP NOTCH! The teachers are amazing and go above and beyond to help the kids succeed. This is my daughter's first year here and she has excelled beyond my wildest expectations! The extra classes (drama, music, choir, art, and dance) have brought out things in my daughter that I never knew existed. She is only in 3rd grade but has decided on becoming a "dance major" and is looking forward to getting back to school next year! I wish everyone's child could attend a school as AMAZING as this one!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2014

My daughter auditioned for BFCPAA and was put on a waiting list because there were only 4 slots available for the entire 7th grade. That is extremely hard on a child who is so gifted and talented in so many areas (4.0 GPA, dance, piano, violin, drawing, drama) to be told that you're (basically) not accepted here. I'm afraid that if she attends a regular school, her bright "talented" light will dimmer. I think the pg school system should make more spaces available for the kids entering 7th grade because of the amount of elementary schools in our area. There were approximately 80 kids auditioning for 4 slots; a lot of our children didn't have a chance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2012

I love this school, my son transferred from Thomas Pullen which was not a bad school either. I can't wait until my youngest son starts going.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2012

My son is in 5th grade. This is his 3rd year at BFCPAA and it is an EXCELLENT school! They offer a variety of performing arts classes/majors. The principal is a great principal. The work is academically challenging and they make SURE the kids are prepared for the MSA's and the next grade level. Also, the staff members are very professional, which is a hard to find these days. The only downfall...lack of foreign language. I wish they offered different foreign languages on a regular basis. Right now, they only offer Spanish on a quarterly basis. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2010

This will be the 2nd year as a Creative & Performing Art school. Last year, was my daughter's first year attending, she was in 5th grade. She was on the honor roll all year, but she made a comment to me that her work did not challenge her enough. I will evaluate this year and see how she progresses. Overall the staff & students are good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

It was a rough beginning when school first open but is becoming much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2009

The school has great activities. The Renaissance Program and drama program. Cheerleading and modeling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2009

BFES is 2 schools in one. CSEP and General Ed. BFES is in a remodeling phase and soon you will see a great demand for people who want their children to attend. It is sure to be one of the better schools in PG. Currently there are issues but there are some great staff members and a strong push for excellence.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 10, 2007

My child has been attending BFES since Kindergarten in 2003. She is now in the 5th grade and doing quite well I must say. She is an honor roll student and has always been one. Parent's we can't keep putting the blame on others such as the Principal and Teachers because, yes the classrooms are over crowded and there is a shortage of Teacher's but that never stopped my child from getting what she came to school for and that's an education. When I find that there is a problem I get involved instead of complaining. Remember it's not what the school has to offer, it's what your child want out of it. Last but not least remember Teachers are under paid and over worked. Let's petition about that so that we could see some changes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2006

My daughter has been a student at BFTA since Kindergarten. She is now in 2nd grade and is miserable. There is only one 2nd grade class with more than 30 students, one teacher, and ocassional assistance from other edudators in the school. I have tried unsucessfully on 2 ocassions this year to have my daughter transferred out of this school. All I have gotten from the school board are promises, and all I have gotten from the principal is a defensive attitude. The principal told my husband and I that we should be lucky that the school board did not take more teachers away from BFTA! Since the last principal, Dr. Robinson left, the school has deteriorated on every level. Unfortunately, I do not have the resources to put her in private school, or I certainly would! I am doing my best to get her through the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (301) 817-0941

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4601 Beauford Rd
Suitland, MD 20746
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 817-0300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT