Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
3-5
Public district
Takoma Park, MD
Students enrolled: 479
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Piney Branch Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
We are so fortunate to have Piney Branch as our neighborhood school. I would have chosen it from 100 others. One unique thing is that PBES has a swimming pool on site and the students swim as one of their PE units.

Piney Branch Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
Teachers, Staff, Students and Community make this a wonderful place for children to learn. Many parents debate whether to keep their students in this school or to send them on to the highly gifted centers. My vote for my younger son is to have him stay at PB. I want my children to have the love for learning which is encouraged at Piney Branch.


Piney Branch Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
Mrs. Dubois and Mrs. Nelson are outstanding leaders who know all of the students individually. The staff and teachers are outstanding as well. The school has a very private school feel to it in that the teachers all know the students so well and are in tuned with their needs. We are lucky to have such a wonderful school in our neighborhood.

Piney Branch Elementary School 4

Posted April 15, 2013
- a parent
Great school. The teachers do an excellent job of managing such a diverse group of students!!

Piney Branch Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 27, 2009
- a parent
Good school, top notch teachers who care about their work.


Piney Branch Elementary School 5

Posted September 27, 2009
- a parent
Very well done education program for gifted and talented children. Highly recommended.

Piney Branch Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2009
- a teacher
Piney Branch has one of the highest percentage of students taking accelerated (Middle School) math in the elementary grades in Montgomery County Public Schools. At every grade level more than 50% of students are performing at or above grade level in both reading and math.

Piney Branch Elementary School 4

Posted May 06, 2008
- a parent
My son is finishing his second year at PBES. This year he has had top notch teachers. The school encompasses all of the diversity of Takoma Park. It is also one of the most racially and income-wise diverse schools in Mont. Cty. Thereby lie it's strengths and challenges. The staff are dedicated, yet are stretched to meet the needs of a widely diverse student body. With limited staffing they must cover highly skilled students and remedial students with tough home lives. If you want your kid to experience this world we now live in with all it's diversity and challenges, PBES is the place. If you're looking to cloister your kid.,or they need a lot of hand holding, PBES probably won't be a good fit. HTe PTA has a good number of dedicated parents with wonderful programs for the kids. A real plus.


Piney Branch Elementary School 5

Posted April 06, 2008
- a parent
This is a great school that values all of its students. It's a community, not just a school.

Piney Branch Elementary School 4

Posted October 17, 2007
- a parent
My daughter is currently in the fifth grade at Piney Branch and has attended the school since the third grade. I have found the staff to be responsive and helpful. The teachers and staff are always available via email. This year has been a very challenging one as they have eight third grade classes. I would suggest that the parent speak with her son's teacher, if he or she doesn't address the issue then she should contact Mr. G or the counselor regarding any concerns she had regarding their child's performance or the classroom atmosphere. During my daughter's first year at the school I had some concerns about my daughter's teacher. The issues were resolved.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Piney Branch Elementary School
7510 Maple Ave, Takoma Park, MD  20912
(301) 891-8000
Last modified Piney Branch Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 3-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Piney Branch Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top