Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Maya Angelou French Immersion 4

Posted March 01, 2016
- a parent
IB Programming + French Immersion = Students Stretching and Soaring! This year has been really great for the 4th grade. These teachers are proactive resourceful and work closely together to support the students and each other. Great Teamwork! Also this is the year of more psychosocial development and responsibility where students are expected to own their education. Again can't say enough about how 4th grade teachers are pushing the students toward ownership and integrating IB programming very well. With IB programming, there is no departmentalization so the classroom teacher teaches all the subjects except English and Specials. Literature readings for both English and French are being executed. STEM education and field trips are more plentiful. Group projects and team work are also being done. Really awesome year of growth and integrity. Oh another FYI, our students will automatically place in the FI/IB program at Central if they stay until 8th grade. Not sure if I will keep my kids there but I certainly like this as an option for rigorous schooling. FI/IB program is a phenom in spite of the Central High School environment!

Maya Angelou French Immersion
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
I would say thanks to a number of the teachers and administrative staff like the K-4th grade teachers, music teachers, test coordinator, principal, front desk staff, lunch ladies, and security guard.


Maya Angelou French Immersion 4

Posted April 16, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are great. Love the school. All three of my children have attended this program.

Maya Angelou French Immersion 3

Posted January 31, 2015
- a parent
The faculty and PTSA are supportive and strong. The program offers students the opportunity to travel abroad. 5th and 6th graders travel to Canada. And 7th and 8th graders travel to Europe. Academically speaking the school is really strong in math. The Engligh Reading Language Arts (ELA) is not strong at all. In fact students tremendously lack in this area. Grammar and writing are the two biggest areas where kids here are deficient. Unfortunately it's not really until middle school when this really shows up. So the good - math, French. The bad - ELA and the behavior of some of the students at the school. Also the middle school is not strong. But that could be more a county curriculum issue.

Maya Angelou French Immersion 5

Posted January 30, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is in kindergarten, and is doing well. I have no complaints. Her homework is challenging, and she is quite engaged. I thought I would be able to share her experience in learning Francais; however, she has already surpassed me. I'm excited about what's to come.


Maya Angelou French Immersion 5

Posted October 17, 2014
- a parent
Great school. Great School Leadership. Excellent PTSA!!!! My kid is a 2nd grader (3rd year) at JHFI and I couldn't have made a better choice. His level of fluency in French at 7 is remarkable. Every year is better than the last. Keep up the good work JHFI family.

Maya Angelou French Immersion 5

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful School. My child is excelling. The curriculum is challenging and my daughter already has a working knowledge of the French language and she's only in the First grade.

Maya Angelou French Immersion 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
Our school is an academic stronghold. We offer our children an immersion environment with excellent activities to enrich young lives. Our programs include dance, STEM club, robotics, Mandarin, Parent Empowerment and much more! If you are looking for a challenging school with great academics and after School activities, check out John Hansom French Immersion @ Shugart!


Maya Angelou French Immersion 4

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
My school is awesome, active, alive and academically achieving! My 2nd grader is already quite proficient in not only math, science and reading, but becoming quite fluent in the French language. I would say that is a great achievement for a 7 year old! The school is supportive of the academic needs of the children, and strive to provide top-notch education to our children. In a county that has not always been at the top of the leader board in Maryland, this school sets a higher bar, and helps to launch the county and school system in Maryland forward. The school also has a very strong PTA, complete with very passionate and active parents. Collectively, with the school and PTA effort this truly is a family and community spirited school, complete with a common set of core value to promote excellence in our students and school system.

Maya Angelou French Immersion 4

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
John Hanson is an awesome school where students are getting fully immersed in a second language for no extra cost! I have two children currently in attendance due to the much appreciated automatic sibling enrollment policy! If you decide to let your kids attend know that your involvement is paramount to your child's success and no English is taught until the 2nd grade. The only improvements I would like to see is for the program to be expanded with more teachers so that the class sizes can be smaller for the younger grades and extended to the 12th grade onsite.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Maya Angelou French Immersion
2000 Callaway St., Temple Hills, MD  20748
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (301) 702-3950
Last modified Maya Angelou French Immersion is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top