Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

From the Heart Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 235 students

We are best known for Academic&Christian excellence.

 
 

Living in Suitland

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $46,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,170.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

555 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 13, 2013

This school is God's plan to provide HIS best for our children. I have been a parent in this school for over twenty years supporting three children through their educational journey and I can testify that all of my children have received a top rate education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2012

THERE IS "NONE LIKE US" -- no FTH is not perfect, but we LOVE GOD! My son started K3 is now in 5th grade. Heis on the "A" Honor Roll every semester! He has a "STRONG" academic foundation, that is going to carry him a long way; more so than any sport, can, and he loves sports. That is why he played community sports. If you feel your child should be a SPORTS STAR and NOT EXCEL ACADEMICALLY, I feel sorry for you and your child. And all thy children shall be taught of the LORD; and great shall be the peace of thy children (ISAIAH 53:3) Sports should be secondary to your child's relationship w/God, well-being, and academics! Take more pride in your child then to make him/her sports robot, subjecting them to ills of this world. I pray GOD will change the hearts and minds of those parents who would prefer their child be a "sports enthusiatic" and not academically sound. Yes, many have left for that reason, but you know I see many returning to the School's Open House! BTW, FTH now has basketball, flag football, soccer, and cheerleading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2011

My children attended FTHCS and at that time the school was full with approx 400 or more students. I and others pulled our children out for many different reasons --- read the early reviews. The enrollment went down to approx 100 or so children. I am not saying this is a bad school, but there were issues. Not sure what the school is like today, but you got to investigate and ask questions and if for any reason the answers are not be shared with you --- take a hint and move on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2010

I think this is a great school with a great mission. To teach Christian children about the Lord and his word. They also give a all around education so that the students will be productive members of society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2010

The children receive the highest quality education.


Posted November 14, 2010

FTH School is a disciplined learning environment that incorporates high moral standards and great teachers who are godly role models for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

The word of God is taught to children.


Posted November 12, 2010

I love everything about this school. It is totally "awesome"


Posted November 12, 2010

I love From The Heart Christian School because they teach the word of God uncompromisingly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

The children of FTHCM are WELL taught. Education, Excellence, Intergrity and Excellence in Character & Conduct is taught & stressed. The Chidren of FTHCM are taught the Word of God at a level that they can understand and apply the Word...they are taught to LIVE the Word. They are taught to Love & Obey God's Word.


Posted November 12, 2010

The Christ-Centered atmosphere of the school, along with its rigorous academic standards and expectations enable students to press toward excellence and success in a wholistic way. Children who attend the school learn practical ways to live a consistent, godly lifestyle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

I love that school because of the Christian values it passes along to the children enrolled there, as well as the love that is shown to the children. My niece graduated from there and the school helped to build onto the foundation that was instilled in her by her parents.


Posted November 12, 2010

Why do you love From the Heart Christian School? We teach the truth to the next generation


Posted November 12, 2010

Awesome school - educating for excellence!!


Posted November 11, 2010

I love it. Educated teachers. Christian moral and conduct. It is a great school in Maryland.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2010

My grandsons attend and it's a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2010

They sincerely care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2010

The care and attention the give to the students.


Posted November 11, 2010

It is a great school and it's doing a lot of wonderful work. The children who attend are motivated and want to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2010

They teach students to achieve excellence


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 35%
Hispanic 1% 12%
White 1% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Susie Long
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Fax number
  • (301) 899-1522

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4949 Allentown Rd
Suitland, MD 20746
Phone: (301) 899-2968

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT