Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Freedom Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 571 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 8, 2012

We moved from Howard County to Eldersburg recently, and my son has been happy from day one in his new school with new teachers. His achievement is outstanding. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the administration is dedicated toward student success. I'm very impressed with the positive attitude the teachers have toward learning, and their communication with parents is far better than anything I've experienced in HoCo. My only complaint is the GT program- it's virturally non-existent, which is mostly due to county budget cuts. Otherwise, we're extremely pleased with Freedom Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

My son is a third grader and came from carrolltowne elementary, so I really could compare. Freedom does not feel as welcoming to the parents and there is no parent contact from the teachers what so ever! Homework books are not being checked, don't know why they asked to get them signed. My sons particular class has to do all the teachers work including stamping other childrens homework and classwork which I totally disagree with. My child is tressed before he goes to school knowing he has to do these jobs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2007

In the three years we've had children at Freedom, we've NEVER been looked at as 'bothersome' parents. However, the facility's age is a distraction. Let's see if the low math score is an anomoly or a trend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

Lowest Math scores in the county this year. It is not the great school it used to be. Parents are looked at as bothersome rather than a partner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2007

I can only say good things about Freedom. The administration and teachers are all so caring and really seem to enjoy the job that they do. They have always been there for support whenever needed for whatever the issue may be. Parent volunteers are always welcomed with open arms at any of the various activities that are going on in the school. Again, I can not say anything negative about the school. Way to go Freedom I'm proud to say my daughter and son go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2006

We have had a wonderful experience at Freedom Elementary School. The staff and teachers are some of the nicest we've encountered. Due to moves, we've been at several elementary schools. We are hoping that we are here to stay. My children have been very happy here and have learned a lot. The teachers were very appreciative of parent volunteers and I was always welcomed into the classroom with smiling faces.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2006

Freedom is an old school that has been neglected over the years due to poor leadership. The test score are in decline, however because of the population are still high.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 43%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Asian 2% 6%
Black 2% 36%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5626 Sykesville Rd
Sykesville, MD 21784
Phone: (410) 751-3525

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






The Legacy School
Sykesville, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT