Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Allenwood Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 17, 2012

I have guardianship of my 2 nieces due to emergency situations that arose in May of 2012. This will be their 1st year in this school. I was given a hard time by Ms. Stumb and the other front office staff when trying to pre-register, which is filling out paperwork with the promise of bringing back specific documents for school. I had to go through the Board of Education School & Boundaries (something like that) just to do this. I attended the school's meet & greet last night. Upon assessing the event and teachers for my 2nd and 3rd graders, I may not like this school because it is small, does not seem to offer much as far as activities (choir, band, sports, drama, etc.) are concerned, and seems unorganized. Also, the students will be switching classes, which is usually reserved for middle and high schoolers. This is their 1st year in this school. I will let you know what I have observed after the 1st grading period is over. Right now, based on my current observation. I will give them a rating of 1.


Posted August 14, 2012

My child has been attending Allenwood for the last three years. I was very much satisfied with her school experience the first year. The second year, it appeared as though homework was being given on subject matter that had not been thoroughly introduced in the classroom and that more emphasis was being placed on test related information. It also appeared as though every other day students were being introduced to new skills before mastery of prerequisite skills. This past school year, I was very much dissatisfied. My dissatisfaction was due in large part to 5th grade teacher absenteeism; increased student behavioral difficulties, increased class sizes and lack of teacher follow through with mastery of skills taught
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2011

EXECELLENT SCHOOL: The teacher are carrying and very supportive. Numerous times I have gone to the school at 6:30 p.m. to take my son to football practice and the teachers are still there. Ms. Stump the principal makes the school a family centered school. She is very involved, caring and nuturing and does everything to support the parents and students. She is outside in all types of weather greeting the students, or directing traffic , she is an advocate for our students. School year 2011-2012 the school was selected by PGCPS to be a test pilot program for a new acedemic learning style where the teachers and students change classes every 45 minutes. There is more focus on reading, writing, math and relationship building has been added to the cirruclm with an in house spsychiatrist
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2011

Being a former student of Allenwood myself and having 6 of my kids attend the school I will say it is a very good school to attend. However the hiring of the Principal Ms. Stump, was the worst thing they could have ever done. She is self centered and cares only about making examples of children for her own self gratification. why not invest in after school tutoring or hire more people that actually care about the kids! they don't need a bitter old hag acting like she making a difference they need Mr. James back!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

this schools not bad but ms.stumb is the worst princal i ever had all she is worryed about is test scores and gives us packets every week ms.barfield is a great teacher also ms.clark and ms.morgan
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2008

My daughter seems to really enjoy the learning program offered by Allenwood. She is excelling very well in the first grade with Ms. Rose, Ms. Giano, Ms. Golden and Ms. Scott.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2007

I had two children to go to Allenwood. Now, my daughter is in the 10th grade, but my son is a 6th graders their, however, every since Mr. James has left the school it has not been the same he was a hard principal,but very caring. Ms. Stumpid only cares about the test and the scores that the school needs to get. Although, despite the principal I keep my son in the school because Allenwood does have some good teachers.....Ms. Barfield, and Ms. Gordon are exceptional and caring teachers. It's not about her test scores it's about making sure every students gets what he or she needs to be promoted to the next grade....Maybe get some tutors after school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2007

I have an upcoming 6th grade son at Allenwood Elementary School. He has been at Allenwood since 3rd grade and I love it. The staff is doing a terrific job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2006

I am a parent with two children at Allenwood and I have been disapointed from the first day my children started there. The PTA and the Principal have very different views on how the school should be run and the teachers don't go out of their way to help children that are struggling. Although test scores have improved the curriculum is too fast past and the TAG program is not very good. There is no art program, science or language being taught at the school. If I had it to do all over again I would not have sent my children to Allenwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2005

I have two children in Allenwood, one in Kindergarten and one in 6th grade. My experiences go back from when my (now 6th grader) came to Allenwood as a 3rd grader from private school. I was very apprehensive initially, but she had a strong foundation and I thought she could handle it. I was right! She has had some exceptional teachers at Allenwood. Teachers who step out of the mold to help children grow and learn. My daughter has done just that and even scored a perfect on her standardized testing thi year! My kindergartener suffered a little this year because of the dramatic change in curriculum for kindergarteners. But, with help from home, he is better for it. He will be heading into 1st grade with a lot more confidence than he came into kindergarten with! Keep up the good work Allenwood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2004

I think Allenwood is a very good school and I love the turn at back-to-school night. This year was the largest crowd I'd seen in the 6 years that my son has attended. My primary issue is that I wish there were separate classes held for kids who are slower in math like there is for reading. My son is suffering in math and I have enrolled him in the Huntington Learning Center to try and help him catch up. This has been a problem for him since kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2003

I really have had a wonderful experience having my two children at Allenwood. Mr. James is an exceptional principal. His leadership is outstanding. The teachers are wonderful also. Another enjoyment I have had is having my children be a part of the after care program. Mrs. Pamela Wright is outstanding as a person and director of the program. She should be recommended for her hard work and dedication to her students. Allenwood staff keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 83% 35%
Hispanic 13% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
Two or more races 1% 4%
White 1% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6300 Harley Ln
Temple Hills, MD 20748
Phone: (301) 702-3931

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Avalon Elementary School
Temple Hills, MD






Jabez Christian Academy
District Heights, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT