Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hillcrest Heights Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 29, 2008

my child loves the school and he looks foward to going every day
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2006

I attended this school as a child and it has gone downhill, the teachers act as if they don't care and no one will call u back. Mrs. Calwell is the best teacher there and Mrs. Ervin who has left was the greatest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2006

My daughter attended HHS from k-5th grade the school teachers are excellent. The principal this year needs to focus more on leadership. My youngest daughter is still attending the school she's entering into 2nd grade this year. Kudos goes out to Mrs Grinage and Mrs Watson for a job well done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2005

This is my child first year at HHS. We have nothing but great respect for the staff and the teachers. Her Fifth Grade teacher is Miss Greaves a first year teacher. She have a wonderful way with all the children that make them want to learn. When you have quality teachers and parent involvement you will see the results of children getting the best education possible. The principal and vice principle seem very approachable. This is the first year that I have seen my child relaxed and enjoying school for a very long time. HHS also offer diffent types of extracurricular activities offer to the students. The open house had a very good turn out but as always it could be better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

My child has attended this school from kindergarten through the end (5th grade). My child's experience at this school has been excellent. However, I wasn't to pleased with the previous principal. She has recently retired and the new one is much better. HHS truly cares about the education of the children. Two of the best teachers in the school are Mrs. Adams, and Mrs. P Williams. If your child has one of them for a teacher rest assured that they will be challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2004

My daughter is in the Pre-K program at Hillcrest Heights with Ms. Lawson as her teacher. I am overall very pleased with the rate at which she is learning and the patience of her teacher and the aide. They are doing a great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2004

My grandson went to Hillcrest for 2 years. It was the most pleasant experience. Mrs. Caldwell and Mr. Brown are the best. The only complaint I have is that they had a principal that didn't have a listening ear. I've heard that they have a new one now, so this school should really shine because everyone is exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2004

A Wonderful school that care about educating children!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
20%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 90% 35%
Hispanic 8% 12%
Two or more races 1% 4%
White 1% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4305 22nd Place
Temple Hills, MD 20748
Phone: (301) 702-3800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Holy Family Catholic School
Hillcrest Heights, MD






Genisus Learning Center
Temple Hills, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT