Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public
Suitland, MD
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Benjamin Foulois Creative and Performing Arts Academy 5

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
This school is TOP NOTCH! The teachers are amazing and go above and beyond to help the kids succeed. This is my daughter's first year here and she has excelled beyond my wildest expectations! The extra classes (drama, music, choir, art, and dance) have brought out things in my daughter that I never knew existed. She is only in 3rd grade but has decided on becoming a "dance major" and is looking forward to getting back to school next year! I wish everyone's child could attend a school as AMAZING as this one!!!

Benjamin Foulois Creative and Performing Arts Academy 3

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
My daughter auditioned for BFCPAA and was put on a waiting list because there were only 4 slots available for the entire 7th grade. That is extremely hard on a child who is so gifted and talented in so many areas (4.0 GPA, dance, piano, violin, drawing, drama) to be told that you're (basically) not accepted here. I'm afraid that if she attends a regular school, her bright "talented" light will dimmer. I think the pg school system should make more spaces available for the kids entering 7th grade because of the amount of elementary schools in our area. There were approximately 80 kids auditioning for 4 slots; a lot of our children didn't have a chance.


Benjamin Foulois Creative and Performing Arts Academy 5

Posted April 16, 2012
- a parent
I love this school, my son transferred from Thomas Pullen which was not a bad school either. I can't wait until my youngest son starts going.

Benjamin Foulois Creative and Performing Arts Academy 5

Posted March 08, 2012
- a parent
My son is in 5th grade. This is his 3rd year at BFCPAA and it is an EXCELLENT school! They offer a variety of performing arts classes/majors. The principal is a great principal. The work is academically challenging and they make SURE the kids are prepared for the MSA's and the next grade level. Also, the staff members are very professional, which is a hard to find these days. The only downfall...lack of foreign language. I wish they offered different foreign languages on a regular basis. Right now, they only offer Spanish on a quarterly basis. I highly recommend this school!

Benjamin Foulois Creative and Performing Arts Academy 3

Posted August 20, 2010
- a parent
This will be the 2nd year as a Creative & Performing Art school. Last year, was my daughter's first year attending, she was in 5th grade. She was on the honor roll all year, but she made a comment to me that her work did not challenge her enough. I will evaluate this year and see how she progresses. Overall the staff & students are good.


Benjamin Foulois Creative and Performing Arts Academy 3

Posted March 31, 2010
- a parent
It was a rough beginning when school first open but is becoming much better.

Benjamin Foulois Creative and Performing Arts Academy 4

Posted April 20, 2009
- a parent
The school has great activities. The Renaissance Program and drama program. Cheerleading and modeling.

Benjamin Foulois Creative and Performing Arts Academy 0
no rating

Posted February 13, 2009
- a teacher
BFES is 2 schools in one. CSEP and General Ed. BFES is in a remodeling phase and soon you will see a great demand for people who want their children to attend. It is sure to be one of the better schools in PG. Currently there are issues but there are some great staff members and a strong push for excellence.


Benjamin Foulois Creative and Performing Arts Academy 4

Posted September 09, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Benjamin Foulois Creative and Performing Arts Academy 5

Posted November 10, 2007
- a parent
My child has been attending BFES since Kindergarten in 2003. She is now in the 5th grade and doing quite well I must say. She is an honor roll student and has always been one. Parent's we can't keep putting the blame on others such as the Principal and Teachers because, yes the classrooms are over crowded and there is a shortage of Teacher's but that never stopped my child from getting what she came to school for and that's an education. When I find that there is a problem I get involved instead of complaining. Remember it's not what the school has to offer, it's what your child want out of it. Last but not least remember Teachers are under paid and over worked. Let's petition about that so that we could see some changes!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Benjamin Foulois Creative and Performing Arts Academy
4601 Beauford Rd, Suitland, MD  20746
(301) 817-0300
Last modified Benjamin Foulois Creative and Performing Arts Academy is a Public school that serves grades K-8
Benjamin Foulois Creative and Performing Arts Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top