Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pinewood Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

The school has changed greatly over the time my three students have attended. It no longer is a genuine happy place and the tension is almost palatable. In meetings where the principal is present, it is evident that she is the cause of the tension. She exudes happiness at one moment and almost scorn at another. People do not see her vision through her actions and are afraid of her retributions if you get on her wrong side. Many of the teachers hide from her, which is not as difficult as it seems as she often is in her office and rarely seen around the school. I stopped volunteering this year because she would see me in the hall and not even address me, even though I had been active in the PTA up until last year. Very unhappy school on the downward slope. So sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2014

Why are so many awesome, dedicated, quality teachers trying so badly to leave Pinewood Elementary this year? And why aren't they being told where they will be working next year? It's the last day of school and teachers still do not have their assignments for next year. How is the principal going to recruit staff near as talented as all of the great staff transferring out?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2014

The school is wonderful with excellent After School programs like Art Clubs, Spelling Bee, Math24, Black Saga & Early Bird Gym. They however do not have good entry/exit points, if you are dropping kids to school by car. The school district border was recently rezoned, to eliminate areas to minimize overcrowding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

The teachers don't help students as much as at other schools. They need to improve that.


Posted March 9, 2012

The previous review mentions the prinicpal's race as the cause of her poor reviews. That is simply not true. As some first year principals do, she had a terrible first year. She has displayed improvement during her second year, particularly in dealing with interpersonal skills towards both parents and her faculty. Although she has a long way to go, she is learning that leadership does not need to be handled in a heavy-handed manner. Again, her lack of interpersonal skills were one of the main causes for her lack of success, not the perceived rascism of the families she interacts with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

My two kids go to Pinewood and it's a great school. Teachers are excellent and principal is also nice. I do have to say that the school is not as mixed as the previous schools my kids went to before pinewood, so it took a little adjustment. I seriously think a lot of the comments below are because the principal is an African American principal in a primarily Caucasian school. Principals have to follow guidelines and if they do not agree with something then they are the bad ones. I see lots of praises on the AP, but of course she is white. It's sad how race always plays an issue. If the school test goes down then she is not doing her job, but if the testing grades are good then she is doing her job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2011

Not satisfied how this school is applying behavior policy. They are more concerned about kids fingerpointing than they are about education.


Posted November 14, 2011

The new principal is out to prove something to the parents. A few years back I was proud of Pinewood but I really don't like the direction the school has taken. I'm glad this is the last year there for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2011

Teachers are amazing, but the recent turnover at the top has caused a setback. The new principal's attitude has certainly contributed to that; she's rubbed more than a few parents the wrong way. But the new assistant principal, who just started this year, seems promising. Hopefully she'll stay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2011

I have to agree with the other reviewer, the new principal has brought the atmosphere in the school down. She seems very antagonistic towards parents. I rated the teachers three stars because between my two children I have had wonderful teachers and horrible teachers. There isn't a strong consistency and when trying to deal with the administration regarding any issues it can be difficult because of the new principles poor people skills. I wish I could be more enthusiastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2011

I have two children at Pinewood and I cannot say enough wonderful things about this school. Their teaching staff is tremendous; truly committed to developing strong academic and social skills in each student. I volunteer at the school on a regular basis and feel my presence is extremely welcome by both the teachers and administration... I know dozens of other parents who feel the same, I really surprised to hear other reviewers indicate otherwise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2011

Teachers are highly qualified with an unusually high number of teachers who are nationally certified. I was very pleased with my child's preparedness for middle school. Currently have a second child who is happy and successful. They are a Maryland Green School, but since the new principal came on board this year, it seems as if environmental literacy is no longer stressed. The new principal seems simply overmatched. She makes little to no effort to communicate and has been quoted numerous times saying things such as "I would rather not have parents in the building." Her efforts to exclude parents makes for a very unfriendly atmosphere for what was once a good, old fashioned, community-oriented school. As if that wasn't enough of a downer, it is difficult to tell if she has interpersonal skills because she comes off as very unfriendly. The school succeeds in spite of her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2011

The facilities at Pinewood are old and dull. Class size can be high, especially in the non Gifted and Talented classrooms -- in some grades class size can vary from 23-29. "Gifted & Talented" is used too loosely, applying to half the students. The children are challenged by the GT curriculum but often instruction goes too fast for some children who don't master a subject before moving on to the next unit. Since being "promoted" to GT, my child has received C's and an occasional D! But we don't complain because we don't want our child to be switched back to non-GT due to class size. Is it better to get C's in GT or A's in non-GT? Grading is letter-based and seems harsh for elementary school. There is no foreign language instruction. Instrumental instruction begins in 5th grade. The atmosphere seems punitive with a "strike" system. In my opinion, this school is not reaching for excellence. I am amazed more parents don't complain about the conditions of the school to Baltimore County regarding facilities, class size, and the moniker "Gifted & Talented" which should apply to the top tier of students. How demeaning for the rest!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2011

Pinewood is very good school. It has very high qualified teachers and friendly staff. My first grader loves her teachers and the envrionment. We feel very happy that we choose the right school for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

As a parent who now has their 4th and 5th kids enrolled I am quite happy at the communication home and the caring of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 6%
Black 4% 35%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Poetry

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Poetry
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 Rickswood Rd
Timonium, MD 21093
Phone: (410) 887-7663

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Joseph's School
Cockeysville, MD





Lutherville Laboratory
Lutherville, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT