Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eldersburg Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2014

We are so disappointed in the new principal. She has no interest in the students or parents. Now I understand why the teachers and parents at her old school where so excited when she left. She is clearly a principal just for the power trip. I am so worried about the future of this school. Thank goodness all of my son's teachers have been excellent so far. The principal needs to know that if something is not broken, than please don't fix it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2012

The curriculum is great, very caring teachers. The teachers never show favorites, and you learn a lot. Physical Education is one of the funnest things you can do and on "Field Day" you can dunk teachers, perform dances, and play lots of fun games. The only bad thing about it is that sometimes the female students can have cliques, and exclude people a lot. If somebody has broken an ankle they will declare that you're "faking" it, and they can make it miserable. I guess it all depends on the student. But other then that the education is acceptable.


Posted November 7, 2010

My child went from private school to Eldersburg. I have been very impressed on all levels. Great leadership and teachers. Strong academics and fun for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

They've done an excellent job with my two children. The teachers really care about the students & are always willing to meet with the parents and answer any questions you have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

Great teachers and parent involvement!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2009

We have had nothing but positive experiences with our daughter in Kindergarten at Eldersburg Elementary. Issues within the classroom with another student were dealt with efficiently and effectively. All the 'specials' teachers & support staff are well-loved by students and active participants in the school community. The principal Mr. Eisenklam and Asst Principal Ms. Laffer are involved with the students and are very visible. Fantastic school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2007

Eldersburg Elem. is a great school. My husband and I love the friendly environment. We have been very impressed with the new Principal Mr. Eisenklam. We had been concerned with him being young but he has proven us wrong. His energy, enthusiasm and friendliness has brought new life into the building. The communication is great. The school frequently uses email updates and the new website is one of the best in the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

I love this school! We moved to this area from Howard County and I was concerned that the quality of schools would not be as good. I needn't have worried because this school is excellent! My daughter's first grade teacher is very energetic and in tune with her students, you can tell she enjoys her job. Communication is very good, the office staff is very helpful and friendly and parents and overall community support of the school is excellent. The school is open floorplan but it is dealt with very well. My daughter looks forward to her 'specials' of art, music, health, P.E., and media. My daughter also enjoys lunch at this school because she loves the big cafeteria and the 'workers are so happy and friendly'. I am looking forward to my younger daughter attending all-day Kindergarten there next year in the brand new kindergarten suite.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2005

Overall we have been very satisfied with Eldersburg Elementary School. I have always been able to communicate with teachers when needed and the Administrative staff is very nice. I do not like the open class rooms, and I do not like that my the graders have to change classes. The parent volunteers are very active and makes the learning environment an extent ion of our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Black 3% 35%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1021 Johnsville Rd
Sykesville, MD 21784
Phone: (410) 751-3520

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





The Legacy School
Sykesville, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT